We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Fairy”
Review of Bouchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bouchard Inn
Ranked #20 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
“Breakfast Fairy”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We sure enjoyed our 4 night stay here. Newport is a great town, and Bouchard was a great place to call home. My wife and parents, and I were thrilled with the delivery of breakfast ( hot pastries, yogurt and coffee) each morning by the "breakfast fairy". Never saw them, but sure enjoyed it.

Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    51
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
100
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Reasonably priced and right on Thames Street in Newport. You can also walk to a park that is on the ocean right around the corner. Nice room with lots of windows. Only down side is that right outside one window is O'Brien's bar, which lets out at about 1AM and can get rowdy. If you go ask for a room on the other side of the inn.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking O'Brien's bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkins86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is the 3rd time I've dined at this restaurant & was fortunate enought to dine during Restaurant Week. This is the best restaurant I've ever dined at in my life. Chef Bouchard is a master at creating superb French cuisine--he understands that sauces & herbs should not mask the flavor of the meat, poultry or fish. The portions are perfect. Hot dishes are served hot, cold are cold. The wine list is wonderful & waiters are knowledgeable in pairing wines to the food. Great selection of wine by the glass so you can enjoy a different wine with each course. The souffles here are heavenly--no really-it's as if you are having a bite of a fluffy cloud. Service is refined without being stuffy. This is what dining is all about!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. Everything was clean, neat and comfortable. We travelled with our children ages 10 and 14. They were very accommodating. The smell of French cooking wafting up the stairs was intoxicating! Our room faced an Irish pub which was vacant due to the off season but looks like night life would abound in the summer. Very very please with our stay. Gourmet breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Islander
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had often heard of the excellent French Cuisine at Bouchard Inn, so when my February birthday came along, Ely (my Dear Wife) decided it would be a great time to not only experience the food but to stay at the Inn as well. I can emphatically say we were not disappointed on either count. In fact we were so happily impressed, that we stayed over an additional night.

To a very large extent the people we encountered had a much to do with our happy experience and decision to extend our stay. The first was Phil, the full time Inn Keeper, who was helpful and courteous from the moment we arrived, coming out of the Inn to the street where I was waiting in the car for Ely. He patiently gave me the directions needed to access the Inn's off street parking.

The second was Dan, our waiter for dinner each evening. Dan knows the restaurant menu and Chef Alfred Bouchard's methods of preparation like he wrote a book about it. Not only is he courteous, pleasant and accommodating, but he makes an outstanding Martini and we look forward to the next time we can collaborate with him for dinner.

Lastly, but only due to order of appearance and introduction, is Sarah Bouchard, the Inn owner and a most gracious host. Our connection to her was immediate and she made us feel as though we were longtime friends, going out of her way to talk to us whenever encountered. She is also responsible for the stylish decoration of the dinning rooms and the several rooms of the Inn itself. As soon as we first entered our room, we felt comfortable and at home, and immediately began to consider staying an additional day. The evening meal positively capped that decision. Our Thanks to all at Bouchard's for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinerouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Newport. We were looking for a nice getaway from the hustle of our daily lives. The inn was just beautiful and so well kept. The room was so comfy and breakfast was a nice treat. We stayed in The Rose Room and it was perfect. We met the owners the next morning when we were leaving and they were just as lovely. Thanks you for your hospitality. Ron and Danielle Maver

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcdandy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

First of all--my review is of both the inn & mostly the restaurant because this time I had the pleasure of experiencing both. I've dined last spring at the restaurant & decided to stay here to celebrate the new year & have dinner. The Inn & Restaurant are located on the end of Thames Street opposite from the downtown area. Inn also has a separate building which we stayed in, The Harbour House, Cynthia Room, on 2nd level. Room does not have a view of the ocean but is located on side street away from the pub next to the inn so there is no noise. Bed was perfect with nice linens. Just a little cafe table & 2 chairs to sit. Bathroom has walk in shower, which I prefer. Heating & A/C unit is very loud & annoying. Had to shut off because it was that distracting. Fortunately, room was not cold. Bathroom has a separate heater which is not loud. Room has refrigerator with waters, juices & milk for Keurig machine which provides variety of coffee & tea. Fresh baked pastries & yogurt w/fresh fruit left in a bag on door handle for breakfast. Delicious. However, the best part of staying here is the phenominal restaurant. We dined here last Spring & was so impressed we wanted to celebrate New Year's Eve here which is why we booked a room at the Inn. The New Year's Eve dinner was pre-fixe & was beyond spectacular! Everything about the restaurant is 5 Star: Food is incredible: imaginative, creative, prepared & presented perfectly--plate after plate. Great wine selections paired specifically for each 5 courses served. Chef Bouchard came into the small dining rooms to announce the dinner choices & the wines selected. I didn't think this dinner could top the ala carte dinner we had in the Spring. I was wrong. We were blown away. I actually cried--yes I did--when the course of rack of lamb pounded into 1 chop & encased in a pastry was served. It was perfectly cooked medium rare inside & was such an impressive presentation. The service was impeccable from the waiter, the food runner, bus staff: all smiling & friendly. Eager to please. Nothing left to want. Great keyboardist which we sat next to yet never was too loud that we couldn't hear each other. Each table decorated w/party hats & noisemakers. Glass of champagne to toast the New Year. Chef, his wife Sarah who is the Dining Room Manager, our waiter Max, the service staff: All came by to wish us a Happy New Year. We lingered a while after & never felt rushed to leave. Then all we had to do was walk outside around the corner & up to our room. We were so happy with our dinner, we booked our room & dinner reservation for next year. Saw Chef & Sarah next morning & mentioned how much we loved it. We will be back again the spring to celebrate my guy's birthday.

Room Tip: Cynthia Room is 2nd level in Harbor House, which is a building located behind and/or around the corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.5 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#14 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bouchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouchard Inn

Property: Bouchard Inn
Address: 505 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bouchard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the intimacy of a Boutique Inn with the privacy and services of a hotel, all in the heart of downtown Newport and less than 1 block from the harbor. All of our guest rooms feature private baths and sitting areas for relaxing before or after a long day on your feet exploring Newport. From our front door, just about everything is within walking distance, saving you the trouble of traffic and finding parking. Also, our Restaurant has been featured as the #1 Restaurant in Newport here on Trip Advisor for the past 4 years. It would be our pleasure for you to come to Newport and let us help you share the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bouchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing