We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Inn on Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on Bellevue
Ranked #13 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Before staying, we were concerned about mixed reviews posted online. We stayed at the Inn on Bellevue, which is one of 4 properties in the group. I guess the more economical properties may have had issues because we had a great stay at the Inn. Great staff, rooms, and location. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We booked a last minute trip here for 4th of July weekend and were a bit concerned about previous reviews, but were pleasantly surprised. The staff was nice and helpful with pointing us to some great local restaurants. The room was pleasant and clean. There is an outside porch which was a great spot to get some wine and cheese from beechers next door (delicious!) and enjoy a nice sunset. All in all this was a great B&B and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole3228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We recently made the mistake of staying here. There was no heat and the wifi internet did not work even after comaplaing to the desk it was not resolved. The bath was new but they did not have have ther brains to provide a soap dish so the shampoo and soap had to be ont he floor and the lightswitch was loose in the tile and backwards, The TV was very small and the breakfast was below par. We heard other guests complaining also. This is ia case where management is collecting the fees but not putting any effort into maintianing the palce.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

i was a bit concerned with so many negative ratings but just can't beat the price and location and pet friendly attributes. Other options nearby would have been twice as much money and we only took the car out for a day hike at brenton pt state park. yes didn't seem most secure hotel room but i guess it is newport so probably not too much crime. noisy not ok comfort bed. breakfast was ok included in room rate. fantastic cheese and wine store right next to hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisc_mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

There is no Newport feel to this inn. The service is not so great and I'm assuming he was the owner, but was very rude to his employees.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zambi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend during the peak summer season. Brinley Victorian is part of the Inns on Bellevue family. The hotel is old and the decor is, well, Victorian. The room was spacious and had a fireplace, however, it wasn't clean. The sheets were stained, the room had a musty odor and the carpet was damp. We raised these concerns with the hotel staff, and they were very flip, dismissing our concerns. The failure in customer service and sanitation issues are not acceptable for $200/night. Ultimately, I sought the general manager, Paul. He is extremely professional - apologized on behalf of his staff and remediated the issue. I'd stay at one of the sister inns but i wouldn't stay at the Brinley again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzmeowus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was disappointed in this B & B. The bed was noisy, the mattress was lumpy, we had to go out of the room thru a public hall to get to our ‘private’ bathroom. The wallpaper reminded me of something a grandmother would put in her house. The breakfast was so so, mediocre at best, not impressed at all, The room was not worth $200 a night, even for Newport. I would not recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Bellevue

Address: 30 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £97 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Bellevue Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing