We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend at Newport Blues Inn”
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
Ranked #27 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend at Newport Blues Inn”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hubby and I spent the weekend at Newport Blues Inn and had a great experience. The room was like a hotel suite with a separate living room and a door that you could segregate the bedroom. We also had a cute balcony off the street and we could people watch:). The room included breakfast which was an added bonus, considering prices for eating out in Newport is high. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpierre0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blues966029, Executive Assistant at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Some of our rooms do include a living room connected to the bedroom, or a private balcony to people watch. This allows our guests to enjoy the busy streets while still being removed from the crowds! Restaurants in Newport can be expensive, so we do offer a breakfast every morning that includes a continental breakfast as well as a hot meal, such as fresh eggs and bacon or cinnamon swirl French toast. We hope to see you soon!

Kayla Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    42
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
95
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Npt Blues Inn this past weekend and had a fantastic time as always! Very clean, great breakfast included, and very friendly staff. It's has all the nice amenties of a hotel but with all the charm of the cute bed and breakfasts that Newport is known for. We wouldnt stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Third floor of this inn is a private penthouse with three rooms, plus livingroom and kitchen. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blues966029, Executive Assistant at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We do our best to provide the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Our small staff allows us to create a personal and unique experience for all guests. Thank you for coming back to visit us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kayla Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at this lovely inn for a weekend getaway. The owners were friendly and attentive when arranging a stay. We had the suite which is the room with the porch in the front of the inn. Sleep quality was wonderful. Didnt hear any noises. The location is a 5 minute walk to the heart of Newport with all of the restaurants and bars. There was a full breakfast spread each morning. We could have breakfast in bed (but we needed to grab it, which we did) or eat downstairs or on their outside patio. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinenyc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blues966029, Executive Assistant at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your suite, and had a restful sleep! Newport Blues Inn is located close enough to easily walk to town, but also far enough up the street to have a peaceful and relaxing visit. Our breakfast chefs and staff were very appreciative of your positive reviews on our breakfast and overall service, and we all hope that you visit us again on your next trip to Newport!

Kayla Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Mary and Frank
Perfect location to walk for shopping and enjoy the wharf area. Short distance to the Mansions and Cliff Walk and beaches. Rained one day but there was plenty indoor attractions. Near by restaurants offered many wonderful fresh seafood dishes. Jean was a wonderful hostess and cooked us a great breakfast. Fresh blueberry muffins were my favorite. Room was clean and very comfortable after a day of site seeing. Will be back shortly.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor was perfect for us. Quiet, large and more then enough room for our clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blues966029, Executive Assistant at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mary and Frank,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! The mansions are a great activity for a rainy day in Newport, as well as visiting the theater or going to a comedy show! The seafood in Newport is always fresh and delicious, and many restaurants on Thames have an excellent seafood list. Our staff has great recommendations if guests are looking for a bite to eat!

Kayla Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this place! Short distance from downtown, wonderful breakfast and the staff was lovely!!! I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back! The bed was so comfortable, and really enjoyed the freshly baked cookies in the lobby. :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Acskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blues966029, Executive Assistant at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Acskin,
Thank you so much for your feedback! We do our best to provide amiable and helpful staff to give the most pleasurable experience possible for all of our guests. We always have fresh goodies in the lobby, along with coffee and tea!

Kayla Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had a terrific time in Newport. The Inn was quaint and charming. Jean, the Innkeeper, was a wonderful hostess and we are pleased and happy to have met her. Chef Lindsey cooked us up a delicious breakfast each morning. The always available coffee, tea and cookies were a nice touch. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. Shopping and restaurants were in walking distance. This place is a gem!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Newport Blues Inn this year, last 2 years at their other b&b's. The staff is wonderful. Be sure to take advantage of the wine hour! Breakfast is fresh, served to you in a quaint atmosphere, and varies daily. The rooms are spacious, some more so than others, however, we like the variety and surprise from year to year as these are old homes, kept extremely well in a convenient historic location. The beds have been very comfortable in each room we've stayed in. We don't even mind the stairs, as the entire weekend is spent walking. We have stayed in New Port in the summer and Fall. The rooms are always comfortable with Portable quiet air conditioners in the summer and obviously heat in the cool falls. I have recommended this location to any friends planning a trip to New Port.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 48Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#14 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 95 in Newport
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#30 of 95 in Newport
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belle View Inn
Belle View Inn
#54 of 95 in Newport
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Property: Newport Blues Inn
Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing