We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly Halls” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Cold Spring, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Smelly Halls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This huge, busy motel is showing wear and tear; the hallways smell badly of the perfumed cleaners old motels use on carpets, the beds' bed-pads are too small and rumple up during the night. It is basically clean but tired -- especially for the money (over $200+/night); breakfast is not included. The attached restaurant has poor breakfast bread selections (only toast, plain bagels and cheap English muffins) but decent omelets. We couldn't wait to leave and get outdoors!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaRiveraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    179
    162
    86
    82
See reviews for
157
236
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I was the one having the wedding last Saturday 7/7/12. There was no AC in the ballroom, they told us someone was on their way to fix it and no one ever showed up. The staff was rude to my guests when they complained about the heat. One of my guests was even told the fire dept was on their way to cool everyone off. We had to request a fan because no one on staff was bright enough to think of that on their own. Half of my guests left after 2 hrs because of the heat, including my new mother in-law because she has breathing problems and couldn't breathe. No one wanted to dance because it was too hot, my pictures are ruined because everyone was covered in sweat. At the end of the night the only people who were still there for my last dance was the wedding party because they had to be there. Also because of the heat my $600 cake melted. The staff had put it in the fridge to save it (or so I thought). The next morning I was informed they threw out my entire cake along with the cake toppers I had sent away to have hand made to resemble our family. As if that wasn't enough to go wrong with them, they had to be told when to clear the tables and put food away. We told them we would get the rest of our decorations in the morning and someone was so kind to brake one of my $40 pillars with no explanation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ryalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We couldn't find a parking place when we checked in on Saturday night. My understanding was there were two weddings or events going on. Frustrated that we had to drive through and around the parking lot twice before we finally parked in the grass.

Our room was ok and clean enough. The king bed was very comfortable. No breakfast with your room, but you can get breakfast from the motel's restaurant. Have breakfast at the Diner in the circle just south of the restaurant (go through two stoplights to the circle).

Our room wasn't cleaned by the time we returned at 3:30 from the Tall Ships Festival. I called the front desk for new towels and housekeeping brought them within about 10 minutes so we could take a nap after being in the sun all day. The shower is slippery and the shower curtain didn't prevent water on the bathroom floor.

The windows were really dirty and had condensation from the air conditioning stains. I am a window person so this was disappointing. As long as you kept the heavy drapes closed....

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and could hear every step taken in the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayrshirefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Best Western is a great location because it is so close to Newport. They have a shuttle that is great to use to get to Downtown. I can't really complain about the rooms, but I did experience something very weird with their House Keeping.

One morning we were still in the room when house keeping came to clean. We told them to come back later, and they responded with "it's either now or never." We told them that we didn't need our room cleaned then today and just give us clean towels. We received the towels and they went on their way. We left the room around lunch time and came back an hour later to see a note on our bed saying "House Keepin sorry no clean laundry not good, not bed, not batrom tomorow yes clean" (yes, this is exactly how the note was written). Our room was still not touched or cleaned, and for some reason house keeping had entered our room to leave this note. We were very confused as to why they returned to our room and did nothing but leave that note. I felt very eery about the situation, and still have no idea why this uneducated house keeper wrote that note. I Went to the front desk to figure it out, but the General Manager, Loren Traeger, had already left for the day. Lets just say I won't be staying at a Best Western any time soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The room was basic but clean and Best Western was not expensive compared to other Newport hotels. Although I am not difficult to please and maybe I had a bad experience but I still not 100% satisfied. My room card never worked and had to go back to the front desk SEVERAL times. Most of the staff was nice but there would a few that were unfriendly. DO NOT USE THE SHUTTLE SERVICE. I was left in downtown Newport by one of the drivers and he was very disrespectful. Location good for less tourist locations and gambling but if you want to be downtown it is not walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojo12601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The place is on the older side and it's definitely no-frills but it was clean and well-kept and its proximity to Newport attractions is a big plus. The beds are comfortable and since my friends and I only used the hotel room to sleep at night, the decor was not an issue. The breakfasts at the adjoining restaurant are DELICIOUS. The staff was polite and helpful in guiding us around town. This place is an option for the budget-conscious to stay inside Newport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaauoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Given Newport's past reputation as a playground for the wealthy, it was nice to find something within our price range. Compared to the pricier accommodations in Newport, it stands out for its affordability. It's a healthy drive from the center of the action, but there's an $8 shuttle to downtown or a less expensive local RIPTA bus that stops alongside the hotel. There's a casino across the street (actually, more like a warehouse full of electronic slot machines) and a convenient shopping mall on the other side of the freeway.

The hotel appears to be divided into three sections - a two-story motor lodge in front, a four-story hotel in the center (where the restaurant and conference rooms are located), and a newer three-story extension near the pool. The rooms in the tower seemed newer than the rooms in the motel section, with flat screen televisions and microwaves and fridges, but I didn't get a chance to see the rooms in the other section. If you don't like your room assignment, ask for a different part of the hotel. The hallways did smell a bit dank and musty, but that comes with living near the water (and probably without the benefit of a dehumidifier).

There was free wireless in our rooms, although the signal seemed to be stronger in some parts of the hotel. There was a complimentary computer workstation in the lobby for those who didn't bring their laptops, but it seemed to be in high demand in the mornings and after dinner. Staff at the front desk and restaurant were friendly and helpful - probably the highlight of our stay.

All in all, it was good stay, and we felt like we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Note that the hotel is divided into three distinct sections, with noticable differences between the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing