We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Worst Western”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Okay, so I know the Best Western isn't the Hilton or the Hyatt, but you can usually count on a basic, clean room. Not the case at the Mainstay Best Western in Newport, RI. The lobby was nice enough, and the people at reception were nice enough, but once we walked through the double doors that lead to the hallway to the guest rooms, it was another story. Immediately we were struck with an overwhelming odor of strong cleaning supplies (burns-your-lungs strong). When we got to our room, it only got worse. The antiseptic/cleaner smell was stronger, but there was also an underlying smell of mildew/mold. We tried leaving the fan on and A/C running, and we even bought a scented candle, but nothing helped. We tried opening the window (no screens) to air it out, which is when we noticed the massive mold stains all over the curtains. (see photo) The shower was good, and that the tub drained well, but we were afraid to step on the bathroom floor because of the mass quantities of mildew on the tile. (see photo) Needless to say, the upgrade to a B&B was well worth the extra $$.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittersmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    196
    169
    88
    89
See reviews for
164
255
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Mini-vacation to enjoy Newport summer activities. Originally set to stay at higher-priced downtown Newport hotel, but found the Mainstay for less. Why not use the savings for spending money! You can pay more for the extras elsewhere, but our stay here was good for the buck. Would return if another visit to Newport.
-Great location: close to downtown; good eats & stores available in nearby area.
-Rooms: functional; clean bathroom/tub/towels (my top criteria!!); supplies readily replenished; great water pressure in shower!!; nice having a safe.
-Service: friendly, efficient check-in/out.
-Pool: smallish. We didn't use but would be good for families with kids.
One down side - We were on the NO-Smoking floor but this was ignored. From my room, I could smell someone smoking in another room. Perhaps the no-smoking rule can be enforced more rigorously by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobbie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2009

I was hesitant to book with this hotel but it was in Newport and near the Touro Synagogue which was a site we wanted to visit. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. The room was very nice and very comfortable. The price was very reasonable as well. I have to say that the only concern is that if i did not have a GPS I would not have found the property so late in the evening. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2TravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

If you're looking for a no frills place that’s comfortable and clean and a lot cheaper than the hotels in downtown Newport, this is the place. It’s at a great location just outside of the middle of Newport with easy access to everything by car. The rooms are clean and the in-room refrigerator is an added bonus. My only complaint is that the beds are a bit too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Had to stay here w/ the boss for work. This is a discount hotel so amenities are NOT to be expected. But it was dirty, old, smelly, run-down, not easily accessible and the rooms were utilitarian. The bathroom was ghetto, period. The bed was OK, but the comforter, blankets, pillows were low-rent as well.

It has to be re-stated that this hotel is not competing w/ the high-priced Newport chains, but it was just NOT a good hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

chester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

excellent stay for a friends wedding.

room was comfortable and clean with huge beds!!! staff were all friendly and made stay easy.

would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccahallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster,New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I stayed at this motel in July of 2007 and July of 2008. On our second trip to Newport there was no question whether or not we were going to stay at this motel. We requested the same room that we had stayed in the previous year and the staff made sure that we got it. The room was very clean and spacious. The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful. Several times we ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and the food was very good! When we return to Newport again we will be staying at this motel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harbor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing