We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I was just reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor.com and was SHOCKED to see a negative review of Murray House B&B. My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's all over New England, and Murray House is certainly one of our favorites! We went up this past August for a friend's wedding, and had a wonderful time. Our room was beautiful, immaculately clean, plenty of clean towels were left each day, and a DELICIOUS breakfast delivered to our room each morning, beutifully presented. We brought our little dachshund along and he is a little fearful and quite spoiled. We left our cell phone numbers with Noreen (the owner) any time we left just in case he barked or cried or disturbed anyone. Instead of calling us, she opened the curtains to her apartment so Max could see her and came in and talked to him, gave belly rubs, etc. Needless to say, Max was just fine with Noreen! She just went above and beyond anything we could have hoped for.
We have recommended Murray House to many of our friends...those who have dogs and even those who do not, because it is just a charming place to stay.
Maybe the person who wrote the negative review got up on the wrong side of the bed that day! LOL!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Mrray House B&B!
Patricia Hund
New York City

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    11
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Negatives: Upon first entering this property, we were slightly confused. Our door was left open, unlocked, for really anyone to go inside. We got in and the carpet was noticeably damp everywhere and there was a strong musty odor. Food was okay, but later found out "fake ingredients" were used, like splenda and egg beaters. I prefer natural foods, not over processed packaged food, especially when I'm promised a gourmet breakfast.

Positives: Owner of the property was friendly. We were allowed to bring our dog. Decent location, close to downtown and quiet.

  • Liked — This is one of the few places in Newport that allows dogs.
  • Disliked — It smelled bad and was damp.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank snosurfin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Having just stayed here, I can tell you that I was disappointed. Our room was DIRTY; it had not been vacuumed or dusted. The windows needed to be cleaned, there was a musty odor, the dishes that were set on the table had a layer of dust on them and there was pet hair on the comforter and most notably, the pillowcases! When our room was made up the second day, none of these things had been done again AND the dirty towels that I had left on the floor were hung up again!!! Yikes.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — it was dirty
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberlyep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 September 2005

My wife and I stayed at MURRAY HOUSE B&B sept. 5-7. We have stayed in quite a few b&b's, but none as nice as this! Everything about it was so special - a cozy, clean room, our own private patio, a beautiful pool(which we always had all to ourselves!) and last, but certainly not least, the best breakfasts we've ever had at a b&b - by far! We also loved the grounds and the friendly cats. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 August 2005

My girlfriend and I recently took a trip to Newport, RI and stayed at the very lovely Murray House B&B. I must say that the whole trip was fantastic, and we were very happy with our choice of lodging. Our well-appointed room was very cute and comfortable, and the breakfast, brought right to our room, was excellent...each day a new treat greeted us: stuffed french toast, amazing quiche and "window pane eggs" were complimented by fresh fruit salads and other delectable delights. I was very impressed with the beautiful gardens surrounding the house, and our host, Noreen, was lovely to talk to, and yet respectful of our privacy.

All in all, our stay at the Murray House was a very enjoyable experience. Thanks Noreen!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 August 2005

The following is an excerpt from an email we had sent to the B&B owner after our trip. This B&B is away from the downtown/harbor area, and IS indeed only a 5-7 min walk to a lovely private beach....

"...what a wonderful (but too short) trip we had earlier this week, MUCH
of it due to your wonderful B&B and hospitality...
truly the best B&B experience we have had...loved
the room and having a kitchenette and the private
patio... our quick swim in the pool the 1st evening was a great
relaxer, an added plus. How many B&Bs offer such privacy and a POOL?!
Newport is certainly a place to return for a
getaway. I'm sure you'll be hearing from us again!"

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 August 2005

We recently had the pleasure of returning to The Murray House Bed & Breakfast for the second year in a row. In fact, we enjoyed it so very much the first year that we decided to bring along some of our closest and dearest friends for the treat. Of course since PETS ARE ALLOWED, we brought our little Shih Tzu "Tobi" along for the vacation as well. She was quite happy to return as the owner of this B & B, Noreen, spoiled her quite a bit while we were busy being vacationers off premises.

I cannot say enough about our gracious hostess, Noreen. She is quite the wonderful cook, preparing a surprise breakfast each morning and bringing it to our room. Her recipes are her own unique compilations, and will definitely leave you more than satisfied and ready to take on the day. She is very sweet, and quite obliging. She is also very knowledgeable when it comes to things to do on in Newport, and her restaurant recommendations were right on the money.

With regard to the accommodations, we had an opportunity to stay the first year in the Pond View Room. This is a suite more so than a room. The bedroom is quite beautifully decorated in floral patterns, and Pier One style furniture. There is a refrigerator, microwave, seperate bath with stall shower, and a television and VCR. There is also an additional sink in this room. The living space is wonderful! There is another larger television in this room, a bar with two stools (which is where we ate breakfast each morning) and a wicker chaise lounge and matcing love seat. A small wood burining stove adorns one wall, and as if this were not enough there is a private balcony. A private entrance (double sliding doors) is provided as well. These accomodations rest high atop of Murray House, and therefore the balcony makes for a wonderful spot to gaze upon the beautiful Newport sunsets or to just take in the scenic water view.

This year we stayed in what is known as the "Poolside Room" which is located at poolside. (Go figure!) Oh, did I forget to mention the in-ground swimming pool? This room also has it's own entrance and patio, which proved to be quite roomy for nightly gatherings with our friends. We were able to set up a very nice cocktail hour here where we had a fantastic time talking, listening to music and just enjoying each other's company.

The room itself comes equipped with a mini kitchen that contains a sink, microwave, refrigerator, stove top and plenty of cabinet space. There is a kitchen table which is situated more in the bedroom area, however it does not subtract from the space at all. In fact, it adds to it. There is a lovely canopy bed which is draped with white netting and roses placed across the front-side of the canopy. The bed linens are beautiful. The bathroom is a treat as well. There is a wonderful jacuzzi tub in this room, which of course goes right along with the whole idea of vacation and relaxation.

Each day we would recieve fresh towels and wonderful new place settings for the table. There was a new design to look forward to with matching flatware each and every morning. The rooms are extremely clean, and it is obvious that Noreen takes great care and pride in the accomodations for her guests.

The grounds............Ah yes, the grounds! They are impeccably maintained. Flowers galore, a live coy pond with a running water fountain, and as if that is not enough, a small hot tub, cushy lounge chairs and an additional seating area with tables for just "hanging out".

If you want to get away from the crazy business of everyday living, and you are looking for a great place to go and just unwind...if you are tired of the generic, cold, impersonal feeling that you can sometimes get from even your better hotel chains, and you like the idea of a Bed & Breakfast, then you must go to the upscale Murray House B & B. You are in for a treat in more ways than one!

Respectfully and happily sunbmitted,

J & L
New Jersey

P.S. Don't forget to sign the guest books which are placed in each room. You will enjoy reading the submissions by others who have stayed there before you.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hawthorne House of Newport
Hawthorne House of Newport
#53 of 95 in Newport
12 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
1.0 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#16 of 95 in Newport
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bouchard Inn
Bouchard Inn
#20 of 95 in Newport
155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
1.4 mi away
Admiral Weaver Inn
Admiral Weaver Inn
#80 of 95 in Newport
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Murray Pl, overlooking Almy Pond, Newport, RI 02840-4223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reasonably priced in a fabulous Location. Short walk to the beach and the Newport Mansions. Gourmet breakfasts served to your room. Private outside entrances and private patio areas to each room. In-ground swimming pool and hot tub. Cable TV, WI-FI, A/C,& ceiling fans in room. One room with a water view and screened summer room. All this and at a reasonable price. Seasonal rates 99 to 299. Did I say private? Nice! Think about waking up in a sweet place! Murray House B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing