We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and charming residence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marshall Slocum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marshall Slocum Inn
Ranked #9 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful and charming residence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My boyfriend and I spend 1 night at the Marshall Slocum Guest House and were sad to leave. Entering the house feels like coming home. The decoration is wonderful and very romantic.
The bed was very good and the bathroom had everything we needed.
The location was very easy to find and had as well plenty of parking space.
For breakfast we could choose between 3 options, which were made for you on the spot. Free coffee and tea could be taken all during the day. In the afternoon there were free cookies. Everything was simply wonderful and we would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and felt at home. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    82
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
36
293
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Marshall Slocum Guest House in Newport, RI in early May. We had some questions regarding which room to book and the host was very responsive and helpful. We decided on the Brass Room on the second floor as it was the only room with a kingsize bed. It was very comfortable. The beds are quite high off the ground and most had a wooden step to help you get in. I was tall enough to not need it. There was also a twin bed in the room which we didn't use. The shower was very large and nicely tiled. We looked in most of the rooms and they were all very attractive. Breakfast offered three choices when we were there: an omelet or scrambled eggs, french toast or pancakes or a fruit plate. Tea and coffee were available all day. There is a very nice dining room, but the weather was pleasant and we and most of the other people there at the same time opted to eat outside on the deck.
The inn is located in a nice residential area which our GPS had no trouble finding. There is a large parking area behind the inn, so no worries about parking on the street.

Room Tip: The Brass Room has a kingsize bed and a large shower. No tub in this room, but we prefer a big show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed our Brass Room and breakfast on the deck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Marshall Slocum Inn is a small hotel in a good & central area in Newport. We liked staying here, the hosts are friendly and Mark serves a great breakfast (small a la carte, so specially prepared for you). We stayed in the 1 room that is not in the mainbuilding. It's just as beautiful as the other rooms, but bear in mind that it's in the garden(/parkinglot), you can hear some early birds..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Our Cottage is our most private guest room, located about 30 feet from the main Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lovely stay - great room & welcoming inn keeper. The breakfast pancakes were yummy! No TV in the room, not an issue to us but may be for some. An iPad is provided instead for Netflix / internet. There is also no buffet optionsat breakfast which might have been nice - I wanted to nibble on something else but wasn't hungry enough to order another item off the menu. We were offered the option of doing this though so you won't go hungry!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank see_ski_eat_live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We offer iPad's in our rooms in lieu of televisions, however we do have a television in our common area that can be used by anyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed two nights at this wonderful b & b and wished we had booked longer. The house is a delightful 150 year old traditional home exuding warmth and ambience and our room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast served on the rear deck was excellent with several choices. The house is in an excellent location within an easy walk to the many wharf area restaurants, bars and shops. Newport itself of course is a delightful town with many attractions. We highly recommend Marshall Slocum to others intending to visit Newport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maragani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for your review. Readers, please refer to the specific category ratings, I believe this guest made an error in submitting the overall review as the category ratings are all 5 star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

It was a real bonus for us that an original booking that I made to somewhere different got cancelled, and they transferred the booking to Brewster By The Sea.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. The hosts are so proud of their Inn and so they should be! It's beautiful! We stayed in the Refugio Suite, which was simply stunning and so spacious and comfortable, and also had it's own deck area outside the bedroom. Then breakfast was too die for! Simply delicious! Thank you so much for such a fabulous three nights, I hope that one day we will return.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Everything from the friendly and professional hosts to the beautifully appointed rooms and delicious food was perfection. I am looking forward to returning and will certainly highly recommend the Marshall Slocum Inn to friends.

Babs Johnson
New Orleans

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsJNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Slocum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Property: Marshall Slocum Inn
Address: 29 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing