We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
24
12
8
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
12
8
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central air stay there again perfect location a great stay visiting newport rick laptop wharf
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We stayed at the Melville House Inn having found it on our arrival in Newport, Rhode Island. It was the end of the season and no-one else was staying that night, but Bob and Priscilla, the owners, couldn't have made us more welcome. It's an old building with cosy rooms and a log fire in the sitting room. They also have the sweetest couple of dogs. Bob recommended things for us to see on our short stay and also some places to eat. The inn is in short walking distance of the town centre and has its own parking. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The next morning, Priscilla cooked us the best breakfast either of us has ever had - muffins, cinnamon coffee, granola and pancakes. We're so glad we found this place and we'd certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tallblonde79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

My wife and I the l stepped back into history the past 3 nights nestled in this cozy B & B located one block from Thames St. For those of you not familiar with Thames St., it is the heartbeat of Newport with shops, restaurants and clubs for all tastes. Boat charters abound. If you're looking for something really upscale, Belleview Ave is not too far. If you want to appreciate early Americana, Newport is for you and the MH dates back to 1750. But there's more than that. Bob and Priscilla own and operate this B & B. Priscilla's breakfasts are a real treat. Bob is matre'd and concierge wrapped in one. Coffee, tea, cookies, brownies, bottled water and fruit are available day and night at no additional charge. Cleanliness is a priority. The beds are firm and the neighborhood is mostly quiet. I always travel with moldable earplugs which always help, if you are a light sleeper like I am. Inquire about the size of the shower as ours was on the small side and didn't feel as if it would be appropriate for a large person.
If B & B's are your thing,I can recommend that you try this one. I wouldn't hesitate to return.
J.A.Fischer, New Paltz, NY

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JAFNewPaltz_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2008

My husband surprised me with a weekend in Newport, he could not have picked a better place for us to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary.

Priscilla and Bob were delightful hosts. Priscilla serves up a harty breakfast; there's always their home made bake granola, their own specialty coffee, muffins, juice, fruite and of coarse a hot entree. The breakfast is enough to hold you through lunch. There is also a frig with complementary bevarages. At four o'clock there are fresh backed goods, tea, coffee and sherry.

The Inn couldn't be in a better location historic Clarke St. one block from Thames St and two blocks from Bowen's; its close to the hussle and bussel yet located in a peaceful area. And there is free off street parking.

The accomodations were immaculate. We had room five which doesn't have it own bath, the bath is down the hall but it is strickly for the use of the quests in room five. This was not an issue with my husband and I. We had a wonderfully restful time and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gueyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

We stayed at the Melville House during the Winter Festival in Newport. Priscella & Bob were great hosts - Bob greeted us when we arrived, along with their dogs, and provided us with all the necessary information. The house was very warm and comfortable, and was decorated in the colonial period of the house. The location is excellent. It is a short walk to Thames St., and many other attractions. Breakfast was above average. The southwestern strata
was very tasty. And of course, the granola was excellent. The street
was lighted with gaslights, which added to the romantic atmosphere.
We enjoyed dinner at the Rhumbline and the Mooring. Both were quite good, but the Rhumbline was quieter. There is a great Irish
pub at the foot of Mary St., just down the hill from the B & B. We would certainly recommend the Melville House to our friends.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank Celticmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

We found this bed and breakfast in the AAA book a few years ago. We have stayed there 4 times now. The first time we stayed there by ourselves but each time since we have brought different family members and everyone has raved about the place and have said they can't wait to return for another visit. The last time we booked all 7 rooms for our daughter's wedding, which took place in Sept.. We have always felt as though we were staying with family when we go there. Bob and Priscilla, the innkeepers, helped us with the last minute details of the wedding and made the entire wedding party feel so incredibly comfortable. Bob and Priscilla are just the warmest, kindest people. The Melville House is incredibly clean. The breakfast that is made each day is absolutely delicious! The bake goods put out each afternoon is something to really look forward to. There is such a feeling of contentment and peacefulness in the Melville House. The location is perfect for those without a car. It is right in the middle of the Historic Section and close to the bus stop for the mansions. When we go to Newport we would never stay anywhere else but at the Melville House. It was a GREAT find!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLDMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews