We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marshall Slocum Inn
Ranked #7 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Marshall Slocum Inn was a wonderful place to stay. It was just a short walk to Bellevue Ave and then on down to the wharf area. Our room was nicely decorated, bed was comfy, and we had our own bath. The entire house was also very welcoming and comfortable and decorated very nicely. Coffee tea and snacks were available. We sat on the front porch swing and truly relaxed while watching a bunny hop around the neighborhood. The breakfast was the best we ever had. Chef Mark is such a talented chef. We had options from a menu when ordering. I had blueberry stuffed French toast and my husband enjoyed the best omelet he ever had. We ate outside on the deck since the weather cooperated. We will definitely go back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RitaB1240000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you had a relaxing time with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Guest House. We were in Newport for a wedding and were able to enjoy the lovely deck and terrific brunch both Saturday and Sunday.

Not only was our stay amazing, but we accidentally left behind a FitBit and the staff were kind enough to mail it back to us right away. A great choice for the Newport visitor.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we're glad that you had a great time in Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My friends and I were fortunate to find this place, given that we booked rather close to the end of the springtime for July. It has a very good location - within walking distance to Thames Street and other hot spots. I thought that the breakfast that is included is great too - I'd opt for the omelettes, my friends were disappointed with the small pancake portions (only two). We ended up staying in the Brass Room, which was good for three people. The king size bed is very soft and comfortable, but the single bed is quite...hard. The bathroom is a bit quirky - it's a decent size, but the doors are kind of like closet doors. Note that the shower takes a few minutes to warm up! The Wifi also seemed to go in and out a lot, but that wasn't too big of a deal. Overall, a good find for vacation season, though some things are a bit cramped.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank environmentality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a gem of a find was this delightful Guest House !! We were treated like royalty by the owner Mark.A choice of breakfasts that were beautifully cooked to one's liking.Well positioned in a leafy suburb close to all the attractions..We were given a large spacious apartment with all conveniences on hand.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you're a walker, this location is just right. You are in reasonable distance of the cliff walk, and also of the restaurant/shopping area in the opposite direction. Meantime, this is a nice quiet
street. The room was small and the bathroom incredibly small, so that the sink is in the
bedroom. I'd still say it's a nice charming place. The managers are helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was superb. Rooms don't have tv, but have ipads, which are quite practical.

Room Tip: If you want space, do not take the Bostonian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Marshall Slocum Guest House for a concert we were attending in Newport. The inn is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown (restaurants, waterfront, clubs, venues) and the famous Cliff Walk. With a bike or good walking shoes you can easily make it to a lot of the mansion area. The B&B is very well restored, and the common areas are beautiful. They have a cozy deck and shaded area where they serve a delicious morning breakfast. The food was far better than we expected. The staff we very friendly and attentive. But the best part -- the mattress! What a comfortable night sleep it was. We will be staying here many times, I am sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deegray01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to get a great nights sleep. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We wanted to stay in a historic place, since Newport is so historic. My husband is quite tall so I asked for a king size bed. We were in the Cottage, which is a converted garage in the garden. It was perfect! Spotless, antiques, great bed, TV, nice shower, quiet AC; and very private. We just walked up the lawn to the back porch for a fabulous breakfast every day cooked by our chef/owner, Mark Spring. I can't say enough about the hospitality; not overkill, just like we were friends who were staying for awhile. I am a decaf drinker, and Mark made me my own press decaf every morning. The blueberry french toast was to die for!! We could walk to town in a couple minutes, and there are gorgeous homes all throughout the neighborhood; very safe and friendly.

Room Tip: The Cottage was awesome; king bed, privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwilsonri, Front Office Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Cottage and that breakfast was to your liking. We are happy to fulfill any requests for decaf coffee or any other preferences during breakfast, such as gluten free or vegetarian options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Slocum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Address: 29 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £105 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing