We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique accommodations, quaint”
Review of Inn on Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on Bellevue
Ranked #13 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights the end of June and enjoyed the location of the B & B very much. Everything was within a 10 minute walking distance to the downtown area and there were a few restaurants and shops just across the street from the Inn. The accommodations were unique and cute. We stayed in the Brinley house, which has a kitchen area and a few different patio areas for guests. Given that this is an older building, the wood floors were a bit squeaky, along with the bed, which was extremely squeaky and loud. There are A/C window units which was nice to have since it was rather warm outside while we were there. Overall it was a decent stay, though my one complaint is we weren't allowed a late check-out by 1 hour. The front desk lady simply said over the phone they had other guests arriving that evening and wouldn't allow for late check-outs. She didn't even ask for our room # to verify our room was indeed going to be checked into by another party that evening. She wasn't the most pleasant person.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Inn on Bellevue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

WOW! If you're looking for a charming, beautiful, lovely and inexpensive place to stay in Newport this is it! the rooms are very spacious and lovely decorated. The entire staff couldn't be any friendlier or more accommodating. And the free breakfast buffet was the icing on the cake! Great location, easy to get to and from town. I highly recommend staying here and can;t wait to go back again soon :)
Lindsay Huggins

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Perfect location, charming inn. We go to Newport for the Tennis Tournament and just park our car @ the Inn (free parking - a big added value in Newport) and walk everywhere for days! They really worked with me regarding the room choice when I was booking. Reasonable rates for the height of the season. Breakfast is great - not just pastries: eggs, ham, pancakes, French toast, bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee. Walk to Bellevue Ave., the wharf, the Cliff Walk, the beach. Quiet area at night. This is our second time staying here and I would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our stay at the hotel was fantastic as always! We have been staying at the Inns on Bellevue for the past ten years. The location on Bellevue is great. You are able to walk everywhere whether you are taking a walk to Thames Street, going to the beach or going for a mansion tour. The savings in parking alone is fantastic. The rooms are always extremely clean and comfortable. The staff is always fantastic and welcoming. I would highly recommend staying at the inns on Bellevue to anyone interested in traveling to Newport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fabri076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our stay was at the inn on Bellevue during tennis week and we had a great experience. The staff was very welcoming and was able to point us in the right direction when it came to restaurants and events. Our room was clean and the location was walking distance from the international tennis hall of fame but also to the center of town. It was a pleasure not having to drive for two days. I recommend this inn to anyone visiting Newport in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This was no European hotel. I've experienced nicer hostels than this place. The front desk lady was not welcoming at all. Check-in was at 3 and we arrived at 2:45 and were told our room was still being cleaned. Well, the room hadn't been vacuumed, the floor was dirty, the front of the bathroom door was stained. I assume they have never heard of the Mr. Clean sponge. The sheets were stained and so was the bedspread. The queen sized bed posts look like someone had chewed on it as it was missing pieces of wood. This place has a real nerve charging us $299 a night. It's a dump!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castagna718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed last June at this property due to the low prices. Our room was OK the room itself was fine but the shower was really awful with extremely low water pressure that it was practically trickling out and the temperature was COLD. We would leave the shower running for 5 minutes where we would still take a freezing shower. It was too much trouble to switch rooms so we didn't The breakfast was AWFUL I mean inedible so we tried eating there the first morning and the following morning it was the same thing (probably leftovers) so we went to some breakfast place called something Monkey that was AMAZING!!! Overall the B&B was nice and quiet and the inn keeper was so friendly and in a great location but you get what you pay for. After all the not so great things I have to say I would try the B&B again because I heard they made some renovations. There are also different houses owned by Inns of Bellevue and maybe we were in the worst one? Not sure.

Room Tip: Do your research on the different "homes" available. Some rooms are more than others and i...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alyssa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Bellevue

Address: 30 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £98 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Bellevue Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing