We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B!”
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
Ranked #27 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming B&B!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this place! Short distance from downtown, wonderful breakfast and the staff was lovely!!! I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back! The bed was so comfortable, and really enjoyed the freshly baked cookies in the lobby. :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Acskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blues966029, Executive Assistant at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Acskin,
Thank you so much for your feedback! We do our best to provide amiable and helpful staff to give the most pleasurable experience possible for all of our guests. We always have fresh goodies in the lobby, along with coffee and tea!

Kayla Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    42
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
95
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had a terrific time in Newport. The Inn was quaint and charming. Jean, the Innkeeper, was a wonderful hostess and we are pleased and happy to have met her. Chef Lindsey cooked us up a delicious breakfast each morning. The always available coffee, tea and cookies were a nice touch. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. Shopping and restaurants were in walking distance. This place is a gem!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Newport Blues Inn this year, last 2 years at their other b&b's. The staff is wonderful. Be sure to take advantage of the wine hour! Breakfast is fresh, served to you in a quaint atmosphere, and varies daily. The rooms are spacious, some more so than others, however, we like the variety and surprise from year to year as these are old homes, kept extremely well in a convenient historic location. The beds have been very comfortable in each room we've stayed in. We don't even mind the stairs, as the entire weekend is spent walking. We have stayed in New Port in the summer and Fall. The rooms are always comfortable with Portable quiet air conditioners in the summer and obviously heat in the cool falls. I have recommended this location to any friends planning a trip to New Port.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 48Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I did not realize it, initially but there are three separate inns, Black Duck, Newport Blues Inn, and the Blue Jewel Guest House. We actually stayed at the Black Duck Inn and I was very pleased with my stay. All three inns are on Pelham street, but Black Duck Inn is closer to Thames Street.

The staff of the three sister inns were very accommodating. We booked last minute for New Years Eve and were actually going to stay in the Blue Jewel Guest House, but were moved to the Black Duck Inn as it was closer to downtown and due to it being very cold, the staff wanted us to have to walk less. In addition breakfast is not served at the Blue Jewel guest house, but is at the other inns, so this way we would just have to stroll down the stairs to breakfast the next morning rather than having to get dressed and walk outside.

The Black Duck is definitely more of a modern inn in comparison to the other two. I loved how the rooms were wine themed- we stayed in Sauvignon Blanc. We had a jacuzzi in our room and the bed was very plush and comfortable. The bathroom was also nicely updated with a rain shower head. The next morning we came down to breakfast and were offered a made-from-scratch quiche in addition to the regular continental breakfast items that were offered. The quiche was delectable, made even more enjoyable by the staff, who had prepared the food and were extremely helpful, and pleasant to chat with.

I look forward to coming back and staying in the Blue Jewel Guest suite where you check in regardless of which inn you stay at. The historic and victorian features gave the exact Newport charm that you get walking along the streets. It was stunning as you walked in, pushing through stained glass doors into an octagonal room with an exquisite fireplace, crown molding and more. You were greeted with homemade cookies and friendly faces. Victorian being more my taste than modern, this option seemed very romantic and I look forward to checking it out. But that is the great thing, regardless of your personal tastes each Inn offers something different, a uniquely custom experience which made me want to return and try the next and maybe redo a couple too! Don't miss it.

Courtney Smith

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I were not at all impressed with this B&B. For starters, when checking in, we had to check in at another B&B several doors down (run by the same proprietors) and then find our room.

Our room was very dark -- so much so, that one couldn't read in bed and there was just one small table lamp. Our small refrigerator was very noisy and the ice box was undefrosted, making it a chore to close the refrigerator. Next, the bathroom -- it had the tinest sink we've ever seen, so water naturally went everywhere when washing up. There was a broken floor tile in the bathroom and inadequate surface space to place personal items. The TV was small with very few channels, and no DVD player. Shortly upon arrival, we meandered down to the basement to look around and discovered a carafe of coffee sitting there from earlier that day. We were wondering why it wasn't thrown out when everything else was cleaned up. The next morning, we were served day old coffee -- nearly cold! The breakfast too was meager to say the least and is served in the basement -- not a quaint experience.

The only charming thing about this so-called B&B was the fact that it is located on Pelham Street, the first street in the country to have gas lighting (1805). Other than that, this is not a place we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PreciousWeasels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Super location, easy walk to downtown Newport. Parking was was on the street or a couple of blocks to a lot( but not a bad walk). Scenic & historic area. Our room was 3 floors up the stairs, but really was no problem other than carrying luggage up & down. Breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Convenient walking distance to the waterfront restaurants and shops. The room was very spacious with lots of sunlight. The breakfast was great and fresh. Would definitely go back! Only negative was street parking, but there was no problem getting a space.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#14 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 95 in Newport
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#30 of 95 in Newport
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belle View Inn
Belle View Inn
#54 of 95 in Newport
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Property: Newport Blues Inn
Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing