We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn Close to Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samuel Durfee House
Ranked #11 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn Close to Everything”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Samuel Durfee House and we have nothing negative to say about our experience!! It was wonderful! We stayed in the Ida Lewis room which has a private deck. We sat out on the deck in the evenings and had wine and privacy and were surrounded by beautiful trees and gardens. The bed was extremely comfortable and we heard no outside noise from either the inn or the street we were on and it was perfect. Also, the location could not be better. It is a very short drive to a swimming beach and we were able to walk into town for dinners and shopping. Also, we were within walking distance to the ferry stop which will take you to Block Island. Heather's breakfasts were amazing and she was able to provide us with tons of helpful tips about which mansions to see and beaches to visit. She was fantastic!! We would most definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Choose the Ida Lewis room. It is definitely nice to have the private deck. Also, check with Heathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FootballFanTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your long weekend in the Ida Lewis Room at the Samuel Durfee House! Thanks so much for sharing your visit! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
182
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The inn was so close to everything in town. The owners were very sweet. The room was spacious and clean with a private patio in the back and a seperate living room. Breakfast in the morning was also very good. We stayed there for the name, since my grandmother's maiden name was Durfee, but we would go back there for the quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EekersMcSneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so happy that you enjoyed your time in the Harrison Suite. We hope to see you again should you return to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My daughter and I just got back from our Newport vacation. What an awesome town! There is so much to see and do-- mansion tours, beaches, sailing, wineries, Cliff Walk, shopping and more shopping. We enjoyed every minute of our trip! The best part of our vacation was our stay at the Samuel Durfee House! What a wonderful place to call home for a week! The breakfasts each morning were absolutely amazing!!! Our room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Yummy baked treats were available every afternoon. We were given a beach bag to take to the beach, which really came in handy. The inn is located in a perfect spot . . . we walked to just about everything. The innkeepers, Michael and Heather, were absolutely the best! They were friendly and made us feel very welcome. They also provided great tips on things to do and places to see. Returning to the inn every evening after a long day of activities felt like coming home. If we ever visit Newport again, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!! We loved it here!! Thank you, Michael and Heather!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveTheCoast49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your week long visit to the Samuel Durfee House, it was a pleasure to get to know you both! Thanks so much for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon by the Sea, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We loved staying at the Samuel Durfee House. Heather and Michael were amazing. The daily, gourmet breakfast was outstanding. We stayed in the Jackie O room. It was cozy and quiet. The location was perfect. We parked our car and walked everywhere. The only time we drove was to the Cliff Walk and mansions. We toured The Breakers, Rose Cliff, and The Marble House. Absolutely amazing and the history of ancient money within Newport is astonishing. Talk with Michael about what to do and see, as well as where to eat and enjoy cocktails. We strayed from his recommendations and were disappointed. So, we got back on course and everything Michael told us was spot on. We enjoyed lunch at The Black Pearl. You MUST order the mussels and chowder with extra bread. For dinner, The Moorings. The Atlantic Salmon was amazing. Dont bother get the bag of doughnuts, as it was a disappointment and not worth the money. The bread pudding for dessert was delish. We ended our trip on Tuesday at Benjamins for the $1 oysters and shrimp. This is a MUST if you love raw oysters, clams, and shrimp. In the evening cocktails at the outside bar 22 was great. For a snack, stop at the Cookie Jar. I think I shared all of Michael's secrets! You will not be disappointed staying at the Inn. We will definitely return. Thanks Heather and Michael!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Wow, thanks for all of your kind words! We do share our favorite spots to go to and are glad that you enjoyed our recommendations! We hope that you will return and try a few more ideas that we have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a delightful stay at this Inn. The room was lovely, the food was delicious and varied, the location was blocks away from everything, and the Inn Keepers, Heather and Michael were helpful and gracious. We happened to arrive in Newport at the start of a record heat wave. We were pleasantly surprised that the airconditioning was working well--not too blasting, but just at the perfect temperature for a good nights sleep.
With the help of 12 year old son Jaxon they even assisted us with our navagation system in our I phone.
We had a patio off our room which we did not use because of the weather, but it was a nice outlook over the well maintained garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quarterdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your stay with future travelers! Glad you were able to stay comfortable during our heat wave and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We loved staying at Samuel Durfee House. Location is perfect ,very clean,lots of character, great hosts and good parking .
All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are very modern.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay with others! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to the Samuel Durfee House and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here twice and both times were very enjoyable. The hospiality of the owners, the great breakfast and rooms and the fantastic location made this the best inn in Newport for us. The breakfast was excellent offering any type of juice and home made breads and main courses from eggs to crepes to waffles with fruit. A great way to start the day. The owners were friendly and are from the area so know all the places to enjoy in the area. Restaurants were all walking distance from the B&B making it the perfect location. Plus the rooms are set back with a porch to be able to eat breakfast outside in a quiet setting. Was a great experience for our second time being there. There is no pool as indicated below not to confuse anyone was an input error I couldnt remove.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent would choose the top floor with first choice the room with a deck or Doris D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kingemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We are so glad that you returned to the Samuel Durfee House and enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for sharing your experience with future visitors! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.4 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Durfee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Durfee House

Property: Samuel Durfee House
Address: 352 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Samuel Durfee House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1803 Federal period inn located downtown in Newport's Yachting village, just a block from the harbor. A full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments are served daily. Enjoy the ambiance of an historic building with modern amenities. All rooms are uniquely decorated and feature television, small fridge, robes, beach bag with towels, CD player, iron, and ironing board. Complimentary parking and wifi are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Samuel Durfee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing