We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was central, clean, charming, the food was good, and the service awesome!”
Review of Historic Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Hill Inn
Ranked #35 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
NRW, Germany
1 review
“The place was central, clean, charming, the food was good, and the service awesome!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The place was central, clean, charming, the food was good, and the service awesome!

Nice to know:
There was a private parking place where you can park your car.
There was free wire.

This is a great place to stay. Within 2 minutes walking you are at the sea with all its bars and cafes. We arrived in the evening without booking, but Richardand his wife Donna were very welcoming and let us stay.

The house is very charming and clean. You feel comftable right a head.

Our room and bathroom was very clean and cosy . I never had a place with that many fresh towels.

The breakfast in the morning was very jummy.

Richard is a very nice man and the perfect tourist guide. He takes his time to explain and show you on maps what Newport makes so beautiful. He knows places for every budget and all different interests. He knew restaurants with amazing seafood for very less. ( I never had lobster and Thuna in such a nice place).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    21
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed with Donna and her husband for one night and we LOVED their beautiful INN. Perfect location , very comfortable, romantic and quaint quaint quaint. Also, had great chat with them both when we arrived and when we where leaving and that help make the trip a fantastic few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our stay at Historic Hill Inn was extremely disappointing as it was loud (screaming /yelling), old (needs to be better maintained) dirty ( see below). The city was great, our stay at HHI was awful. From the dirty hair brush provided on the cabinet, bed which creaked, shower that was dirty (old/dirty bath mat) , no proper bathing supplies in the bathroom (only hand soap), a robe that was grey when it should have been white, and innkeepers who woke up all guests in the Inn at 5am with screaming at one another, and slamming of doors only giving an apology after initial denial and personal insults, it is by far our worst experience traveling to date. In fact, this property offered to have us sign an NDA and give us 50% credit- have you ever heard of this before!?!! Beware- property is old, dirty, and rundown. Innkeepers may seem nice at first meeting or phone call, but clearly only care about their best interests and not ensuring customer satisfaction. I wish I would have read all of the reviews prior to booking our stay as our experience is very similar to others who wrote their negative comments on this site.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lboogs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, Owner at Historic Hill Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Trip advisor is a great resource for travellers when used as it is supposed to. Readers are advisied by Trip Advisor to judge reviews of properties in their entirety for an overall assessment. We are very proud of the overwhelmingly favorable reviews we have received in the 18 years that we have been in business. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all of those great patrons of our business who have contributed to our reputation as one of the best & most reasonably priced lodging establishments in downtown Newport. We are very disappointed when we see a review like this one. We wish that there was something more that we could have done to have been able to add this person to our list of satisfied customers. Unfortunetely, this was not the case. We sincerely reget this. One of the problems with the internet is that people can & do say anything, regardless of the truth. This is what really happened. Nothing. The writer claimed there was loud noises,slamming of doors etc. We didn't hear anything, nor did any of the other guests. We were full that Labor Day weekend. There were no complaints from any of the other guests. What occurred was that the writer claimed to have heard noises at night, demanded a refund in full,which was denied as there was no evidence to back it up. Even though we felt we were being scammed for a free night, we were gracious enough to offer the guest 1/2 off the stay.Then came the threats of a bad review, revenge etc, unless she got 100% off. Hence, the bad review, untruths about the accommodations & cleanliness. Think about it. If there was any validity to to her claims, she would have never checked in, nor would any of the other guests. As Innkeepers we are in the business of keeping people happy & we've been mostly successful on that front, that's how our business has thrived all these years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place was clean, comfortable, convenient, and the owners are wonderful. The apartment we stayed in was roomy and it had a nice feel. Great continental breakfast too! Our stay was last minute one night stay and it worked out well. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjfromsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My friend and I decided on a getaway to Newport where we graduated college. This was our first time staying at the Historic Hill Inn and we both cant wait to stay here again. It was cozy, beautiful, and had a great location. We were welcomed with open arms and were so thankful for a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My fiance and I have stayed at the Historic Hill Inn numerous times and have always enjoyed the accommodations that Richard and Donna provide. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and you can't beat the location! Being so close to both the beaches and the downtown area of Newport makes this inn an ideal spot to stay when we visit New England. We'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent 2-day stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. The room was very clean with a large comfortable bed. The Inn was nice and quiet and it was located only 2 blocks from restaurants and shopping. It is situated across the street from a beautiful park. The owners were very helpful to us in recommending restaurants, and advising us about the local art galleries and mansion tours. We felt very welcome here, will definitely come back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#58 of 95 in Newport
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#25 of 95 in Newport
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hill Inn

Property: Historic Hill Inn
Address: 105 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3131
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Historic Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing