We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armistead Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Armistead Cottage
Ranked #15 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I had a weekend off and decided to take my fiance here for a nice getaway in scenic Newport. After researching numerous B&B's around the area, we decided on Armistead and we couldn't be happier.

It was quite easy to find and there was plenty of parking in front. The place looked rustic, beautiful from the outside. I noticed the stained glass windows, gave the place a very charming look. We were greeted by Romana who was a ball of energy and showed us around before showing us our bedroom. We saw the carrot museum that we read about in other reviews and I was quite impressed with the variety of carrot themed items. To the right of the museum was a rack full of brochures that informed us of all the things to do in Newport.

The rooms were great. It was equipped with everything you'd need including a t.v, air conditioning unit and it's own separate bathroom which was absolutely spotless. The atmosphere in the room we were in was just charming. We had a great nights sleep and woke up to birds chirping in the morning.

Breakfast was great. What I liked most about it was the fact that not only was it healthy but delicious. I loved the poached egg and the baked apple was different but very tasty too. During breakfast, Romana kept us entertained with her bubbly personality, we found ourselves laughing quite a bit.

Overall, our experience in Armistead was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we ever find ourselves in town again, this will be our go to B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessyca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
186
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Armistead Cottage was a great B&b to stay at in Newport. We were there for just a few days, so we weren't able to see everything Newport has to offer. But there is always a next time! Romana and Charles were great hosts. Full of information about where to eat what to see and all the neat little tucked away areas that most people don't find out about on the internet. The house was so much fun a mix all sorts of antiques and fun curiosity. Our room was great, everything you needed and a few things I didn't expect to have at a B&b as well. Breakfast was home made by Romana. We both highly recommend this place if you find yourselfs in Newport. When we come back to visit Newport I am staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

First, you juggle cars in their driveway, and try not to bang anyone's doors...the room is sufficient, I guess, although it hurts to get up onto the bed. The frame hits your legs every time. The bath water doesn't get very hot, and you can hear through the walls. SHE was a bit ghoulish and one must question a room full of everything CARROT taking up every square inch. Fetish, is an understatement. HE wasn't even in town until the next day. Taking luggage up those stairs is a real feat. Breakfast ? Are you kidding me? You are on vacation ! Not in school ! Be there at 9 ? It consisted of a baked apple, first course. A muffin, second course, and an egg in a crock dish and cold toast. Their banter was like sharing a meal with people who think they are funny, and need an audience. But more than that we felt so "judged". We asked her how to determine the channels on the TV in the room and she said "Oh, I don't know how to work any of that internet stuff..." Where was a good restaurant in town for oysters? She got a look on her face like a vegetarian being asked who had the bloodiest steaks in town ! We felt uncomfortable the entire time there and it was the most expensive of all our nights on vacation, including Hiltons, Westins, etc. WE sure couldn't find anything to do in Newport but drive the Mansions route several times. No, thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glowie_emerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
We never like hearing that any of our guests were unhappy when they
come to stay with us. Both Charles and I were very sorry to see a
negative review, especially since we rarely if ever get them. We feel
sorry that these folks’ trip to Newport was not what they expected it
to be. I was surprised to see in their review that all they could
find to do was travel the Mansion/Ocean Drive route. Most of our
guests have to return because there’s not enough time to see and do
everything. We have many brochures of many sites, events, etc in the
area which everyone is shown upon coming into our home. It was a
strange comment to make since Newport Rhode Island is one of the
United States premier tourist spots. Newport’s’ tourist center could
have also aided in their search for things to do.
I do realize that everyone is entitled to their opinions, but after
reading this guest’s review it was truly upsetting. It seemed to be
more of a personal insult attack than a constructive review. I will
not mention all their issues but try to address a few that stand out
the most. As for any surprise of the room or what it looked like or
the accoutrements in it, should have been no surprise at all since the
web site has photos and descriptions. Our web site has photos and
descriptions of rooms, common areas and even the staircase. There is
plenty of space in our driveway for our two guestroom guests to park
their vehicles with no issues. The cost is very average for the area
and actually below average for mid-week. They also did ask for a
price reduction on top of the already low rate, which we gave them
happily. On a personal note in reference to my carrot museum, I do
have a small area off my kitchen devoted to my hobby of collecting
carrot items. Actually, it is very well known of and has been see on
TV, magazines, and newspapers. It is also shown on our web site. As a
side note, in reference to their mention of not knowing what certain
channels are on cable TV, we have taken action on this and are placing
channel cards in the rooms so people know what channel is what.
After looking over these guests review I noticed form previous parts
of their vacation they only stayed at hotels. It is a fact that some
folks are only hotel people and really shouldn’t stay at B&B’s. It is
two different worlds all together. Upon greeting them I do remember
they seemed upset and disturbed. Usually I chalk this up to a long
car ride, and soon after settling in most people enjoy their visit.
But, they seemed at once disappointed and upset with everything; if
there were other personal issues I’m not sure. No matter what,
Charles and I always try to make everyone feel at home and
comfortable.
Again, we are both very sorry that these guests were not happy. Even
a one night visit, such as they had should be filled with fun,
comfort, and most of all satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We recently returned from a "girls get-away" to Newport involving an overnight at Armistead Cottage. Romana was the consummate B&B proprietor, providing us with a map, suggestions for local restaurants, and other activities. She is warm and gracious in her interactions with guests. Breakfast was absolutely scrumptious as an added bonus. The property is in a quiet residential neighborhood close in proximity to Bellevue Avenue. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We will be returning, for sure! Armistead Cottage has the cottage charm we love when traveling..

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Grounds are lovely and groomed. The front porch is inv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthShore01915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I just returned from an extended weekend stay with my boyfriend and another couple. We love this inn. Located on a pretty , quiet residential street but still close to everything Newport has to offer. Romana & Charles were wonderful. They made us feel right at home. They were very friendly and really nice people that we had the pleasure of meeting. We enjoyed their recommendations on places to dine as well as activities. We loved sitting on the beautiful porch as well as the cozy living room. The inn was spotless and the rooms are very comfortable. It was a cooler weekend and we really liked the fireplace in our room. The breakfast was very good and we were all happy it was served at 9am. Late enough to enjoy sleeping in but early enough to have plenty of time to enjoy the sights. The carrot museum was awesome. It was a lot if fun checking out the vast collection. We will definitely stay here again on any future trips to Newport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindakathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bricktown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

great place to stay the owners Romana & Charles were to much fun ! and let me tell you delious breakfast . my wife and i would defintly go back . Newport is a fun town with alot of history we had a blast !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My boyfriend found this perfect gem while looking for a place to stay in Newport & I am so glad he did. We had a fantastic weekend! Romana & Charles are both wonderful people who make you feel welcome & at home. The rooms are beautifully decorated and 100% spotless. The breakfast was amazing, with fresh ingredients, & a splash of their unique taste. Romana was more than accommodating and made sure our coffee cups were never empty through out the entire breakfast. Her warm and charming personality was what made our weekend. My boyfriend could not have found a better place to stay! I can't wait to go back and visit very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
OceanCliff Hotel
OceanCliff Hotel
#17 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armistead Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armistead Cottage

Property: Armistead Cottage
Address: 55 Hunter Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armistead Cottage is a Victorian style bed and breakfast with two guest rooms offering elegant king or queen accommodations and all the comforts of home, such as air conditioning, private bathrooms, romantic fireplaces, flat screen cable televisions, with DVD/CD and WiFi. A full gourmet breakfast is included with your stay as well as free on site parking and more!!!! We are located within walking distance of Cliff Walk the beach and the beautiful downtown harbor with all its restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Armistead Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing