We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Adequate but below other BWs on this trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
loveslakes
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, Adequate but below other BWs on this trip”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel was clean and adequate for our stop in Newport, RI, but had some drawbacks. The only room for a reasonable rate for 4 had two doubles vs two queens for our other BW stops, and there was no free breakfast, only a restaurant on site. Rooms are interior access and ours was a quiet second floor room facing some woods uphill behind the hotel. We chose to eat breakfast in the room and did not try the restaurant. Room did have refrigerator and microwave, and free wifi.

Room Tip: read the ammenities list carefully, because it does not have the 'normal' expectations for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveslakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    196
    169
    88
    89
See reviews for
164
255
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have stayed at many Best Westerns across the country but this one is the poorest experience of all. The addition to the Best Western left it without a way to take an elevator to our room so we had to either go to the back of the hotel and walk up three flights of stairs (with luggage) or travel through it going up and down many stairs. It was not extremely accomodating to the average traveler, let alone someone with children or the elderly. Room was not appealing at all. It looked like it was put together in a haphazard fashion, as if the clothes closet and ironing board were an after thought. Large space near window looked like it was missing something there. A chair maybe? The bed was comfortable but the room had a strange smell to it. The water at the hotel smelled strange and made the entire room smell strange. The hallways also smelled this way and the humidity was higher in the hallways than outside. The shower was very PAINFUL! I felt as if I were being power washed rather than showered. I made my showers as brief as possible because any dirt on me flew off as soon as I stepped under the "showerhead." I am not kidding; it was painful. Families with children and the elderly beware! There are too many hotels and B&B's in Newport to settle for this Best Western. As far as price is concerned, for what we got or didn't get, we paid too much.

Room Tip: Not a hotel we will ever visit again. Sorry but no recommendations on a best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrellis512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My wife and I and three other couples stayed here for a weekend wedding in Newport. Check-in was quick and we all found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. Shuttle took all of us dowtown and picked us up later. Pool was clean and well kept.
No complaints for anyone in our party.Price was right.
It's a Best Western not the Four Seasons.
If you want four stars and are willing to pay $450 a night book a room at the Viking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife and I were there for a function for the weekend, and immediately upon checking in, we started calling all other hotels in the area, and the best rate elsewhere was $500 for one night! Ouch... so we spent ALL of the time other than sleeping out of the room, we got dressed and cleaned up as quick as possible when we were there.

This is a trashy hotel, just horrible, and not near ANY nice parts of Newport...

I had read the reviews before we went, and I was like "oh, it can't be that bad..." it was WORSE! Do not stay here, pony up some extra cash, and stay elsewhere!

The ONE redeeming factor about this hotel is the fact that we got the room rate down to $100 for the two nights we stayed there.

Other than that... the rooms smell of must and rot, the shower didn't drain, the sink didn't drain, the bathroom light took 5 minutes to finally come on, the wall paper was peeling, and the room was insanely outdated.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairfieldCounty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

About what you'd expect from a Best Western at this price range. room was fine. overall hotel was a bit tattered.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_mat964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The rooms are clean and the hotel did not get loud. If you're looking for an affordable option in the Newport area, it makes sense, but don't expect to be wowed by anything at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMNEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

No elevators to get to ur floor. Poor signage to direct you to ur room. You feel like u are walking in a maze to find ur room. Even the Front desk staff were not too sure where our room was located. The room had a God awful smell when we checked in. I certainly wouldn't recommend it to a total stranger. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xwing24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing