We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect b&b”
Review of Pilgrim House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pilgrim House Inn
Ranked #30 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect b&b”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

You couldn't ask for a better stay. A great value, sparkling clean, lovely staff, and brwakfast with a sensational roof top view.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    40
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
48
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the Pilgrim House Inn. Great location, within walking distance of Shopping and dining. Starbucks is down the street which is convenient for grabbing something on our way in for the evening.

They have a third floor deck that overlooks the harbor which is a really great place to start and end the day. Loved the deck. Bedding and towels were both soft and comfortable and added to the enjoyment of our stay. The innkeepers were friendly, attentive and full of information. Let them know what you are doing for the day and they will give any information needed.

There is a bunny theme going on which I found very charming.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, VA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We were originally booked at the Clarkeston, but upon arrival were told that they were overbooked and they made arrangements to put us in a room at The Pilgrim at the same price. It was nice to be able to choose between the available rooms and the owners were very accommodating and friendly. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast on the upper floor and rooftop deck with a view of the harbor is wonderful. We ended up being the only guest on Sunday night and the owner got up early to serve us breakfast Monday morning so we could make our flight in Boston.
We parked our car once for the weekend and walked everywhere we needed to go in Newport.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

The Pilgrim House Inn is a lovely B&B style inn. The owners are personable and attentive. The rooms are pleasant and cozy and recently upgraded for modern ammenities and safety. The owners make the effort to anticipate any need. Sherry in the living room is a great excuse to mingle and enjoy meeting others. You cannot beat this inn for location, ambience and value.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We just enjoyed a quick overnight at the Pilgrim House Inn. We found it last minute on the web and booked it without any prior recommendations. We were so happy we found it - the rooftop deck was delightful and just so nice to enjoy after the hustle & bustle of the town. It was our daughter's birthday and Barry was so kind to give her a breakfast cake with candles!! Our room was immaculate - towels fluffy and the bedding crisp.

It was so nice that everything was within walking distance - you never needed your car. We were thrilled they could accomodate us last minute and for only 1 night.

We'll be back !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler9796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This is a basic Victorian B&B where the owners are helpful and kind. It is on Spring street, and the location is in walking distance of almost anything you need, especially dining. Spring is pretty quiet though, so you have the best of both worlds with regard to convenience.

Since there is so much to do in Newport, we did not spend a lot of time in the rooms. Ours was a basic bedroom with a bathroom connected. It was clean, and reminded me of the historic house I grew up in years ago. The bed/pillows were not super comfortable at first, but I am picky and they gave me a slightly better pillow. That said, we both slept better in that bed than we have in months.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmycarvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My wife, brother in-law and I just returned from a two night stay at the Pigrim House and have nothing but high praise. The Inn is perfectly located, park your car and walk everywhere. The Inn is very well kept, comfortable and affordable. Barry, the Innkeeper was very helpful, friendly and full of great recommendations and advice. The roof top deck overlooking the bay filled with sail boats was the perfect place to start your day with an abundant breakfast. Our room was of nice size, clean, standing shower and comfortable bed.
My wife and I generally stay in B&B's when we travel and this is one we will return to many times. I'd recommend it to our friends. If you are looking for high priced luxury, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a great place in a great location, look no further!

Tom
NY

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mydwiegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#40 of 95 in Newport
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#35 of 95 in Newport
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim House Inn

Property: Pilgrim House Inn
Address: 123 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrim House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pilgrim House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing