We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. Patrick's Day Parade in Newport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“St. Patrick's Day Parade in Newport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel was a good deal for the price. Staff very effecient. Resteraunt was very ggod and food was great. Rooms were spacious and clean. Very close to all the activities in downtown Newport. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chiefc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    179
    163
    86
    82
See reviews for
157
237
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stay here often and never have an issue. Room was great and the front desk staff was great as usual. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. Had dinner in the restaurant. The food was good for the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We always stay at the Best Western Mainstay when we gamble at the Newport Grand Casino. It is convenient, clean and reasonable. The onsite restaurant is superb with many dishes to choose from. All the meals are reasonable and the portions are good size for the average eater. We are always treated very well at check in and check out. Never a problem. The internet service is faster than other hotels we have stayed at.. Ample parking on premises

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank xzoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, CT, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have been to The Mainstay Inn during Winter Fest about eight times in the past fifteen years or so. The proximity to downtown Newport and, of course the Newport Grand Casino and all the other attractions this quiet time of year for Newport is outstanding. Especially since the staff at Mainstay seems to be the same since our first visit. Another tribute to the quality of service that they provide. I think we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yarmouth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

we always stay with Best Western and have a great experience. This last time we were a little let down as we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite with a hot tub HOWEVER the desk forget to tell us that it did not work. So as myself and husband prepared for a relaxing time in it we were only let down to find out AFTER calling front desk for instructions to get the tub going that it did not work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We always stay at Best Western when we go to Newport RI Staff is always pleasent and It the value is great. We usually eat at the restaurant. My boyfriend always gets the prime rib. I will next time. I got the chicken and steak. was not pleased. Grilled chicken was dry and overcooked with no flavor. and steak needed some flavor. baked potato and veggies were fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Roxbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is the hotel I stay in every time I go to Newport. The beds are wicked comfy, the location is fantastic, and the hotel restaurant is a hidden gem and also my new favorite go-to restaurant. Some of the rooms have a view of the Pell Bridge, and the rooms facing the back are pretty private because there's only woods out back.

Word of advice - even if you're a smoker, don't get a smoking room. The smoking rooms are in the basement which is often under construction, the furniture, sheets, and pretty much everything in the room is of lesser quality because they need to be replaced more often due to smoke. It's just not worth it to have a worse quality room for the same price just because you smoke. It'd be easier to go outside or stick your head out the window.

I would strongly recommend the Steak House that's just off the lobby. I initially went in with low expectations because I was hungry and after staying there for a week, I ended up having at least one meal a day there. The food is FANTASTIC and very very reasonably priced. They have steak nights Mon and Tue which features 10-12 oz steaks for 10.95. Seriously amazing steaks. The filet mignon is the best I've had in a long time. Ribeye is flavorful. Prime rib is juicy. Seriously, you can't go wrong. Everything on the menu is great.

Room Tip: DONT GET A SMOKING ROOM!! much worse quality of furniture and bedding compared to the non smoking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing