We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Embarressed to Have Brought Friends There”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
Ranked #28 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Embarressed to Have Brought Friends There”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

For the price we were expecting something similar to another inn on the same street, where we have stayed before. What a disappointment. There is nothing charming about this Inn with peeling paint on the outside, dying flowers in the windowboxes, a 1980's air conditioner that groaned to cool the room at the highest speed. and furnishings from Pier I. The bathroom features a mildew stained shower curtain, shower with one temperature (hot),1960's sink,the bare minimum in towels and plastic tub mats covering the bottom of the tub. Our friends had no water pressure in the shower and other bathroom fixtures did not function well. The breakfast, while good, is served in the basement with no airconditioning and food quality is basic. It is clear that every penny of the $200+ fee goes in the owner's pocket and nothing into the inn, service or experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJTraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    41
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
90
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My friends and I have stayed several times at the Newport Blues Inn. We love it! It's within walking distance of everything in Newport. It has very comfortable beds,a great breakfast (the staff has even been able to find me my diet coke for breakfast). Parking in Newport is always a hassle but they have pemitted parking for the inn very closeby. We will definitely be planning another stay soon. My only problem is I always need more makeup room in the bathroom...my complaint all over the world...

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The Blue Jewel is one of 3 B & B's owned by the Newport Blues Inn. They have 3 suites at this location. The staff at the Blue Jewel Inn was very accomodating. They provided off-street parking. The breakfasts were great. We stayed for New Years weekend. It snowed the whole 4 days that we stayed, very romantic. Everything was within walking distance. Fine restaurants, nightlife, plenty of shopping and historic district. Located on Pelham St. it turned out to be the 1st street in America that was light with gas lamps that are still in use to this day. We are looking forward to staying here with them again in the near future. The suites were quite roomy and vey comfortable. Come and discover your own Newport.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basshoundRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We are an academic group that has to generate publications in order to be successful. not only did the managers of Newport Blues Inn collaborate with us to ensure that all our needs were met, they exceeded our expectations in terms of service and comfort.

This is truly an outstanding place to stay or, in this case, work.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedTox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My wife and I had the most wonderful time at the Inn during our Christmas Vacation. Jeanne the Inn Manager was absolutely charming and the room was outstanding! We just booked for a long weekend this summer/2010!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spike617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Excellent stay in a comfortable, well-appointed, superbly-staffed B&B. Rooms are beautifully decorated, plenty of space, very comfortable, clean and neat. The inn is located in an ideal spot for Newport - can walk/ride to just about anywhere. Front porch is perfect for relaxing, reading a book, having a refreshment. Breakfast in the morning is amazing - Pam is wonderful and her breakfasts were outstanding. "It's all about you" is her favorite phrase, and she and Jeanie, the manager, made sure our stay was the best. We will be returning again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffalo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rutherford, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

What was suppose to be a weekend at Christmas in Newport turned out to be extremely disappointing. When I booked this trip 9 months ago I specifically asked if this Inn decorated for the Christmas season. I was in fact told it did. Upon arriving not only were the dead dried out flowers from Summer still in the pots on the porch there was not one Christmas decoration. Do not go here if you want to be surronded by the beautiful decorations at Christmas....Breakfeast room cold and food was below par. When I complained at arrival I was told that the Inn does not celebrate Christmas and is not part of the "Christmas in Newport" Celebrations....they just capitalize on the Holiday

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank barbs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bouchard Inn
Bouchard Inn
#20 of 95 in Newport
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#32 of 95 in Newport
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 95 in Newport
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#65 of 95 in Newport
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Property: Newport Blues Inn
Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing