We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Armistead Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$452
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$594
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$395
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
US$623
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$606
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$408
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
259
15
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
15
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarrot museumromana charleslilac roommy husband and ifront porchthe cliffentire house isquiet neighborhoodbaked applehome away from homefellow guestswonderful stayprivate bathcomfortable roomfelt like homewithin walking distanceeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We recently took our first trip to Newport and did some last minute planning. Romana the innkeeper was so wonderful to work with - she was great at responding quickly and really made us excited to stay there before we even arrived! The house itself is so beautiful - and we truly felt at home as soon as we met Romana and Charles. She made us feel so comfortable and has a fantastic sense of humor. You truly feel like you are staying at a friend's house! The breakfasts were fantastic - unique and delicious. All of the rooms were incredibly clean and the bedding and towels smelled so good! Loved the cookies in our room everyday, too! SO much better than a hotel. We are definitely looking forward to returning to this little gem again someday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMG0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

One of the best things about returning to Newport was our stay at Armistead Cottage. This was our 3rd trip this year. We felt like we were returning to see dear friends. The house has such a warm feeling! It was immaculate! We love the décor. The breakfasts were delicious! Romana and Charles are such kind, caring, wonderful people. They make everyone feel special. It was such a joy to spend time with them. We were truly blessed to have been able to stay there the past 3 times.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Looking at previous reviews... I feel like a broken record. I don't know where to start. My husband and I just returned home from a three night stay at Armistead Cottage. We have NEVER felt so welcomed or LOVED at ANYWHERE we have EVER stayed for a vacation! Romana and Charles are the epitome of life itself. The most compassionate people we have ever met. Life stories were shared. Tears were cried. But I can tell that they are so caring for EVERYONE, but they still make you feel special. They have someone there to help, Ami, also is the most adorable, warm young woman we have EVER come across. We love her as well! ANYWAY, the Inn....quirky , yes. You can tell that Romana has put her entire heart into the decorating of this charming place. Meticulously clean. I could go on and on. But, I will end with, We would love to go back soon! And will stay NOWHERE ELSE!! We love you, Romana, Charles, and dear sweet Ami!!!
Carlos and Suzann

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Suzann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Suzann and Carlos,

The three of us cannot thank you enough for your kind and beautiful words. We are so happy that the time you spent with us was so special. You both not only entered our home but your entered our hearts. We all are looking forward to the future when we can meet up again.

Thanks again from our hearts

Romana Emi and Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

At Armistead Cottage I feel like at my Granmother home: the same loving care, the same delicious food, the same atmosphere and style.
I was there for a week happy to in Newport again after a Year.
This is a very apropriate place for a solo traveler as me, being an mature lady which wants to engoy the wanderful places in peace and security.
Thank You very much Dear Romana.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I had a very nice stay this past weekend at the Armistead Cottage. Romana was such a caring and gracious host. Her breakfasts were delicious and the cookies/mints in front of our door in the evening was such a sweet touch. We also appreciated the fridge with water and soda.The quiet location while being able to walk to the cliff walk and downtown was fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews