We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Like spending a weekend at friends in their beautiful country house. A real oasis of calm when just outside the front door is the hustle and bustle of Thames Street, Newport. A few minutes walk from the harbour with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. A lovely shady central courtyard is a main feature where one can take breakfast (and what a breakfast!) or just to sit and relax. Complimentary afternoon tea is a real spread - what a treat. Staff so friendly and helpful - it really is like staying with good friends. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a downstairs room with small private courtyard reached by French windows (courtyard shared wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Malcolm & Elizabeth,

Thank you so very much for all the kind words about the inn. It was a pleasure speaking with you at breakfast and I'm so glad you loved Newport & the Francis Malbone House! Tell all of your friends about us at home! Enjoy your summer-

Regards,

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second time at the Francis Malbone house and there is no other place like it. Central to everything on Thames St, and being able to park at their inn and walk into town is priceless. Even though they are right on Thames St it is peacefully quiet inside the Malbone because its set back off the road. Their inner courtyard is beautiful and there is nothing like having your morning coffee (or afternoon tea which they provide) in that courtyard. The staff is always accommodating and extremely nice. The rooms are always clean and really make you feel like you are staying in a historic part of Newport. Hard to find availability this time of year, but if you can get it, its very worth it.

Proposed to my girlfriend there this weekend, and now its an even more special place to us! We will be coming back for many years to come.

Room Tip: Every room is special in its own way and decorated differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Cant beat location. Lovely decor and friendly staff. Parking is off street ..
Some rms w fireplace nice in cooler months.
Good website but if your unsure of room call and they can suggest best room for your needs.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank bagdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. It's comments like yours that let us receive the Certificate of Excellence 2014 from Tripadvisor our third year in a row!

See you again !

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We managed to get a last minute reservation for the lovely red room #3, facing the street, on the night of my birthday.

Will greeted us at the door and showed us around, sharing tidbits of history (I had to ask), and his own personal journey with The House. He was charming and warm, and though I was envious of his ownership of this magnificent historical home, I just couldn't hate him for it … he was lovely in every way. ;)

We spent one night in our dreamy room, in our heavenly cloud-like bed, and were sad to have to leave early the next morning and miss the renowned breakfast service. But we were able to take tea the day before, and it was a delight … delicious sweet and savoury treats with afternoon coffee and tea served in the dining room - which has the largest imaginable fireplace (I could almost stand in it, I'm sure).

We loved perusing the various sitting rooms, examining all the fine details, carefully preserved/restored. They keep a stocked refrigerator with beer and water in one of the sitting rooms, and there are newspapers, magazines, and other reading material throughout the house.

The courtyard is lovely and quiet …a perfect spot to take tea.

We arrived back at the Inn after a late (and delicious) dinner down the street, and found chocolate covered strawberries beside the turned-down bed, on a plate reading "Happy Birthday!"

Did you know you could ELOPE HERE? Yep. I asked. And it looks like another thrilled reviewer did just that. Nice!

Softest possible bathrobes, an iPod dock, a noise machine (we didn't need it), air conditioning (also didn't need it), flat screen tv (discreetly placed), a gas fireplace (cold nights in winter - how lovely would that be?), iron and ironing board in the closet, a spa shower in the washroom, hair dryer under the sink, refolded towels after dinner, free guest parking behind the building, candles lit in the hallways in the evening … no detail seemed overlooked. I was impressed how every modern convenience did not detract from the historical ambience of this Inn .. not an easy thing to accomplish without compromising each, and here they do it with style!

Every member of the staff we met was personal, warm, and knowledgable. Even other guests seemed nicer-than-average, and I blame the atmosphere of the house for putting us all into such fine moods. We felt pampered, taken care of, and blissfully happy. Service AND atmosphere!

When booking, you can take a peak online at the rooms to see your preferences. Ours, for example, did not have a bathtub.

Thank you, Will and staff, for such a memorable night in Newport. We will be back. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dairedre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Deidre,

So glad you were able to enjoy your birthday at the Malbone House and take advantage of everything we offer in 36 hrs!! Sorry you left before breakfast- come back again and we'll spoil you even more!

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I visit the Inn every year - sometimes in May - or June - or in the summer. We would not stay anywhere else. The Inn is close to the water and you can walk everywhere. They have their own parking lot which makes it easier when coming back to the Inn late. We had a gourmet breakfast every morning in their private garden - or you can just sit and relax there. The staff is personable and caters to your every need without being overbearing - beautiful, clean & well appointed rooms. Their afternoon tea is scrumptious.

Room Tip: I have stayed in different rooms and they were all good and you can view each of them on the web sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

What do I say about two of my very favorite guests? I miss you both!
I couldn't think of a better way to start my week off than having breakfast with you both in the garden.

Hugs and Kisses
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd anniversary at the Francis Malbone House. The Inn is beautiful and very centrally located. The rooms were comfortable and tastefully appointed. The breakfast was great. Will and his staff were welcoming, personable and helpful. We have stayed at many B&B's in Newport over the past ten years. The Francis Malbone House is are favorite!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

It was so lovely to meet you both and thank you for spending your 33rd Anniversary with us! It is always so enjoyable to help guests celebrate such special occasions.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful repeat visit to the Francis Malbone House. We've tried many Newport sites, and this is our first choice by far. The atrium garden area is a peaceful, secluded area with beautiful plantings. It's hard to believe that you're on Thames Street, convenient to all the action.
Will and Elizabeth were both welcoming and helpful. We also enjoyed meeting other guests.
Each time we stay, we wish our visit could be longer.

Room Tip: We've never stayed in the main house, but can whole-heartedly recommend the "addition"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Jean,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a great review and for returning to the Inn. The courtyard gardens are looking better every day!

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £149 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing