We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Charm and Congeniality”
Review of Historic Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historic Hill Inn
Ranked #35 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My love of the sea, history, and fine architecture led me to explore Newport for the first time this summer. Upon arrival at the Historic Inn, my husband and I were greeted with genuine warmth and personal attention by the host and hostess, Rich and Donna. They were solicitous and charming providing us with a wealth of information, maps, and recommendations for restaurants, sight seeing, events, beaches, and parks. We really had a good start for our adventure with their suggestions and encouragement. Also the Historic Inn which they so lovingly renovated, built in the 1830's was elegant, clean, and perfectly located in the heart of the city's historic district. It was a short walk to the bustling piers of the harbor filled with shoppes, restaurants, and all types of seafaring boats from schooners to yachts. The Inn's location was also within walking distance to many historic houses, museums, and mansions near the Cliff Walk which hosts some of the most extraordinary views of the Rhode island Sound. There was no need to worry about finding a place to park on the street since the Historic Inn had provided a parking lot for us. This amenity was very convenient since these narrow yet lovely streets of colonial America did not make provisions for the invention of the automobile. We also enjoyed the breakfast that was included which offered a variety of healthy items for the start of an exciting day! We highly recommend the Historic Hill Inn and look forward to coming back again to see Rich and Donna whom we thank for their interesting conversation and gracious hospitality. Warm regards, Mary D. Guidetti-McColl

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maryturtledove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Historic Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a great portion of our road trip! We arrived from Vermont to stay in RI for 3 days. We could have made this a week! Both Donna and Richard were warm and welcoming. Donna made sure we had the low down of RI, and gave us the best tips on what to do and where eat! We did not drive once while we stayed as the location is in perfect,
My family and I stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with the separate entrance which I highly recommend, I enjoyed the morning banter with the other guests and getting to know both Donna and Richard better. This is a working B&B and is a labor of love.
The value of price matches the value of personality!! Thank you. We look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apt has its own entrance.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Family owned business with a homely feel, lovely hosts and spacious rooms.
The location is fantastic with a short walk to the harbour which has ample shops, bars and restaurants.
Newport is truly a stunning location - visits highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgoldi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Only stayed for one night, so it was fine for sleep. The bed was average. The bathroom is down the hall. Donna was a great host and gave great suggestions on where to go and eat for the best views. Location of the inn was fantastic!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank redxmatchstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

You will not be disapointed staying at this home. Donna and Richard are excellent hosts and their advice on where to eat, what to visit, etc. was impressive. My wife and I had only 24 hours in Newport and was our first time there so we needed direction and we got it. The continental breakfast was fantasic!!!! Lots of fruits and the coffee was great!!! You will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place has it all! It's a very short walk to the heart of town, but quiet at the same time. There's a large backyard, a charming feel, and owners who take the time to welcome you. Another plus is that many Inns in Newport do not have innkeepers present all the time. Not only are the owners available, but there is also a private number they provide just in case you get locked out after 3 a.m. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked this accommodation about two hours before we arrived in Newport. It was well located and the hosts, Donna and Richard were extremely helpful with advice about where to eat and what to see in the short time we were there.
The continental breakfast was excellent. A highlight for us was Brownie, the beagle. He was very well behaved, friendly and bought back memories of our own beagles.
The room was spacious, clean, and the whole place had an interesting old fashioned feel.
Certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#30 of 95 in Newport
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#41 of 95 in Newport
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#40 of 95 in Newport
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hill Inn

Address: 105 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3131
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £90 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Historic Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing