We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B in Newport, RI”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
“Fantastic B&B in Newport, RI”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just spent 2 nights in Newport at Victoria Skylar and we loved every minute of it. We stayed in the Hunter Room which had a beautiful 4-poster bed, large wardrobe and many nice touches like fresh roses, chocolates, and antiques related to the hunting theme. The private bath was modern with a marble shower and pedestal sink. Both bedroom and bathroom were very clean as was the rest of the house. The garden in back was absolutely beautiful and showed the amount of hard work Ann and Derek have put into their lovely home.
Victoria Skylar is located in the historic section of the city. It is quiet yet close enough to walk to the center of town.
The highlight of our stay was the delicious breakfast Ann and Derek prepared for us. Served on elegant china in a formal dining room, the presentation was as outstanding as the food.
If we visit Newport in the future, we will happily return to Victoria Skylar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I highly recommend the Victoria Skylar in Newport. The proprietors, Anne and Derek, are very friendly and welcoming. The gourmet breakfast was magnificent - far exceeding expectations and the breakfast at any other B&B we have been to. They are extremely accommodating when it comes to food allergies and you can be 100% confident that the food has been prepared carefully and safely. My girlfriend has celiac disease and she is extremely sensitive, so she cannot be exposed to gluten at all. Anne is extremely knowledgable when it comes to preparing food gluten-free and I don't doubt that she is as meticulous when it comes to other food allergies. My girlfriend was able to enjoy gluten-free scones, pastries, and other delicious items that you could never find at a typical restaurant or cafe. If that wasn't enough, the gluten-free items were absolutely delicious. To top it all off, gluten-free snacks were provided in our room. What hospitality! The Inn itself is immaculately clean and it's in a quiet historic neighborhood. It's a 15-20 minute walk to the heart of town, but we enjoyed walking back and forth every night. It definitely added to the experience. I would most definitely return the next time we are in Newport!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a perfect get-away weekend. Proprietors Anne and Derek provided the perfect backdrop with their immaculately clean, quiet, warm and welcoming Victorian beauty. Guests are treated to a gourmet breakfast each morning which far surpasses any expectation. This B and B is conveniently located near Thames Street yet just far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We would not have changed one aspect of this lovely experience. You won.t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martythomas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a wonderful stay over the 4th of July weekend! Ann and Derek were terrific hosts and made our first experience of Newport truly memorable. Their B&B is conveniently tucked within a beautiful historic neighborhood, which provided the benefit of two wonderfully quiet nights of sleep, while being only a short and scenic walk to the downtown harbor area. Our room (the Slater Room) was nicely appointed and very comfortable and clean. Being gluten-intolerant can be challenging when traveling, however, Ann happily accommodated by fixing an amazing multi-course gluten-free breakfast every morning (homemade scones, cakes, waffles, quiche, and more) and provided a special basket of gluten-free snacks in our room, all of which won the approval of a non-gluten-free boyfriend! They both have a wonderful knowledge of the area and were helpful in giving advice on what to see and do each day. We are already looking forward to planning another trip back to Newport and will definitely plan to stay at the Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bha8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Proprietors Anne and Derek have created a home-away-from-home in beautiful Newport, Rhode Island. Having worked both in real estate and as a gourmet chef, Anne takes great pride in this bed and breakfast affectionately named for her two granddaughters. Our room, with private bath, was exceptionally clean and well-appointed: water bottles, body wash, DVD selection, a "do not disturb" door hanger, chocolates, a mini-fridge just outside the door, etc. We were very comfortable in this space and thankful that Anne remembered to remove the down bedding as my husband is allergic. Both mornings, we were served scrumptious breakfasts including homemade scones and picture-perfect fruit bowls, french toast, and gluten-free waffles (see pics). Later in the day, while contemplating dining options, we sat on the front porch with snacks and wine, compliments of Victoria Skylar. My husband and I gladly paid the bill at checkout -- though only Visa and MasterCard were welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I wanted to spend a relaxing weekend in newport and we are very glad we picked the Victoria Skylar! This was our first B&B experience, and we loved it. Everything was very clean and neat, and we loved the charm of the whole place. Breakfast was beyond gourmet, and fantastic! The location is a bit out of the immediate downtown, but the weather was perfect and a short 5-10 min walk into town. Additionally, I found that the prices for the room rates were highly competitive and event less expensive then most other places in town. I would highly recommend the Victoria Skylar, and would easily stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room works.. there are only 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I booked an anniversary weekend in Newport and had an amazing stay! The area is a little bit of a walk from the noise of downtown but that's how we like it. The house is beautiful and spotless and we loved the touch of old-fashioned keys. My husband is gluten intolerant and Ann not only made the entire breakfast (scones, muffins, and all) gluten-free but she left us a basket of gluten-free snacks in our room. When we go back to Newport, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sep816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.2 mi away
Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
#3 of 9 in Middletown
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Romance LLC
Ocean Romance LLC
#25 of 95 in Newport
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#6 of 95 in Newport
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast
Address: 107 2nd St, Newport, RI 02840-1548
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant & romantic Victorian B&B located in the Historic Point District one block from harbor. Relax in one of the four beautifully decorated bedrooms all with private baths, Queen Beds with luxurious designer linens and Toiletries, fresh cut flowers, Godiva chocolates, Evian and San Pellegrino waters. Central air conditioning for your comfort, cable TV/DVD and free WI FI. Start your morning with a full gourmet breakfast served in a candlelit dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing