We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bartender”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Bartender shut lights off when she still had cuatomers. Told everyone on lounge that it was time to close even though she still had customers.Was told at checkin lounge would stay open until all customers ledt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a very good hotel. The room are very clean and spacious. The decor appealing. The only thing that keeps me from giving the hotel an excellent or exceptional rating is that I could smell cigarette smoke on the elevator and hallway. I did not smell the smoke that much in my room but it was pronounced in the hallway and elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stay at this hotel a few times a year. The location is great. Close to the center of town without the high hotel price. The price is always great and the rooms are spacious and clean. We frequently go to the restaurant and lounge for a night cap. It is always nice to see Craig the bartender he is always friendly and makes a nice drink. Gene the shuttle bus driver is also very helpful and nice. He knows alot about Newport and truly enjoys his job.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JULIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and i decided to spend the weekend of dec 1 st to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary at the Mainstay in Newport RI .....Its was Thanksgiving evening so we decided to try the restaurant since not much else was open . This turned out to be a huge mistake as the restaurant itself was very very cold and the food was even colder .....their was only one waiter and it took forever to get a coffee . The menu was very small i had the roast pork loin which was awful it was reheated , the mashed potatoes were cold and very hard and the green beans were hard as nails ...My wife had the seafood platter and that was even worse than mine ...so needless to say we didn't eat in the rea=restaurant any more and we stayed there 3 nights ......so do yourself a favor DON'T EAT HERE

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank KENNETH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Excellent hotel for leisure stay. Little hard to get to the entrance, you have to drive down and turn around and come back, but other than that it is a great place to stay for the price. The bed was great. We've stayed before when visiting Newport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

OK, I understand that a Best Western is not the Ritz, and in a city like Newport where a decent hotel (Hyatt, Hilton, etc) runs around $400 a night, a $200/night hotel is probably less than glamorous. HOWEVER, I did NOT expect to be disgusted by my accommodations here, and I really was. The review titled "Your wife will not be happy" couldn't have put it better...I was NOT happy. There was a stale, musty smell in all the rooms (we were with a large party and all of them stank), brown stains on the ceilings, stained bathtubs, and although I'm sure the sheets were washed they just didn't FEEL clean. Beds were uncomfortable too. And for the record, I am NOT a picky hotel goer... I have stayed in many a Best Western, Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn and am generally satisfied (if not totally pleased). This was hands down the WORST place I have EVER stayed. EVER.

The only thing I will say (and the only reason they get 2 stars instead of 1) is that some of the rooms my friends stayed in were SIGNIFICANTLY cleaner than ours, looked newer and nicer and must have been reno'd in the past few years anyway. These rooms were the same cost as ours however, so it's really a gamble if you stay here.

If you are looking for a place to pass out with the guys after a night of heavy drinking, I suppose this would be the best deal in town. Otherwise, I'd stay away.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with 5 friends for a girls weekend. We booked 3 rooms originally but when we got there we asked if they had a room big enough for 4 to stay in. They were very accommodating and showed us the suite that had 2 double beds, a couch, fridge, microwave and another room with a king size bed. It was perfect for us and gave us a place to hangout. The staff was very friendly. We stayed Thursday-Sunday. The location was easy to get to. It was about 5 minutes from the main part of town. We ate breakfast at the restaurant. Prices were average and the food was good.
My only complaint was that the lobby had a horrible smell. I would still go back to this hotel. I got a lot for what I paid.

My

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Susieque052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#5 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £42 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, Newport's historic waterfront, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary WiFi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 until 9:00 Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing