We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn, Great Location”
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
Ranked #29 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming Inn, Great Location”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend at the time. It was actually the weekend that we got engaged, so it was certainly a special weekend and staying at the Newport Blues Inn was just right. The rooms are very clean, well appointed and the bathroom was beautifully redone and cozy, with a pedestal sink and clawfoot antique tub (aside from the walk in shower!).

The breakfast was relatively good, nothing crazy, but just enough to get you going in the morning. The Inn Keeper tended to be quiet, but once we started talking to her she opened up and provided us with all the information we needed to make the best out of our days there. I definitely don't want people to get the wrong impression though, she was super nice and her breakfast was great (just not what me an my fiancé typically eat). The grounds are great as well. As with all Newport hotels/inns, it's on a small property, but they have a beautiful garden in the back and an amazing porch out front that you could sit on for hours, cuddling up with your loved one, taking in the cool ocean breeze.

I'd say the best aspect of the hotel, aside from the extremely comfortable king sized bed, is the location. Everything you want and need is within 2-3 blocks. It really is a great location.

Candidly speaking, I was really hoping to stay at the Black Duck Inn (a sister Inn to the Newport Blues Inn), but given the fact that I had booked two weeks before, our options were fairly limited for the experience I was looking for, and this was a wonderful backup option. I would certainly stay again, and if you aren't looking for an over-the-top [and subsequently very expensive], Newport experience, the Newport Blues Inn is a perfect option.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjgold121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    42
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
95
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
P'burgh, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed four nights in Newport RI at the Newport Blues Inn. It was a decidedly mixed experience. We stayed in what was described as a suite and I suppose it does fit the definition. There was a king size bed and a small sitting room with a love-seat that folds out to a bed. it was billed as sleeping four but that is unlikely. The other odd thing was that there were no additional chairs other than two small stools. In all it was a very difficult place to get comfortable.
There was an ancient window AC unit that was completely ineffective though most nights the breeze was enough, though propping the windows up with an old bottle was a bit of a pain.
Much of the Inn was in need of some paint and paper, with peeling wall paper and chipped paint the norm throughout.
My son came to stay half way through the week and was given a room on the third floor. There room was quite nice and seemed to have been recently updated, something the rest of the place badly needs.
As mentioned the breakfasts were quite good and the cook was willing to accommodate any needs. Two other things to keep in mind. Check in time is three o'clock. We arrived a little after two and were told in no uncertain terms that we had to wait. Parking is a major issue in Newport and parking for the Inn is at the Elks club a few blocks up the street. If mobility is an issue that can get tiresome.
In all we won't be back. For the price you pay for this Inn is simply not up to snuff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor. They seem to have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nearlycanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My hubby & I recently stayed here and are sorry to report that we found this inn to be quite disappointing. The one good thing about this place is that it's walking distance to just about everything. But as far as great b&bs go...this just doesn't come close. For starters, the rooms are pitiful and SMALL (your average hotel room in Manhattan would seem like a mansion compared to the rooms here). The bed & pillows were lumpy & the maid service was poor (sheets seemed to be constantly sandy). The breakfast was ok--nothing great but adequate. The service however was virtually non-existent. The woman at the front desk was quite abrupt and rude...don't even think about asking for advice on parking or local restaurants...these people treat guests like they can't wait for them to leave! It's a shame because this group of inns could be so charming but it's run in such a way that creates the impression that these people don't care about their guests...they just want to make a buck. We look forward to returning to Newport but will find different accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CTtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am surprised you were treated abruptly and not given information. When our guests check-in they are given a key, told where to find breakfast, given a parking pass and told where to park. They are also given a map of Newport, with simple directions to the mansions and water areas and told about all the wonderful restaurants within walking distance of our Inns. Our mattresses are flipped monthly. As for the pillow being lumpy, perhaps it needs to be changed. We are inspecting all of them. Our innkeeper would have been happy to replace yours for you. Thank you for your thoughts and we hope you'll try us again when you travel to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

At a golf tournament, I won a free weekday 2 nite stay in a queen bed room at the Newport Blues Inn. I was able to book a Wednesday and a Thursday night in August with a friend. Upon arrival we were upgraded to two queen beds in the Easton Room. The experience was totally wonderful for us!
Noteworthy comments:
Check in was smooth and our questions were answered.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
Private bathroom was clean and well stocked w/ towels and soaps/shampoo/lotions.
Small refrigerator in the room held everything we brought for our beach day. Complimentary waters were included.
Air conditioner in the room did the job.
Daily cookies were a treat!
Parking was convenient - either on street if you could get it or at a parking lot across the street.
Very close/walking distance to wharf area and shops as well as to those on Bellevue Street.
Breakfasts were delicious - cinnamon french toast one day, scrambled eggs, bacon, homefries the next - always fresh fruit and homemade muffins/breads.

Things they could improve:
too small TV - needs a flat screen in the room.

Thank you to the Newport Blues Inn for donating the gift certificate to the golf tournament in honor of abused women and children.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Chose the Blue Jewel because we had a LivingSocial coupon (2 nights for the price of 1). It is a fantastic location - we parked the car and walked almost everywhere during our weekend there. We stayed in the Sapphire Room. The room was on the smallish side and it appeared that the furniture had been rearranged because there was no way to watch the TV! The bed was SOFT!!!! (and not in a good way!) There was a nice alcove with two chairs and the bathroom was a nice size (with a tiny tub and a great shower!). My husband and I have an architectural business so we notice things that other people might not and we noticed that there were vinyl replacement windows and the vinyl was dirty! The innkeeper was pleasant and gave us good advice on places to eat. We walked about a block to the Black Duck for breakfast - really good on Saturday (cinnamon french toast) - not so good on Sunday (blueberry or chocolate chip pancakes). The B&B was nice enough at the discounted price, but probably wouldn't go back at the regular rate!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Newport. The Sapphire Room is next on the list for a new TV. We pick our beds with medium range firmness since many people prefer either very hard or soft and fluffy. As for the breakfast,we always offer choices - one hot item along with a great variety of muffins, fresh fruits and any sytle egg you could want.
We hope you try us again the next time you visit Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Neck, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here recently with my wife for our first wedding anniversary...We are both not really "into" bed and breakfasts, however since this place got great reviews on tripadvisor, is in a great location and the fact that each room had a private bathroom, we thought we would give it a try.

Pros:
-Ladies at check-in were very friendly and offered up many great restaurant suggestions.
-Breakfast was offered everyday and again, the hostess was very nice and accomodating.
-GREAT location if you want to walk to dinner on the main strip. Tons of restaurants and shops all within walking distance.
-each room has a nice sized refrigerator

Cons: (in level if importance)
-broken toilet - Not only did you have to hold down the handle to flush it completely, but also the toilet SEAT was broken in such a way that you were tilted to your left when you sat on it.(picture below) We only realized this on the second day of our stay. By that time I wasn't going to complain about it, but I started to take stock of what else was wrong with this room.
-no hot water in the sink and terrible water pressure in both the sink and shower. The hot water knob/lever on the left side of the sink is in an akward place (picture below) Also, the sink drained very slowly.
-walls are very thin - you can hear everyone coming and going in the hallways and the adjacent rooms. I assume, they can hear you too...that can make the "sexy time" a litle awkward...
-bed was very hard and squeak
-nightstand on only one side of the bed
-very small TV (can't afford a flatscreen? come on...)
-no secondary lock on the door
-lightswitch had a dimmer that did not work

Nothing too major, but paying $190 per night, it was enough for me to write a review on tripadvisor and whine about it...WAHHHH

next time we are staying at the Marriott

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GB G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We are so glad you stayed with us. As you know, small B&B s are in an ongoing process of upgrading and fixing. We are replacing a few toilet seats each month. So sorry yours had not been updated. We always tell our guests if there are any problems to please call us and we'll be happy to help.
We hope you'll give us another try. We feel we have the greatest location in Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for a quick weekend getaway and all I can say is ...WOW! The room was very clean and quiet. (#1 priority for me) The breakfast was excellent and the Inn keeper was so nice and accommodating. It really added that something special you don't get at a brand name hotel for sure! We had such a great time staying here that we will definitely be coming back with our friends!!! I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a clean and quiet place at a awesome price! Oh and it is located right in the middle of everything too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tminus55552222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#33 of 95 in Newport
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#14 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#35 of 95 in Newport
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Property: Newport Blues Inn
Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing