We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly B&B in good location, and great value (with plenty of carrots!)”
Review of Armistead Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Armistead Cottage
Ranked #14 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this small, comfortable and convenient B&B located in a quiet residential street. Innkeeper Romana is hospitable and friendly, once you get tuned in to her quirky humour, and helful with good local tips. The rooms are a good size and comfortably furnished, and charmingly styled if rather over-ornamented. The home-cooked breakfast is taken around a communal dining table, and is very adequate if not quite up to the gourmet standard of some B&Bs we've stayed at. Romana has peppered the house with various collectables, but the star feature is her 'museum' of carrot-themed objects (wooden, ceramic, textiles etc) comprising well over 2,000 items. You'll never see anthing like it anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamWithSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

Romana and her husband are outstanding innkeepers! The breakfasts are dynamite, as are Romana's suggestions for Newport attractions to see during your visit. The rooms are gorgeous. My husband and I loved the fireplace in our room. I would highly recommend a stay at Armistead Cottage. You won't regret it. We can't wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBruno1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Romana and Charles are excellent hosts. Breakfasts were lovely & the house was spotlessly clean. I liked the decoration and the room we were in was spacious. We felt the location was good - about a 15min walk to get downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babbles42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Charming but small B&B. Lovely hostess and breakfast. Intriguing carrot museum. Perhaps all of Newport is pricey, but this place seemed over-priced. The small room felt cramped, and the house is so filled with cute things that it feels crowded. Missing niceties like a full-length mirror in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Romana welcomed us as soon as we pulled up! She was very personable and showed us all of the places to go in Newport (great beaches, free parking, amazing views, unbelievable restaurants). We stayed in the Lilac Room. It had more than enough room and we had our own bathroom attached to the bedroom. Every touch in the room throughout the whole house and room was perfect! She even has a carrot museum, which is entertaining! The location of the Armistead Cottage great as well. It was only about a 10 minute walk down to the main street, where we were able to go down the wharf and walk along the main drag (great Italian Restaurant - Lucias- and wonderful frozen yogurt)!

We also stayed in the middle of the week... With our booking, we were given free tickets to several of the mansions and we were also given tickets to go on a sail boat tour. Romana advised us to go on the sunset tour and WOW - was she right? It was breathtaking!

At night, Romana leaves wine glasses out that you can take. We did that one night and sat. She has comfortable chairs and a fun swinging bench on the front porch.

Romana started breakfast at a great time - enough sleep and yet early enough to get our day going! There were multiple courses to breakfast and it was delicious! It was enjoyable meeting and having fun conversations with the other guests while Romana entertained with some of her many stories.

We will definitely be going back again!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuseteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We spent 4 days in Newport for a friend's wedding this past weekend... we stayed the first two other nights in another BNB closer to Thames street. Originally, we had booked with Armistead for the full trip...but were advised she had some kitties living on the premises and my husband and I are both allergic...me with asthma...so to be safe we only stayed one night with Romana. Upon arriving...we were greeted by Romana, the hostess...who is witty and funny... we didn't have alot of time to chat when we arrived...so she quickly escorted us to our room and gave us the run down... One BIG plus...she keeps a mini fridge in the carrot museum with ALL kinds of free refreshments (waters, pepsi, coke etc)... My husband HAS to have milk before he retires for the evening (I know...I know...)...and she graciously left some milk in the mini fridge for him when we arrived home that night.

The rooms... CLEAN and bright...with much attention to detail spent during decorating... Romana has eclectic taste and you could spend hours looking at all the collectibles. The room had an flat screen TV with a DVD player...and a collection of movies in the hallway for your viewing pleasure...

The house... very clean...open and bright. She has some very nice antiques...this is not a home that you feel was 'piece-mealed together' and you can tell this home is her pride and joy. She has a huge collection of items from her travels... and this woman is well traveled.

Breakfast...we didn't have much time for breakfast...and given we ate ALL weekend long for the rehearsal dinner/wedding...we weren't up for a huge meal..she made us a nice fruit plate, muffin, and french toast on some kind of yummy bread... with raspberry type syrup... it was great. Romana, my husband and I drank coffee and discussed travels... and funny stories, etc. I would have like to have picked her brain some more...but we had to get on the road.

You won't be disappointed in your stay at Armistead.... it was lovely....and for those allergic to kitties...they didn't bother my husband or I one bit... we were out much of the time...that said...- the kitties don't enter the bedrooms etc...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

A quaint B&B located in a residential neighborhood about a mile from the downtown. The owner and house are quirky and fun - you feel more like a visiting friend rather than a customer. The breakfast is to die for and it is served at the civilized hour of 9 am. No boring eggs & bacon! Romana provides many recommendations for activities and dining and will even make calls for you to check availability.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPACHIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.5 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 96 in Newport
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#10 of 96 in Newport
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#20 of 96 in Newport
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 96 in Newport
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armistead Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armistead Cottage

Address: 55 Hunter Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £145 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armistead Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armistead Cottage is a Victorian style bed and breakfast with two guest rooms offering elegant king or queen accommodations and all the comforts of home, such as air conditioning, private bathrooms, romantic fireplaces, flat screen cable televisions, with DVD/CD and WiFi. A full gourmet breakfast is included with your stay as well as free on site parking and more!!!! We are located within walking distance of Cliff Walk the beach and the beautiful downtown harbor with all its restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Armistead Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armistead Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing