We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marshall Slocum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marshall Slocum Inn
Ranked #9 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Hadley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Awesome breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our second trip to This B&B but not the last. Its a really well kept, high quality place to stay and the breakfast alone is worth the trip. But on top of that, both of the rooms we've stayed in were beautiful and comfortable. We always recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: "Captains quarters" is probably the best as it has a jacuzzi tub. The Cottage is a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
It was great seeing you again and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our rooms are decorated with period antiques and nautical artwork that reflect the Colonial heritage of the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    82
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
36
293
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Charming and well functioning room. Fabulous and personalized breakfast in a Victorian setting. The hosts were friendly and professional. The quiet location is excellent for sights, walking, restaurants and the harbour. We will be back! We will recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. All the rooms are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Our Inn is located in a quiet area within walking distance of all the major Newport attractions, such as Cliffwalk, the Mansions and the downtown waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a very nice B&B. The apartment was very spacious, comfortable and well equipped with fridge and microwave. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order by the chef, who happens to be the Inn keeper. Afternoon treats were also available, and tasted fantastic, I recommend picking up their cookbook. Very well located to see New Port and it's mansions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshmellow2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it was wonderful meeting you and a pleasure to have you stay with us. Our Great Little Apartment is our most spacious guest room and is very private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Newport and this B & B was part of our good experience. Our hosts were friendly, gave good suggestions for us to best enjoy our touring. Restaurant recommendations were very helpful too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Newport has many great restaurants within walking distance of the Inn, and our staff has many recommendations ready for guests who aren't sure of where to start.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We absolutely loved our experience staying here for a long weekend. The rooms are more spacious than most B&B and everything was very clean and put together. The owner is awesome and very personable - plus, he is a fantastic chef! We looked forward to our made-to-order breakfast each morning. He offered ~5 items that changed daily on the breakfast menu and it included sizable portions. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in March 2014. Our room was very comfortable, our hosts were friendly and attentive and the breakfast was excellent. Location was great - right next to Bellevue Ave and a short walk to harbour. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We loved this charming bed and breakfast, very well decorated, very tidy and clean.
The owner was very kind and served us a great breakfast.
The only thing we didnt enjoy much was the sleep because the mattress was not so confortable, it was too "fluffy", so in the middle of the night I changed to the extra bed that was in our room, that was much more confortable and the mattress more firm.
But we really enjoyed the stay and the house...!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philomenecafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Slocum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Property: Marshall Slocum Inn
Address: 29 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing