We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and this place surpassed all expectations. Close to downtown Newport (10 minute walk), beautiful accommodations, and the friendliest owners! I would recommend this B&B a hundred times over. My wife and I loved the proximity to downtown, but also appreciated the quite neighborhood away from the main strip for that extra romance and quaint Victorian ambiance. We would definitely stay here on any visit to Newport. Thank you Ann & Derek!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early August. We loved the Victoria Skylar!! The Hunter room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the gardens in the backyard were gorgeous. It was a very peaceful and relaxing environment. The best part of our stay was the breakfast! Anne is an AMAZING chef. The pastries were delicious and the french toast was incredible. We were shocked by how much food we were served and left extremely satisfied! ..... and slightly disappointed we were not staying for more nights. I highly recommend the Victoria Skylar!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JLHughes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had such a great weekend in the Skylar room this past weekend. The owners arranged a few extra things to help us celebrate our anniversary, from champagne in the room to excursions. The room was extremely clean and the house has a very pretty garden out back. The breakfast lived up to all the other reviews! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just spent 2 nights in Newport at Victoria Skylar and we loved every minute of it. We stayed in the Hunter Room which had a beautiful 4-poster bed, large wardrobe and many nice touches like fresh roses, chocolates, and antiques related to the hunting theme. The private bath was modern with a marble shower and pedestal sink. Both bedroom and bathroom were very clean as was the rest of the house. The garden in back was absolutely beautiful and showed the amount of hard work Ann and Derek have put into their lovely home.
Victoria Skylar is located in the historic section of the city. It is quiet yet close enough to walk to the center of town.
The highlight of our stay was the delicious breakfast Ann and Derek prepared for us. Served on elegant china in a formal dining room, the presentation was as outstanding as the food.
If we visit Newport in the future, we will happily return to Victoria Skylar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I highly recommend the Victoria Skylar in Newport. The proprietors, Anne and Derek, are very friendly and welcoming. The gourmet breakfast was magnificent - far exceeding expectations and the breakfast at any other B&B we have been to. They are extremely accommodating when it comes to food allergies and you can be 100% confident that the food has been prepared carefully and safely. My girlfriend has celiac disease and she is extremely sensitive, so she cannot be exposed to gluten at all. Anne is extremely knowledgable when it comes to preparing food gluten-free and I don't doubt that she is as meticulous when it comes to other food allergies. My girlfriend was able to enjoy gluten-free scones, pastries, and other delicious items that you could never find at a typical restaurant or cafe. If that wasn't enough, the gluten-free items were absolutely delicious. To top it all off, gluten-free snacks were provided in our room. What hospitality! The Inn itself is immaculately clean and it's in a quiet historic neighborhood. It's a 15-20 minute walk to the heart of town, but we enjoyed walking back and forth every night. It definitely added to the experience. I would most definitely return the next time we are in Newport!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a perfect get-away weekend. Proprietors Anne and Derek provided the perfect backdrop with their immaculately clean, quiet, warm and welcoming Victorian beauty. Guests are treated to a gourmet breakfast each morning which far surpasses any expectation. This B and B is conveniently located near Thames Street yet just far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We would not have changed one aspect of this lovely experience. You won.t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martythomas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a wonderful stay over the 4th of July weekend! Ann and Derek were terrific hosts and made our first experience of Newport truly memorable. Their B&B is conveniently tucked within a beautiful historic neighborhood, which provided the benefit of two wonderfully quiet nights of sleep, while being only a short and scenic walk to the downtown harbor area. Our room (the Slater Room) was nicely appointed and very comfortable and clean. Being gluten-intolerant can be challenging when traveling, however, Ann happily accommodated by fixing an amazing multi-course gluten-free breakfast every morning (homemade scones, cakes, waffles, quiche, and more) and provided a special basket of gluten-free snacks in our room, all of which won the approval of a non-gluten-free boyfriend! They both have a wonderful knowledge of the area and were helpful in giving advice on what to see and do each day. We are already looking forward to planning another trip back to Newport and will definitely plan to stay at the Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bha8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#6 of 95 in Newport
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
#3 of 9 in Middletown
20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Henry Collins Inn
The Henry Collins Inn
#29 of 95 in Newport
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast
Address: 107 2nd St, Newport, RI 02840-1548
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant & romantic Victorian B&B located in the Historic Point District one block from harbor. Relax in one of the four beautifully decorated bedrooms all with private baths, Queen Beds with luxurious designer linens and Toiletries, fresh cut flowers, Godiva chocolates, Evian and San Pellegrino waters. Central air conditioning for your comfort, cable TV/DVD and free WI FI. Start your morning with a full gourmet breakfast served in a candlelit dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing