We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Atmosphere...great seating open to air and water”
Review of H2O & Water Bar Lounge - CLOSED

H2O & Water Bar Lounge
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool Atmosphere...great seating open to air and water”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I loved my meal here and the sun was setting over the water with the boats in the background. Later, they had a great band we danced the night away!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Calla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    6
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gone for good”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

What upheaval....name changes ,,,menu changes ,,,management changes decor changes ownership changes
..you are not moving from the waterfront next are you

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Newporter2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, USA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slow service, misleading menu, so-so food.”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I stopped in to H20 for a Labor Day lunch on the waterfront after being given a 10% off postcard. We were hungry and the service was SLOW despite the restaurant not being crowded. We ordered a bowl of clam chowder and 2 entrees. After far too much time passed, the entrees arrived. When we asked about the chowder the waitress had no recollection of our ordering it, but said we could get some if we wanted. We said no thanks. Husband had ordered a swordfish sandwich, and I had ordered grilled chicken with a side of grilled asparagus. The grilled chicken turned out to be a grilled chicken sandwich (it did not say that on the menu), which was served with homemade potato chips. I am on a low carb diet, but after tasting one chip it was easy to turn them down - they were soggy and bland. My asparagus, meanwhile, had apparently been generously coated in salt.

This meal along with one glass of ice tea cost us $33 plus tip.

We will not be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a mixed bag this time- not even close to our last great visit”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We went to H2O on Saturday night. It wasn't super crowded and we didn't have to wait for our reserved table. We had a wonderful waiter, who was polite and attentive the whole night.
The food, however, was hit or miss. The calamari appetizer was great (had a smokey, almost grilled taste- just great), the clam cakes were great (light, not greasy, with plenty of clams), the crab cakes were good (lots of crab), but the whole belly clams actually tasted off and we didn't eat them.
The entrees were similarly mixed. The sword fish was great. The fish and chips- fantastic (light, crispy, not greasy with fabulous french fries). Two of us ordered the rib- eyes, which we just don't suggest. One was to be cooked rare and it came out well done. We sent it back and then (I can only assume the chef was annoyed) it came out raw- not rare, RAW. Anyone who has ever made beef knows the difference between rare and raw meat- this was just unacceptable (as was it coming out well done in the first place). It went back, also, and the next steak out was actuallycooked rare, as requested. That being said, both thirty-two dollar rib-eyes were extremely thin and had no actual flavor. If you like steak, skip the rib-eye! The lazy man's lobster was also a dissapointment. The oat topping appeared to just be some oatmeal thrown on top, the lobster was overcooked and it just wasn't good.
The atomosphere was great- fun, beautiful night, great view and super-service, but the food, really just not so good this time- expensive and this time (see my prior review), so not worth it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Copper1RhodIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DISGUSTING! DO NOT EVER GO HERE - EVER!!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The bathroom is the most filthy that I've ever seen a bathroom! the waiter didn't even want to be there. he brough the wrong appectizers. the one's we ordered were gross! we left and didn't even order dinner because the food was bad and it was absolutely filthy in there. Too bad, it's right on the water but ,trust me, not worth your time. YUCK!!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiR897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing