We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B in Newport R.I.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marshall Slocum Inn
Ranked #7 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We arrived on a Sunday night for a one night stay, a gift from our children. We were immediately greeted by a cheerful hostess who gave us a quick rundown of the property and rules and then saw us upstairs to the Rose room. Check in was quick and simple. The room is on the third floor of the inn and is difficult to get to if stairs are a problem for you. Inside the room, it was very quaint and decorated in a style reminiscent of the period in which the home was built, the mid 1700's. There is a gas fireplace in the room and seeing as it was November in New England, made the room very cozy and warm. King size bed was very comfortable and was dressed in non-commercial bed linens, which also added to the hominess of the room. The inn is located a short distance from all of the great attractions and restaurants in Newport, but far enough away to be quiet. Breakfast in bed was a nice touch and was well appreciated by two people who don't get that often!

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty with stairs, this is not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptr069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoy offering a breakfast in bed feature for our guests as it adds to the experience and breakfast is not missed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this great B an B. We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our cozy and beautiful room overlooking the back garden. After getting settled in we headed out to explore Newport. What a charming town, full of nautical themed stores, restaurants,, and activities. We experienced the most gorgeous sunset down at the wharf. Which is just a nice walk from Marshall Slocum Guest House. We made our way down Thames Street to a great little Italian restaurant called Mama Luisa. The food and drink were fantastic.
Coming back to our B and B was like coming home. So comfortable, clean and inviting.
Breakfast was exceptional with a choice of many things made to order and it was all delicious!
There are many choices for B and B's in Rhode Island, we are so glad we picked The Marshall Slocum Guest House!

Room Tip: There are I believe 8 or 9 rooms, all of them a little different. The only room I would question is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy Newport and experience all the things that make it a great place to live.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Excellent - no question! if you are in the area stay here if you can.

The town is lovely, a well known tourist attraction, and this B&B is well placed to allow you to explore the historic centre.

The owner is very welcoming, typically reserved New England, but with plenty of advice on the area, if you wish it.

An excellent breakfast around the table with other guests was friendly and informative - a lovely way to start the day.

Bedroom was beautifully done, with a soft double bed so high they provide steps to get into it!

Not to be missed.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 which was a corner room with lots of light, the bathroom and shower were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and have always strived to improve and adjust to our guest's needs. In recent years we have become very familiar with guests needs and enjoy accommodating all needs such as gluten allergies, vegetarian options, and kosher breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent 2 nights in this wonderful guest house. Everything about this Inn was excellent - staff, rooms & breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone as a most comfortable and friendly place to stay. I notice that it is fully booked most of the time - I am not surprised - I doubt that we could have found a better place to stay! This Inn sets the very high standard for this type of accommodation in the USA


Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Marshall Slocum Guest House is very clean, comfortable .... and so quiet that we slept in until 9:30 the first morning (first time we've slept past 8:00 in decades) and nearly missed breakfast. It is conveniently located (a pleasant walk to restaurants and shops) offers free parking and ... delicious apple pancakes! A very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My family, with twin toddler daughters, was looking for a place to stay in the Newport RI area for a wedding in June. The number of B&B's that will actually take children under the age of 5 is fairly limited, but Marshall Slocum is one of them. Their Great Little Apartment is in a side building across a yard from the main house, and is a lovely space that we have to ourselves (because it is separate, it's fine for toddlers to be there). Decor is spare old school New England Yankee style, the place is clean and bright, and the kitchen has a nice refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, and a set of utensils. Sleeping options include a big comfortable king sized bed, a smaller full size bed in a window nook, and a comfy sofa in the next room. WiFi on premises works well, water pressure was excellent, and between the apartment and the main inn is a grassy space with a few backyard playground type elements that my girls actually loved to play in. Breakfast was lovely and served up on the gorgeous patio (though hypothetically it can be hauled back to the apartment if the family isn't feeling sociable). It's on a nice quiet side street not far off of the main drag.

In short, it's everything you'd want for a B&B experience with a family, and we'll be back if we're heading back to Newport!

Room Tip: As noted above, the only option for a family with young children is the Great Little Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrJimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we loved having your here! The Apartment is a great option for families with smaller children. It offers privacy and plenty of space for the whole family to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Marshall Slocum Inn in Newport RI for three nights and then moved on to another Inn on Cape Cod for two nights. We really didn't want to leave the Marshall Slocum, so much so that we checked the website to see if a room was available for those extra nights but they were fully booked:(

Small wonder because the Inn is beautiful and comfortable, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Brass Room and had two little wooden steps to climb into bed! Excellent linens and everything was spotlessly clean. The room had both an AC unit and a ceiling fan and a large shower. The Inn is perfectly positioned to experience all that Newport and Rhode Island has to offer. The Inn keeper and chef Mark Spring produced consistently wonderful breakfasts and the convivial atmosphere created by all the guests sitting around the large table in the breakfast room was delightful (you can also sit on the veranda if you would like, weather permitting). We were able to purchase tickets to visit the Mansion houses from Mark and he gave us further advice on where to eat and what to see (We can thoroughly recommend The Tavern on Broadway, good food and you're looked after well by the friendly staff). We are thinking about a trip to New York and will certainly go to Rhode Island again and will definitely be staying at the Marshall Slocom.....if they'll have us! A huge 'Thank you' to all the staff for a memorable stay in Newport:)))

Room Tip: From what we saw all of the rooms were of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,067 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Slocum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Address: 29 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £105 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing