We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK...there are far better options for the $!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

While there's nothing "wrong" with this hotel, there's nothing "right," either. Our check-in was fine and efficient. My issue is really with the value - very mediocre quality for the price. The location is excellent, for sure, but the property is out-of-date, almost depressingly so - the decor is very '80s, and just doesn't hold up to my expectations for the cost. We've stayed at other Newport hotels with a similar price in a more peak season, with far better quality and ambiance.

The room...again, underwhelming. Out-of-date decor, the bed was VERY hard and uncomfortable. When we arrived there was a tray of dirty dishes and food to greet us directly outside our door - probably from the room next door, but something I would expect to be cleared away for check-in time. It remained until we came back to the room that night around 11pm. We even paid more for an upgrade, and it just didn't meet our expectations. The bathroom is utilitarian - there's no place to place cosmetics and toiletries, the shower is fine, but not luxurious.

I guess the bottom line is that I was expecting more luxury, or at the very least updated decor and facilities for what I considered to be a fairly high cost ($299/night for a Harbor View Room) - especially when there are far better hotels in great locations for the same or less cost.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillytoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
There are newer reviews for Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Frequently travelling for work, I stay at a wide variety of hotels-from the simple Motel 6 to Westins and higher class resorts. The Newport Harbor Hotel provided one of the worst hotel experiences that I have ever had. For 230 dollars, I was provided dated accommodations with a toilet bowl that wasn't clean and a very stained bathtub that could only muster lukewarm water. At about midnight, a party started on our floor that continued through around 4 am. My calls to the front desk didn't result in any reduction in the loud noise. After my sleepless night, I related the noise problem to the front desk in a courteous manner during my check out. The manager responded that they would look into the matter. ...that doesn't really my wife and I out.

The uncontrolled noise was the real issue that I had with the hotel. I suppose that I could have complained about the toilet that barely flushed and wasn't clean, the dirty bathtub, etc., but I had driven 9 hours to get there that day and needed to drive another 9 hours the following day. I just wanted to rest. For the price, I would expect that I wouldn't have to be bothered with those details.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank torkuemada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We apologize that you had an uncomfortable stay, particularly as it relates to noisy neighbors. Unfortunately, there are occasional hotel guests that have “too much” fun and disturb other guests. We do have security personnel on property and promptly send them to disruptive rooms to address any complaints. In most cases, the individuals do quiet down to everyone’s satisfaction, however there are times where the noise will start up again, resulting in immediate eviction. On the night in question, we had to evict two separate rooms after giving them an initial warning. We strive to create a pleasant atmosphere for all of our guests and take any noise complaints seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I attended a wedding at the Newport Marriott this weekend, and as that hotel was completely booked, we decided to stay at the Newport Harbor Hotel, as it was within walking distance. The price was a little staggering (over $200 a night for a small, non-view bedroom with 2 double beds at a below-average 3 star hotel), but we thought it might be worth it given the location. Unfortunately, the location was the only thing this hotel has going for it. Where to begin... 1: our room was not very clean (the bathtub was stained), 2: we had no hot water in the shower, and 3: the walls are paper thin. There must have been some sort of party going on the night we stayed, because at 2 am we were awakened by loud yelling and partying down the hall. I called the front desk to complain -- the person who answered said he would call security, but the noise remained (my husband had to put in ear plugs just to sleep). We were exhausted after a night of no sleep, and were so jealous of friends who spent a wonderful night at the Marriott next door. My advice to anyone going to Newport would be to stay at the Marriott, where you are guaranteed a great stay at a 4 star hotel for the same price as the dingy Harbor Hotel. I will NEVER stay at the Newport Harbor Hotel again and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel was very nicely located right by many restaurants and shopping.
Rooms were very spacious, free internet and very clean.
Service at the reception was excellent and our room was ready at 11.00 am without a problem.
Newport is a wonderful city to visit and when we return to the area, would definitely return to this hotel.
We visited off season and as a result found the hotel excellent value for the money. Right on the water. Too bad it was too windy and cool to get out and enjoy the amentities to its full extent.

Room Tip: Didnt get a water view room, but the city view was also very nice. The ground floor waterview rooms...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayle054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

We certainly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in lovely Newport! It would be a pleasure to have you come back and visit during warmer weather so you can take advantage of our outdoor amenities and beautiful surroundings. Thank you again for staying with us at The Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent a long weekend at the NHH with our 2 young children. The plus points were: Excellent location, free parking (maybe just off-season?), large indoor (albeit cold) swimming pool, beautiful view from the Wharf front room, very good dinner in the hotel restaurant and room service breakfast. The only complaints would be so-so house-keeping- our room wasn't really well-cleaned prior to our arrival, and not made up until after 3 pm on the 2nd day, and the cribs I had requested were not delivered until I had called for them twice.

We lucked out with unseasonably warm weather and the location really shined. I'd definitely return!

Room Tip: Choose a wharf-view room on the 1st floor to have access to a little lawn/patio area with Adirondack...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel in April for a night. It had a great location, check in was very quick, room was ready 2 hours prior to actual check in time. The room was nice, amenities were good. Room was set up more for two with toiletries and towels than the family of four we checked in. The pool was nice, overlooked marina, but was out of towels both times we went down. The view was beautiful and the location was perfect. Would definitely stay there again. The restaurant was not open on Sunday night, so I have no review for that or any room service as we did not use that particular services. Parking was free if you were a guest, 5$ if not.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with harbor view, it was beautiful!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

It is a 3-stars hotel in Newport that we strongly recommend: perfect location, lovely view if your room is on the ocean side; staff is very kind, breakfast is excellent. You don't have the services of a 5-star, but compared to the price you pay this is an excellent deal. Rooms are traditional, but the quality of sleep is amazing. Comfortable and easy going.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £82 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing