We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Experience, Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Ranked #46 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have just again, returned from a summer stay in Newport, a place I really enjoy going to each summer for a "turn of the century" experience. The Inn, I usually go to Is this one.Of all the Newport places to stay, this one is a KEEPER! The place has a wonderful Victorian feel to it.I,upon entering the front door, feel as if I am transported back in time, a hundred years, a feeling I just love and can not get enough.The Inn is furnished beautifully..I go from room to room, just taking in the ambience.And the side porch is so special, aplace outside,that is so inviting and relaxing,with the sound of a waterfall on the property.The rooms are large and comfortable, nicely furnished and very quite.Sleeping there is perfect, as it is quite and peacefull in the house and, more important, the surrounding neighborhood.The morning breakfast is worthy of your pallate and your digital camera.It is served so beautifully!The Innkeepers are two special, very nice guys.They can guide you to a perfect vacation, and always offer good advice.I would recommend this place to everyone .I have never had a bad experience there, and can not wait for the next return trip.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are more beautiful, but more money....worth the extra cost, in my view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TommyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay at the Architect's Inn. What a find! It is conveniently located in the center of the historical district within a few minutes walk of Thames street and the waterfront. The Inn is historically delightful with elegant woodwork and inlaid floors yet modern enough to have central air. Nick and Brian have done a wonderful job decorating the Inn with antiques except for our bed which was as comfortable as our own at home. We're truly looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: The Redwood Room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

A very cozy cotel and a very interesting experience. Beautiful house. When I arrived, the owner had left the keys by the window and I spent the holy time alone in this house, furnished like a haunted mansion. Fortunatelly there was a very nice wireless free conection and I could stay in touch with friends, showing them the house and having fun while I waited for ghosts. Very nice and I had fear, but a lot of fun!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank marcolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Architects G, Owner at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

lol I love that people think they are alone in the house. We were actually full but the house is pretty quiet overall.

I hope he got some paranormal activity. Just do not youtube it without checking with us first. lol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The inn is a perfect home away from home and is close to everything Newport has to offer.
The rooms are spacious and clean with lots of details that makes them warm and welcoming and the decor makes you feel as being a part of the gilded age.
One of the best things about the place is the innkeepers that make you feel welcome and they are also a great source of information about Newport and surroundings. The breakfast is amazing with new dishes every day where quality and attention to the details is never forgotten. The only bad thing we have to say about The Architect's is that we unfortunately aren't able to go there more often.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Our family (two adults, two children) recently stayed at the Architects Inn. We had such a lovely time that I had to post a review of our stay. First of all, I was happy that we were able to get accommodations together in one suite - other bed and breakfasts required two separate rooms. The Perry Suite, where we stayed, was spacious, and my teenaged daughter had her own area to sleep and relax in the sitting room of the suite complete with a fridge and a television. The breakfasts each morning were divine - most (if not all) of the fruits were organically and locally grown. There was a nice variety too, such as strawberry pancakes and sausages with fresh fruit one morning or rosemary thyme biscuits with bacon and eggs another. We had a choice of two dining times - one for early risers and another for those that enjoyed sleeping in a little bit. The innkeepers also provided afternoon snacks each day such as homemade chocolate chip cookies or brownies with servings of tea, spring water, or sherry. The inn is located within walking distance of shops, restaurants, the infamous Cliff Walk, and the Newport mansions! We didn't need to use our rental car at all. If you are looking for a nice, quiet atmosphere with laid back innkeepers, hearty breakfasts, and a historical setting, you should try the Architects Inn. You won't be disappointed! Oh, almost forgot, one member of our family is vegetarian. The innkeepers had no trouble accommodating her diet at breakfast! In fact, they asked us before we arrived if we had any special dietary concerns. Both innkeepers, Nick and Bryan, were very gracious and helpful. The innkeepers themselves will make you want to come back for a return stay!

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with children or if you have one child, try the Redwood or the La Farge Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

After a tedious and long flight from Munich to Boston, a 2 hour drive
from Boston to Newport, and a short search I found the Architects Inn
finally. It is not far from the center of Newport but located in a
really quiet neighbourhood. The location is simply great, it is only 10
min walk to the nearest beach and the same time to the waterfront.
Architects Inn is ran by Nick and Brian who care not only for the house
and the garden but were absolutely helpful to make my stay as relaxing
and pleasant as possible. The rooms are clean and beautifully equipped
with old wooden furniture and historic painting on the walls. The
breakfast cooked by Brian is simply great. Each day a new surprise and
all this arranged with lots of love and taste. I spent many hours on the
spacious porch to prepare conference talks in the morning and to relax
in the evening. I really recommend the Bed&Breakfast and hope to come
back a future day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was our second visit to the Architect's Inn. We have been to Newport several times but from now on, we will always stay at the Architect's Inn. The rooms are spacious, welcoming and comfortable. The Inn is that place that makes you take a deep breath and relax. Brian and Nick are the most gracious of hosts. The breakfast is amazing! On this past trip they had the most delicious rosemary (the rosemary was fresh from their garden) biscuits with an apricot jam, yummy!! The rest of the breakfast was just as amazing. Brian and Nick also helped us to plan the rest of trip and each suggestions led us to have the most perfect stay! Thanks for making our stay special! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hathaway23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#18 of 96 in Newport
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#21 of 96 in Newport
45 reviews
1 mi away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#6 of 96 in Newport
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilltop Inn
Hilltop Inn
#11 of 96 in Newport
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Address: 2 Sunnyside Pl, Newport, RI 02840-3321
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £189 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Architects Inn - George Champlin Mason House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing