We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow...! Those breakfast at theVictoria Skylar B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow...! Those breakfast at theVictoria Skylar B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

First time at the Victoria Skylar and we were totally impressed..! It's a bit off the main street but totally worth it, especially if you like to walk amongst historic houses most dating back from the 1700's.

The service is just excellent and the hosts seem to really care about their guests. They make you feel like if you were their first customers.

The big plus is the breakfast part..! Cooked on the spot and very delicious and very well presented.

I definitely suggest that you look fort the Victoria Skylar next time your are in Newport..!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Victoria Skylar was beautiful bed and breakfast. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, and the rooms were cozy and quiet. The beds were extremely comfortable and the food was absolutely delicious. I will definitely stay there again the next time I am in the area and I highly recommend staying at the Victoria Skylar to anyone who is visiting Newport!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTTERDAM
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our first experience at a B&B was spectacular! Besides the history and great restaurants, the accommodations at the Victoria Skylar were beyond our expectations. A quick long weekend took it's time with us. We were so relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful Home of Ann and Derek. We enjoyed their company and looked to them for suggestions of fun things to do in Newport . We loved their recommendations as well as their hospitality. Ann is a fantastic cook, the breakfast severed each day was unusual and delicious. They made every thing perfect. We enjoyed the privacy and luxury provided. We shall return!

Room Tip: Victoria Skyler was an "off the beaten path" but so convenient spot to reach anywhere in N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Without question you won't be disappointed staying here. Owners Anne and Derrick made us feel so at home....the food is wonderful and their home is immaculate. If you're headed to Newport, don't think twice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was the first time staying at a B&B, my husband and I came to celebrate our 1yr wedding anniversary. We had a very memorable experience and plan to return in the near future. The B&B was very inviting, clean, and beautifully decorated. The owners were very helpful, friendly, and wonderful chefs (the breakfasts are to die for!). 10-15 minute enjoyable walk to downtown. I would highly recommend this to friends and family looking for a romantic retreat.

Room Tip: The skylar room was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Northport, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Victoria Skylar Inn! Our hosts Ann and Derek were friendly and accommodating, and our room was beautiful and spotless! You really feel like you are coming to stay with family and there are so many touches which make this Inn extra special. The breakfasts are some of the best we have ever had, and we are foodies so this really means a lot ;) Finally,, the location is great since you can walk to many different sections of Newport to avoid the high parking fees in town. Pick this Inn, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and this place surpassed all expectations. Close to downtown Newport (10 minute walk), beautiful accommodations, and the friendliest owners! I would recommend this B&B a hundred times over. My wife and I loved the proximity to downtown, but also appreciated the quite neighborhood away from the main strip for that extra romance and quaint Victorian ambiance. We would definitely stay here on any visit to Newport. Thank you Ann & Derek!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#20 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#8 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#3 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belle View Inn
Belle View Inn
#40 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast
Address: 107 2nd St, Newport, RI 02840-1548
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant & romantic Victorian B&B located in the Historic Point District one block from harbor. Relax in one of the four beautifully decorated bedrooms all with private baths, Queen Beds with luxurious designer linens and Toiletries, fresh cut flowers, Godiva chocolates, Evian and San Pellegrino waters. Central air conditioning for your comfort, cable TV/DVD and free WI FI. Start your morning with a full gourmet breakfast served in a candlelit dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing