We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marshall Slocum Inn
Ranked #9 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Everything from the friendly and professional hosts to the beautifully appointed rooms and delicious food was perfection. I am looking forward to returning and will certainly highly recommend the Marshall Slocum Inn to friends.

Babs Johnson
New Orleans

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsJNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    86
    17
    15
    5
See reviews for
41
322
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy the ambiance that a typical B&B stay brings to mind due to our busy Naval Prep School graduation activities, but what we did get to experience we greatly enjoyed: very friendly and welcoming staff, delicious breakfast and snacks, convenient location, and well appointed / comfortable room. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed what you could during your busy stay here. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is simply amazing. It has an excellent "home style", where you can almost feel like home. The room is cozy, charming, comfortable. Staff is very friendly, always concerned with making your stay pleasant. Location is excellent, in a very quiet street, with other hotels and private properties around. However, it is in a short walk distance from the harbor area and other attractions. The breakfast is excellent, freshly made on demand by the chef. No buffets or canned food, just good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acoelho74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and felt at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Marshall Slocum House for a long weekend in May and it was a fabulous experience. Very clean, delicious breakfasts, off street parking and a quiet location all made for the perfect combination. We will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hblade44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you had a great long weekend in Newport! We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay at this lovely Bed and Breakfast! The Inn was immaculate and beautifully maintained. Off street parking behind the Inn very convenient, very good location in a beautiful historic neighborhood. Nice deck in back for good weather outdoor breakfast. Mark makes a delicious breakfast with several selections each morning. We were a group of 4 ladies and felt very at home with the other friendly guests. Newport was a wonderful destination, very interesting and unique. Would go again and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Every room was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
It was wonderful having you ladies stay with us and we're glad that you had an excellent time. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the Inn this past Sunday-Tuesday. We chose the cottage which is located in the garage in the back of the property. We LOVE this room! Clean, comfortable, and with all the benefits of staying at an inn but with a little added privacy of your own getaway. The only thing we would love to add there is if it had a mini fridge (we tend to bring food for lunches or have leftovers from dinner and the guest fridge in the main house just isn't big enough). Something in the room being separate from the main house would be perfect! Otherwise, breakfast is amazing as always. You can choose from a variety of entrees prepared by Mark, the owner. Later in the day, (Lauren?) is available to answer questions, help choose a restaurant, or just have a conversation! Homemade treats, coffee, hot tea/chocolate and water are available in the main house throughout the day. The inn is a short 5-10 minute walk to Thames St. which is so convenient and I think a nicer area of downtown Newport. You really can't go wrong with staying at the Marshall Slocum Inn for what you are receiving for the price. This will definitely continue to be our getaway location when we are able to come back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theflashlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
It was great seeing you two again and it was lovely to chat with you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the inn as a family of five, and it is very difficult to find room big enough for 2 parents & 3 children at a B & B. We stayed in the apartment in a building next to the main inn. The apartment was very bright and spacious but we did feel very cut- off from the inn "experience." The main inn was very nice- no understated elegance as in other Newport inns we have stayed but nice, if not terribly spacious. I do understand that these are old homes, I admit. I cannot comment on any of the main inn rooms. Breakfast was very good but all of us felt, during our stay, as if were somewhat of an annoyance to the innkeeper during meals and when asking for extra amenities, such as soap, etc. The 10 min. Walk from town was not a problem for us as we like to walk and parking is tight in Newport. I agree with another reviewer that the inn could do with some TLC. Outside areas seemed a bit shabby and the stairs going up to the apartment and the outside furniture did need some attention.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking to improve the quality of our guests stay and your feedback helps us with that. The apartment is our largest and one of our most private rooms and is great for families traveling with small children. We are more than happy to take care of any guests needs, whether you need additional amenities or a substitution or dietary need for breakfast. We have refinished our back deck and are in the process of doing the same to our outdoor furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.0 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Slocum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Property: Marshall Slocum Inn
Address: 29 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing