We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked 10 rooms and stayed here for our son's wedding several years ago. Our experience was more than satisfactory. We stayed again this June, although somewhat apprehensive due to prior reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. Requested a refrigerator for wife's medication upon check in and it was delivered and set up before our luggage was unloaded - no charge. Due to family emergency our stay was cut short. Amanda at front desk was extremely helpful in getting us credit for unused portion of trip. Not a 5 star hotel and not trying to be. If value, convenience and service are your judgment criteria - give it a try.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank justgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    180
    163
    86
    82
See reviews for
157
237
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Our room was on the bottom floor of the original building. It smelled musty and the smell permeated our clothes, so we had it as we attended our events. The bed and pillows were musty, so if you shower before retiring, you will still have that oder on you the next day. We could only be in the room with the windows opened. The housekeeper did a great job. The ceilings are not insulated and the noise from the unit above came right down all through the night. A fire alarm went off and was on for half an hour

Our friends had a room on the upper floor in the newer building. Nice furnishings and view.
They had partiers outside all night.

High speed internet: don't count on it.

If you are looking for both a clean room and quiet environment, this may not be for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julsbythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed there for one night only (thank God!), we were in town for an event at one of the mansions in Newport. This was one of the most horrible hotels i've ever stayed at. To begin with, we reserved a room with a king bed via Orbitz. Got there and checked in at 7pm, got to the room (a good 5 min walk from the reception) to find ourselves in a room with 2 twin beds: called them up and complained, only to have the very rude receptionist tell us they ran out of king beds..!!! and therefore have no choice but to stay in the twins. They didn't even bother to apologize about the inconvenience or offer anything to make-up for it. The hotel is super old and dingy with worn out carpets and smelly dark hallways.
The next day, we checked out and found out they charge a "safe fee" by default unless you ask them to remove the fee...!!! So we returned to ask them to remove the fee (at this point, they only added insult to injury), and after they "fixed" the bill, the total was higher than before!!! Because the receptionist realized she forgot to add on other random charges the first time...!!?? YUK, not only i won't stay there when i return next year (and have told my friends not to stay either), but I will avoid Best Western everywhere i go in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantera010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

On 03/13/10, Newport had it's annual St. Patrick's day Parade. That night, late into the wee hours, young adults were loitering the hallways, mainly the pool door exit, drinking and puking. As we entered the hotel to go to our rooms at about 10:30 pm, we observed a group of drunk men (young adult men) whom were trying to get their friend, whom was passed out, back to their room. They loaded their friend onto a luggage caddy and wheeled him down the long hallway. When my husband made a comment as to the safety of using a caddy to transport their friend, one of the youngsters threatend to "kick the [--] out of you", meaning my husband, for "Making fun of my friend". My husband and I are both senior citizens and were afraid for our lives. After the incident, we were continually harrassed with continual knocking on our room door by these kids. One was extremely drunk with only boxer shorts on and told my husband to step out of the room so "I can kick your old [--]", of course we locked ourselves in and did not comply. Five minutes later, another youth knocked on our door and said he wanted to "Party" claiming he heard laughter in our room. A few minutes later a young man who claimed he was hotel security came to our room explaining he was checking on the problem (Although we had not, up to that time reported anything to the front desk). This young man was dressed in regular baggy street clothes and the only thing differentiating him from the young hooligans was a walking- talkie clipped to his trousers. He informed us that the hotel was aware of the situation and it was reported, but stepping out later for some coffee at the bar, the same youth who originally threatened my husband shouted "There he is, I'm gonna kick his [--] for making fun of my friend". This was our second stay at The Mainstay Best Western, but rest assured, I will not stay there again on St. Patrick's Day weekend, and we have already advised relatives whom have stayed there in the past to stay clear of The Mainstay on St. Patricks Day Weekend. Also, one more pet peeve, whats with charging guests $3.50 for a sewing kit? All other hotels have them as complementary. I would recomment this hotel to family and friends, but I would tell them to stay clear on St. Patrick's Day weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWINZEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

First of all, when we arrived for out one night stay on 2/14/10 for small Valentine's getaway, there was already confusion as to where we were to park to get to our room. Finally when we got to the room, (after asking 3 different people), we realized the main light when you walk into the room was not working, another light in the bathroom wasn't working, then we put the heat on & left to go to Newport Grand for a couple of hours, upon returning, the room was like a igloo!! We proceeded to call the front desk & was told to unplug the heater for a couple of minutes, then plug back in...needless to say, that didn't work!! My husband had to hit it a couple of times on the side, finally the heat started to come out. Then when we tried to turn on the TV, w/ the remote and manually, that wasn't working!! Once again we called the front desk, they sent some man, (not even sure exactly what his job was) He tried the TV and couldn't get it to wotk...by the way, forgot to mention that when we called about the heater, we were told that if it didn't work, they could move us, after we had already unpacked everything..would have just been an inconvienence!! Okay, back to the TV problem, He went and got another TV from an empty room and returned w/ a lady from the laundry room to help him, that was odd!! Finally they both realized it was an electrical problem, So we had to choose between the TV or the lamp, couldn't have both!! Now onto the dining (in the hotel), they told us they had "specials" from 5-9 pm, We both ordered the Stuffed Shrimp, which came w/ fries & veggies...I guess if you are a 10 year old, you might be satisfied with what came on the plate!! 3...yes i said 3 shrimp, about a dozen skinny fries & some slices of carrots and zucchini, I had to go to the vending machine to get a couple of bags of chips, because i was still hungry!! Will not be returning to this hotel at all!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyqueenie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal QC Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

This reasonably priced hotel is near (by car) the center of Newport. There is an outside swimming pool but it is not heated.
There was a bad smell of dampness and mold in the bedroom.
The wi-fi connection was so weak in our bedroom that I had to bring my laptop in the lobby to get a better connection.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Bottomline: the service at this hotel is extremely slow and inefficient. The rooms are not stocked with well-working amenities. It seems their customer service practice is to question the requests of the guests instead of to meet them. Now to the details....
After a long day of traveling from one coast to another, we looked forward to finally resting at our hotel and letting our 2 year old nap. No, sir. The pack and play we had called ahead to reserve was not in our room. When we called to request it, a downward spiral of service inefficiencies and frustration began. About 10 minutes later, the pack and play arrived,but without bedding. Another call to the front desk. 10 mintues later bedding arrives. Then, we discover that the pack and play is broken. We request another one. 15 minutes later...a second pack and play is delivered that hasa screw pop out before even unfolding it. Unbelieveable! Did we mention that it is only the second floor of a five floor hotel? After yet another phone call to the front desk to request a third pack and play, a hotel employee comes to the door, enters the room attempting to repair the broken pack and plays even though we insist they are broken and unsafe. The employee leaves and returns at least ten minutes later with a third (stained) working pack and play. What should have been a very simple and easy problem was drawn out to at least an hour of frustration. Day 2. Time to iron. What do we discover, but a broken iron. A call to the front desk is made requesting a new iron. Someone comes and takes it away. Do they brings us a new one? No. Ten minutes later our original iron is returned with an employee insisting that it works, trying to enter our room to show us while our child is napping. Now, the manager is called. Finally, a new iron arrives thirty minutes after the original request. Isn't the customer always right? Don't try to troubleshoot broken equipment while the customer sits around waiting! Courtesy and efficiency please!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northwesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing