We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was awesome but the food and the restaurant iwas awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
FALL RIVER
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room was awesome but the food and the restaurant iwas awful”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and i decided to spend the weekend of dec 1 st to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary at the Mainstay in Newport RI .....Its was Thanksgiving evening so we decided to try the restaurant since not much else was open . This turned out to be a huge mistake as the restaurant itself was very very cold and the food was even colder .....their was only one waiter and it took forever to get a coffee . The menu was very small i had the roast pork loin which was awful it was reheated , the mashed potatoes were cold and very hard and the green beans were hard as nails ...My wife had the seafood platter and that was even worse than mine ...so needless to say we didn't eat in the rea=restaurant any more and we stayed there 3 nights ......so do yourself a favor DON'T EAT HERE

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank KENNETH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    196
    169
    88
    89
See reviews for
164
255
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Excellent hotel for leisure stay. Little hard to get to the entrance, you have to drive down and turn around and come back, but other than that it is a great place to stay for the price. The bed was great. We've stayed before when visiting Newport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

OK, I understand that a Best Western is not the Ritz, and in a city like Newport where a decent hotel (Hyatt, Hilton, etc) runs around $400 a night, a $200/night hotel is probably less than glamorous. HOWEVER, I did NOT expect to be disgusted by my accommodations here, and I really was. The review titled "Your wife will not be happy" couldn't have put it better...I was NOT happy. There was a stale, musty smell in all the rooms (we were with a large party and all of them stank), brown stains on the ceilings, stained bathtubs, and although I'm sure the sheets were washed they just didn't FEEL clean. Beds were uncomfortable too. And for the record, I am NOT a picky hotel goer... I have stayed in many a Best Western, Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn and am generally satisfied (if not totally pleased). This was hands down the WORST place I have EVER stayed. EVER.

The only thing I will say (and the only reason they get 2 stars instead of 1) is that some of the rooms my friends stayed in were SIGNIFICANTLY cleaner than ours, looked newer and nicer and must have been reno'd in the past few years anyway. These rooms were the same cost as ours however, so it's really a gamble if you stay here.

If you are looking for a place to pass out with the guys after a night of heavy drinking, I suppose this would be the best deal in town. Otherwise, I'd stay away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Brookhaven, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with 5 friends for a girls weekend. We booked 3 rooms originally but when we got there we asked if they had a room big enough for 4 to stay in. They were very accommodating and showed us the suite that had 2 double beds, a couch, fridge, microwave and another room with a king size bed. It was perfect for us and gave us a place to hangout. The staff was very friendly. We stayed Thursday-Sunday. The location was easy to get to. It was about 5 minutes from the main part of town. We ate breakfast at the restaurant. Prices were average and the food was good.
My only complaint was that the lobby had a horrible smell. I would still go back to this hotel. I got a lot for what I paid.

My

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susieque052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Please take this advice very seriously- this hotel is the worst I have stayed at. For $140 a night, I could have found a clean place to stay. The ceilings have dark brown waterstains on them. This hotel had a Musty smell throughout the building, filthy carpets and gave me a general uncomfortable feeling. When I ran the water from the sink- the water turned brown. I felt as though it was very unsanitary.
They could have at least offered juice and coffee for their breakfast- nothing was included with the stay. Needless to say, I was not impressed and will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xwaytooloudx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is just outside of the downdown area of Newport, next to the exit off the Newport Bridge. It is clean and well mantained. Our room was at the back facing a road but we did not hear any of the traffic noises in the room. The only problem we had was with controlling the heat. Put it on and it got too warm in the room. We had to have the heat off all night, lucky it didn't get too cold outside. The staff was pleasant and helpful, we will definitly be visiting again.

Room Tip: You might want to stay on the second floor. The windows on the first floor are rather close to the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We found this hotel through Trip Advisor, having despaired of finding somewhere at a reasonable price close to Newport. We therefore wondered what it would be like for the price. This was our penultimate hotel of a 3 week tour of New England and the 12th motel we’d stayed in. It was also by far the cheapest. Our room was a standard double, with balcony, overlooking the car park. There was a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. The room was a good size and we appreciated the table and two chairs which we used for breakfast. The noise insulation on the patio doors was excellent, and once closed we heard no noise from the car park or busy roads nearby. We sat out on our balcony later in the evening, enjoying the view of the floodlit bridge, if not the road noise.

The lady at reception was friendly, very helpful, and knowledgeable about Newport, giving us directions to the supermarket, what to do in Newport, and recommending somewhere to eat in town. We chose the Brick Alley Pub and Restaurant and can recommend it. Food and service were excellent.

As others have said, this motel is on the outskirts of town and amongst a maze of busy roads, and so you can’t walk anywhere from it. The rooms are not the most modern, but the beds were very comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. It is a budget motel, so don’t expect luxury, but it is clean and comfortable, and for us surprisingly quiet for such a large motel. We thought it was good value in an area renowned for expensive accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing