We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilgrim House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pilgrim House Inn
Ranked #27 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We enjoyed our one night here. It is an old building, like most of the buildings in Newport, but very charming. The innkeeper was very friendly and he helped us out with restaurant choices and made a great breakfast! The place was very clean. The bathroom was small but the room was roomy enough and the air conditioner was pumped cool air (it was in the 90s when we were there!) The price is right, about $160, it has free parking, and it's right in the heart of Newport. There are journals in the room which date back to 2000 (sort of like a pen and paper Trip Advisor) and all of the reviews are great. The rooftop is a great place to watch a sunset. I'm glad we stayed at the Pilgrim House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLTraveler619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    38
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Our third-floor room was cozy, clean, and quiet, with comfortable beds. I slept like a log! Bottled water and hard candies on the dresser top gave a nice feeling of welcome. Bathroom small, with a stall shower, but adequate, with hair dryer and soft towels. Location very convenient. No on-site parking, but free parking a block away. Innkeeper Barry was friendly and helpful. Excellent continental breakfast with several options. View from the roof deck was terrific. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Other than the location, there's NO reason to stay at this hotel. First and foremost, the Inn Keepers shouldn't be in the B&B business. They honestly feel as if they're bothered that you're there. Room are INCREDIBLY small. We stayed for two nights and on day two the small 'hotel' soap and shampoo weren't even replenished. The hotel is very 'tired' and in need of many upgrades. Showers are very small. Just not a good stay at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3129traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We had a great weekend in Newport in a great location, with great friends. However, the sole reason for us never returning to the Pilgrim House is the Inn Keeper's wife. Her husband should keep her behind closed doors. She is the most miserable woman in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathersojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The Pilgrim House Inn was a convenient jumping-off point for exploring Newport, but not much else. Having stayed in Newport numerous times before, we chose it simply for that reason. While accomodations were clean and the staff professional, the rooms were on the small side and the Inn was a little bit tired. The price was attractive; however, for about $75 more, one would have gotten a significant upgrade in accomodations at one of the more well-known B&B's. So on balance, very average. If you're just looking for a cheap place from which to see the town, you'll be satisfied. But if you want much more, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrshortpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

You couldn't ask for a better stay. A great value, sparkling clean, lovely staff, and brwakfast with a sensational roof top view.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the Pilgrim House Inn. Great location, within walking distance of Shopping and dining. Starbucks is down the street which is convenient for grabbing something on our way in for the evening.

They have a third floor deck that overlooks the harbor which is a really great place to start and end the day. Loved the deck. Bedding and towels were both soft and comfortable and added to the enjoyment of our stay. The innkeepers were friendly, attentive and full of information. Let them know what you are doing for the day and they will give any information needed.

There is a bunny theme going on which I found very charming.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 95 in Newport
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#14 of 95 in Newport
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim House Inn

Property: Pilgrim House Inn
Address: 123 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrim House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pilgrim House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing