We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL GET AWAY!!!”
Review of Historic Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historic Hill Inn
Ranked #37 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My very best friend and I had gone to college in Newport not too long ago- we were looking to stay somewhere quaint and unique. We were looking for a comforting (like home) environment. We also wanted to feel comfortable with the owners of the Inn- In booking our reservations I spoke to one of the owners of the Inn- he was friendly and you could tell how much he loved the Inn - My friend and I were updated on what rooms that were avalibale with excellent guidance on picking one- as some of our other friends were considering joining us and we wanted to make sure if they stayed we would have adequate space ( as we are all girls)- We ended up choosing a room for two- with the option for others to stay with us- It was such a GREAT decision. When we arrived we were welcomed by a great couple! Their entire life has gone into this Inn and you could tell ! They provided us with information on everything going on in Newport- a great breakfast and for all of you dog lovers- a reminder of home welcomed us when we arrived. Not to mention- the Inn is a short walk to Thames Street- for shopping and dining and so much more- Parking is avalibale at the Inn and that is one less thing to worry about when traveling in a place with limited and sticker parking almost everywhere- I would HIGHLY recommend The Historic Hill Inn to anyone who loves to travel / relax and enjoy life moment by moment! :)

Room Tip: No matter what size group you are- there is a room for you! :) ENJOY!!! All rooms have beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

First time staying overnight in Newport and at a B&B, wonderful experience. The owners were so warm and friendly, made us feel like we were at home. The adorable house dog was so well behaved. They had great suggestions and tons of information that was so helpful. It was so nice to be able to walk everywhere since parking and road traffic in Newport is tough. Free onsite parking was a definite bonus. The simple continental breakfast was a perfect start to the day, the homemade banana bread was amazing!!

Room Tip: We booked late and had limited choices, decided on the smallest basic room, which was fine sincewe o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanne731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a great stay and our hosts' hospitality was off the charts. Donna and Rich were extremely nice and welcoming. They supplied us with a beautiful room, a hearty breakfast, and the most essential of all, wifi! We love their friendly dog Brownie, and the location could not have been better to go to all the great places, events, and activities that Rich and Donna so kindly helped us locate and enjoy. They really gave us the best experience possible in Newport.

Room Tip: This is a 5 room B&B. Our room was fantastic & the extra aero bed was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffL274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The owners are very friendly and helpful! I started emailing them 6-8 months earlier trying to find the best room for our group. Once we were thinking there might be 4-6 girlfriends going to Newport they suggested their private apartment and it was perfect.

We had a private entry way for returning quietly at 1 am after dancing (they gave us 2 sets of keys). We had a nice kitchen with a microwave, refridgerator, table and 2 chairs. The owner Richard, brought us a bucket of ice for making drinks too in the afternoon. The apartment has a/c in everyroom so we were very comfortable on our hot weekend. The front bedroom is off the kitchen and is very pretty, with a comfortable bed. The owners came in each day and replaced the towels on an old fashioned towel rack in each bedroom. The back bedroom is off the livingroom, and is also nice. The bedrooms are large with lots of room in them, 2 dressors, chair, and lots of outlets for charging phones and curling irons etc. The hall closet (in the apartment has extra linens and iron/ironing board, boy were we happy to find that!). The living room is spacious. The 6 of us enjoyed visiting in there together. It has a large pull out couch that sleeps 2, a love seat and chair. I think one of the best features is the apartment has 2 BATHROOMS!!!! There is a full bath with a glass square shower, and a half bath. This was awesome for 6 women to get ready to go out to dinner after the beach etc! In front of the apartment is a cute sitting area with bistro chairs that some of us enjoyed sitting in. In the main house there is a nic,e large living room that is pleasent to sit in and pet Brownie the owners 13 yr old, cute beagle. The main dining room has 6 chairs to sit at for breakfast with or without other guests. Some eat breakfast in the living room too. Breakfast was perfect with coffee, tea, Raisin Cinnamon Swirl Bread, english muffins, strawberries, blueberries (fresh picked), bananas, peaches, yogurts, oatmeal, etc. They even were nice enough to go get the peanut butter out of their own pantry for my girlfriend who wanted that for her bread. Breakfast is 8-10 am. Check in is 1 pm. Check out is 11 am. Parking is great, it is a real lot with several spaces vs in the street. I stayed at one B&B once and the parking was horrible. They had you more your car constantly for musical tight spaces, not a relaxing experience to worry about my car. One of the owners, Donna even let us park our car there after check out on Sunday until 230 pm? so we could go do some last minute shopping and lunch after check out without paying for parking in town.

Now one of the best parts is location.....they are on Pelham street off of Thames street, near Trinity Church/ One Pelham East Bar/& Kilwin's (Chocolates & Ice Cream) etc. to give you an idea where they are. Really right in the middle of everything!!!! They are a 4 min? walk to Thames street. We left our car at B&B, and walked DOWN to shop, eat, dance, etc.

We drove our car to beach even though first beach is barely a mile away because frankly, I wasnt going to carry a beach chair and towel that far. But if you wanted to save 20.00 parking you could walk to first beach by walking UP Pelham, taking a right on Bellevue (another nice shopping area) then a left on Memorial Blvd. So of course since the cliff walk starts near 199 Memorial Blvd? you are also barely 1 mile from the start of that too. They do have free street parking on Sheppard and Webster if you prefer to park closer to the cliff walk to start your exploring too.

This really is a wonderful B&B the owners have had it 18 years I believe, and I cant wait to return there. Its disturbing to see some people give good reviews and bad reviews of the same place, so it can be confusing. I think those who like staying at traditional B&B's will love it here. And those who give bad reviews probably are hard to please (esp. if you look at their other reviews on Trip advisor).
The apartment would be great for 4-6 women friends, or 2 couples, or even a large family as it sleeps 6. Lastly, the neighborhood was very pretty and safe for walking at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmomkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I travel to Newport quite frequently,lodging is expensive and service very ordinary.Most establishments employed staff that have little interest in their guests comfort.The reason I think so highly of this Inn is because the owners are the staff, they live there so they are readily available to be of assistance with a cheerful and positive attitude. Not many places help with the baggage these days, but Richard is always offering help in that regard and at my age it is well apreciated.We were recently there with my 5 yr. old grandson they showed wonderful patience and understanding with him.So if you are looking for good value,location and servive this is the place, I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently traveled to Newport and stayed at this very quaint and comfortable B&B. The room was immaculate. The location is great, real close to everything.The innkeepers were wonderful, made many suggestions which we very much appreciated. Thank you Donna and Richard for all your help!

Although Newport can be very expensive to visit and shop, we were pleasantly surprised at the very reasonable price for our accomodations.

We are already looking forward to our next visit, which is already booked for the fall.

- Visitors from neaby MA -

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the Historic Hill Inn while we had some work done to our boat in Newport. Richard and Donna are the two nicest and most helpful innkeepers we've met. The inn was comfortable and clean. The location is perhaps the best in Newport, walking distance to everything! By the time we left we felt like family. We will certainly be back! We experienced no real faults at all in our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#32 of 96 in Newport
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#19 of 96 in Newport
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#66 of 96 in Newport
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Beach Inn
Old Beach Inn
#48 of 96 in Newport
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 96 in Newport
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hill Inn

Address: 105 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3131
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £49 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Historic Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing