We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep and eat great, all for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
West Roxbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Sleep and eat great, all for a great price!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is the hotel I stay in every time I go to Newport. The beds are wicked comfy, the location is fantastic, and the hotel restaurant is a hidden gem and also my new favorite go-to restaurant. Some of the rooms have a view of the Pell Bridge, and the rooms facing the back are pretty private because there's only woods out back.

Word of advice - even if you're a smoker, don't get a smoking room. The smoking rooms are in the basement which is often under construction, the furniture, sheets, and pretty much everything in the room is of lesser quality because they need to be replaced more often due to smoke. It's just not worth it to have a worse quality room for the same price just because you smoke. It'd be easier to go outside or stick your head out the window.

I would strongly recommend the Steak House that's just off the lobby. I initially went in with low expectations because I was hungry and after staying there for a week, I ended up having at least one meal a day there. The food is FANTASTIC and very very reasonably priced. They have steak nights Mon and Tue which features 10-12 oz steaks for 10.95. Seriously amazing steaks. The filet mignon is the best I've had in a long time. Ribeye is flavorful. Prime rib is juicy. Seriously, you can't go wrong. Everything on the menu is great.

Room Tip: DONT GET A SMOKING ROOM!! much worse quality of furniture and bedding compared to the non smoking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    198
    170
    89
    89
See reviews for
167
255
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Some of the decor is a little dated but the value you receive makes up for it. Our room is always clean. The staff is always friendly and professional. The food in the restaurant is good and affordable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We like to stay at this hotel when we stay in Newport. It is convenient and a good value for the price. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. Our room is always clean and comfortable. The staff always tries to give us our preferred room (s).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very clean updated rooms with friendly staff. One of the cheapest places to stay in Newport but I would compare it to the best ones there. If going to the Newport Casino, this is the best place to stay as it is right across the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We always stay here and are members of this hotel chain and have never had any issues - we have used them in New York & Ft. Lauderdale also-altough RI is the one we visit most to to how close it is to home and we only need drive we like the summer and winter seasons there for quiet and quick little get aways ….

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PCollins71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugus Ma, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Quality service with professional staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The service at check in and out by the staff was professional and pleasant. The food in the restaurant is prepared with care. The presentation is very good and the waitstaff are some of the best that we have encountered. The food and choices are extremely good. Whenever we are in Newport RI, we stay at the Mainstay best western.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I get that Newport is expensive and all that, but US$ 200 and change for an old looking room that´s barely clean can´t be considered good value. Plus, the location isn´t all that wonderful. The only place you can walk to is a cassino and the beaches and restaurants are some 15/20 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirador_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,017 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, Newport's historic waterfront, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary WiFi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 until 9:00 Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing