We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport, RI Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is a gem for an overnight or weekend. It is located just outside downtown Newport and is across the street from a casino. The hotel has a restaurant that is very good and the staff are friendly and accommodating. It has been remodeled recently so decor is nice. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a lot to do in Newport and while location is not in "downtown" area, I'll take the much more reasonable price for convenience. We look forward to getting away Newport every year and this hotel will always be our only choice for stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Appears to be a group hotel - there is no sound proofing whatsoever to drown until all the revelers returning home from 1am to past 3am. Was kept awake until after 3 and had to be up early the next morning. Was not asked at checkout how my stay was - maybe they don't expect repeat customers. Would not recommend if you want to get any reasonable amount of sleep. If you are a person who will be out late partying, the bed was comfortable and the rooms were clean. The hotel itself had a mildew smell which carried into the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Mainstay provides a couple of working people a great place to GETAWAY //We use the restaurant//its a great base for visiting the area.The value of Bestwestern Mainstay enables two people a much needed break from our daily routine,if only in the off season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank R8842IIjamess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great service, great price always clean and very comforting. I have been staying at Best Western with my family since 2011 and I am continuing to book trips and stay at Best Western for consistancy in cleanliness and professionalism. Rates are amazing and locations everywhere!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days/3 nights. The rooms and hallways were clean, there were no strange smells & the desk staff was very helpful. They even got me tea bags when I told them that there were none in my room. The linen & towels were freshened every day.

We stayed in a suite with a king bed. I found that the bed was more comfortable than the couch in the sitting room. I had to use one of the extra pillows in the closet to compensate for the hard couch back. The wind was whistling through the window all night long every night we were there, which bothered my wife. The floors seem to transmit noise very easily. I could hear the people above us tromping around, going back and forth, especially in the morning - although it didn't bother my wife. I also noticed that I could hear my own feet making the floor creak in some spots along the hallway from the elevator to our door. I found the pillows a bit hard for my taste.

The hotel advertises that it is walking distance from the sights in Newport. In my experience it's not that close unless you are young or in shape for walking. You are better off driving or biking. My advice: bring your own pillow if you prefer a soft pillow & choose an bit fancier hotel and one closer to the action in town if you can afford it.

Room Tip: No noises of people above on top floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is an ok place to stay if you are not planning to spend time in the hotel and all of downtown Newport is booked. There is a shuttle service, which is good. The rooms are just ok and smelled like smoke.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Not a family hotel but great place to be very near to downtown Newport for a few days. Right across the street from a small casino and near a few good restaurants. The hotel is very clean and there is a good restaurant/bar within.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mattlynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,034 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.4 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £51 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, Newport's historic waterfront, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary WiFi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 until 9:00 Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing