We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean and affortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
2 reviews
“Friendly, clean and affortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Wonderful staff, clean rooms and great restaurant. Family stayed for a youth sailing event 6 miles away. The location is great and the hotel and restaurant staff went above and beyond. The great experence started from the first phone call. The staff was very accomodating to our families needs and when we met them in person, the experience was the same. Great food at their restaurand and reasonable prices. Menu includes lobster, salmon, salads, burgers, etc.
Will return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    179
    163
    86
    82
See reviews for
157
237
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains,NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel space in Newport in the summer can be a challenge. The Best Western is all of 2.6 miles from the Breaker's Mansion, and has plenty of free parking. The rooms are comfortable and clean. If you don't want the hassle of parking in the downtown area the hotel runs a shuttle for $8 a person. The Best Western is not exciting, is not a boutique hotel. It offers comfortable accommodations and a "close by" location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel face west and offer visions of the sunset over the Jamestown bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LADWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Booked this room to be close to friends who were also traveling to Newport for a wedding. I was disappointed that the quoted room block rates advertised at the time of booking (months in advance) were more expensive than the rates found on third party booking websites. I ended up paying over $200 per night for a standard king room through the third party site and found out that the room rates were dropped upon check-in for people who booked through the room block. I recommend speaking to someone about room block rate policies before booking.

The front desk attendants were very busy but managed expectations well. When I arrived early they told me to check back at a specified time and it would be likely that they would have a room available. They were also polite and helpful when I called about using a corkscrew and again when I asked to borrow scissors and tape so I could wrap a gift.

This hotel was located very conveniently right off the highway and about a 5-10 minute drive to downtown Newport or beaches. It was also located right next to a shopping plaza with a grocery store. Our room had a mini-fridge so it was nice to be able to bring some snacks back to the room. There was no traffic congestion in the particular area so it made it very easy to come and go.

The room in general was pretty good- Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. The "high" setting of the AC was not very strong at all for a very hot, humid day.

Overall I was glad I booked here because the service was great and everything was convenient and close by but I doubt its the best value for the money you pay for lodging in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happysquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We booked this hotel for a very busy event weekend in Newport, RI (it was one of our only choices). Overall, the staff was very friendly and it was very convenient with the hotel shuttle. The downside: there was mold on the ceiling in our bathroom and the morning of check-out there were black bugs (not roaches, maybe waterbugs?) crawling around our room. Needless to say, we wouldn't book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLatzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

westerly
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed 2x nights on July 27&28, 2012. I spent $450 for 2 nights. NOT worth it!!! The first night was ok. The 2nd night they rented the entire 1st floor to college age kids. I was also on the 1st floor. They ran up and down the hall all night,talked loudly and went skinny dipping at 3 am. I called the front desk. Someone came down 15 minutes later and told them to quiet down. Finally, at 5 am they stopped the noise. By then I had to get up and leave for home. Also when I ate breakfast in the restaurant, the waitress was taking my half-eatten plate of food away as I sat there chewing my food. I yelled wait! This stuff cost $$$ give it back to me!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I am usually very open minded when it comes to hotels. I figure if I am on vacation, I just want a place to sleep, because my day and night will consist of going out to explore the sights. I saw the reviews on this hotel, packed some air freshener, and booked it, because we got a $104 dollar/night rate. Let me share my honest opinion.

THE GOOD:
~We arrived at noon when check in is at 3pm. They were able to give us a room when we got there, so that was very helpful.
~There is a pool at the hotel
~The lobby is very nice
~The hotel is 5 minutes from downtown Newport, and a 10 minute ride to the beaches
~The bed was comfortable

"THINGS" (NOT GOOD OR BAD..JUST RANDOM THINGS):
~The front desk attendants. They did their jobs, but didn't go out of their way to be friendly to their guests.
~Parking was free (big deal, right?! haha)

THE BAD AND THE UGLY:
~Our room wasn't accessible by an elevator. (WHAT!!?!) The main part of the building (with the elevator) and the wing (where we were) weren't connected on all floors. That meant we parked on the side of the building by the pool, and lugged our bags up 2 flights of stairs.

~The room smelled AWFUL. It reminded me of the smelly house my great aunt lived in when she was 90. It was the most wretched smell ever. Moldy, mildew-y, damp, and like little old lady. Gross. Thank the Lord that I brought that air freshener after reading other reviews on here!!!

~The room was DAMP. We had towels hanging for almost 24 hours, and they were still wet!!

~The first full day morning, we went out and came back around 2. The room still hadn't been cleaned. We went to the pool, and when we came back around 5, it had finally been done. The SECOND day, we were again, out all morning, and came back to a messy room. We hung out in the room for an hour and a half, and left around 4pm. When we returned at night, yup- you guessed it- hadn't been cleaned. This was UNACCEPTABLE!!!!

~The hallways smelled moldy. Thank God we were on a higher floor. When we roamed around the hotel, and found the dungeon (the first floor), the smell of mold choked you. There were several doors open to utility rooms, and the mixture of the fumes (which were very strong), mold, and mildew were enough to turn the strongest of stomachs.

~The fitness center in the dungeon consisted of 2 treadmills and one small "home gym" weight lifting contraption.

~The back door by the pool seemed to ALWAYS be open. We would return at 1 or 2 am, and wouldn't have to swipe our card. We just walked in. The next day, in the mid afternoon, we found the door was locked and we had to swipe. Later that night, it was wide open again. AWFUL security!!!

~Speaking of the cards.... ours hardly worked for the room. We had 2 cards, and we always took both with us. We had to swipe both cards into our room door at least 7 times before it would work. (another thing I had read on here, that I found to be true)

~The shuttle wasn't really a shuttle. They would "give you a number, and you could call and arrange pickups". I'm pretty sure that's called a taxi.

~There was no artwork in the room. The walls were bare. Not a big deal, but I don't know what pictures are posted here! Our room had NOTHING on the walls.

It would have honestly been worth it to spend the extra money, and get a decent hotel somewhere else. I am usually very forgiving when it comes to hotels, but this one was the absolute worst. I wouldn't stay here ever again, or recommend it to ANYBODY.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, choose another hotel!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AFanInCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The room started out okay. The twists and turns to get to this afterthought of a room were less than desirable. It was a large room but old, cracks in the ceiling, cobwebs, mold around the bathroom door, the bathroom vent taped up to stay in the ceiling (it also did not work). Bad enough, but the real problem is the way the staff dealt with an emergency. There was flash flooding on our second night. Our room started flooding and the first responder to my call was very helpful to me and my sick child. He helped me get what I could off the floor and onto the beds and told me that the lobby was flooded also and he had us stay on the floor of the landing of the stairway to the second floor. This is where my daughter and I waited for three hours until my husband came back from the wedding we were all supposed to attend and helped us out of there. We were told there were no rooms to move us to, no other vacancies in any other hotels in the area and we were on our own. The fire department never came (if they were even called). The workers allowed guests to walk through water over ankle deep while they were using wet vacuums with patched cords. The management of this hotel is unable to deal with emergency situations and when you are traveling you never know what type of emergency will arise. I would never advise anyone I know or care about to stay at this place. Also, Best Western Corporate advised us that the closest BW hotel they could send us to was in Uncasville, CT. We decided to go there and arrived at 2 a.m. The ordeal started at 7pm. Now they are telling us the best they can do for us is to send us is reimburse us $90 after we had to pay for two nights in two hotels costing us over $400.00.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing