We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome as always”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is my 7th time planning a conference at this location and each time gets better and better. I have people attending from all over the country and they love coming here. The sales staff Debbie, Greg & Jenny to Patty & Sue the catering and banquet manager and their staff Jermane & Maricel can't do enough to help you. one of our attendees had a problem with a shower in their room and not only did they upgrade him but they comped us the room. They bend over backwards to help in any way they can and to let us know they appreciate our business. From a handwritten note thanking us for staying with them, to putting a few of their yumnmy croissants and muffins in a to go box for some of our associates that commented on how delicious they were. Small things mean a lot and those gestures show how much they care about their guests. You can also see how much the staff actually cares about each other as there is no 'that's not my job' attitude like you might see at larger hotels or businesses, everyone helps everyone in order to assure that things run as smoothly as possible. So, if you are in Newport for work OR fun, this is the place to stay as it's close to everything. You can walk everywhere and the views are amazing, especially in summer when you see some of the America's Cup Racing Yachts at anchor.

Room Tip: in the summer ask for a room on the 1st floor overlooking the harbor as you have a little patio that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review regarding your conference at The Newport! We are thrilled that your group enjoyed their experience – everything from our meeting and guestroom accommodations to personalized service. Customer service is our priority and we are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for highlighting the service you received specifically from Debbie, Greg, Jenny, Patty, Sue, Jermaine, and Maricel. We are extremely fortunate to have such dedicated and willing staff members as a part of our team. We are all very much looking forward to your group returning in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    384
    217
    90
    71
See reviews for
317
474
22
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently had the good fortune to spend a couple of nights at the hotel and found the rooms clean and comfy and the staff helpful they really made us feel comfortable and welcome. I love the view and the location of the hotel. It is very convienient to the shopping area and many restaurants.Overall I would recommend this hotel and will be happy to go back again and again! The one thing I would like to suggest is an upgrade on the pillows. They need new and better pillows.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the harbor have wonderful views of the Marina and Harbor you can catch a great suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review on your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfortable accommodations, helpful service, and convenient location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Had lunch and cocktails at the Pier 49 restaurant in the hotel. Once again, great food, fantastic staff. If you go, ask for Jen or Brandon...their "what can we do to make this visit great?" attitude is what makes or breaks a place.....and what makes employees become friends that you go back to see..love it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent Pier 49 dining experience. We appreciate your compliments regarding our “great food and fantastic staff!” It is very rewarding when guests recognize our wonderful staff members, specifically Jen and Brandon. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

FANTASTIC views, excellent facilities and a staff that goes out of its way to please (there was a credit card mistake on my part and the staff went out of their way to help me resolve it). Furthermore, they were nice enough to give me a free upgrade because they had a more expensive room which was vacant. Also, you can't get a better, more central location in Newport.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dadad0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing the fantastic experience you had at our property! Here at The Newport, we focus on providing the best location, service, and value. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations with each of these attributes and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We completely enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The front desk staff, Leya was very accommodating and helpful. Because we were running a little late with the 11:00am check out time do to oversleeping, we requested a :15 grace period with check out time, Leya granted us an hour, giving us time to enjoy the pool. The room was tastefully appointed and more than adequately stocked. The heater was silent, the TV had a lot of stations. As far as the hotel itself, the common areas were inviting and spacious. The salt water pool was warm, stocked with towels and has many chairs and lounge chairs. The restaurant Pier 49 was also a pleasant surprise. We had both dinner and breakfast, finding it more convenient to eat in-house. The menu had various selection and the food was prepared to our liking. The breakfast server did an exceptional job of serving us, she was attentive and friendly. We unfortunately cannot recall her name, however we went on morning of 12/6 and believe her to be the only waitress working. We met the banquet manager, Patricia O'Neal who was especially helpful. I met up with her while awaiting my coffee to go. She was very friendly and struck up a conversation with me about how we came to select this particular hotel. In the midst of our conversation, I mention I was had cancer and was having a break from chemotherapy and my husband and I decided to get away for a night. She immediately hugged me and offered emotional support. She also personally paid for my breakfast. She briefly described her experience with cancer and was very supportive of my position. Because of my interactions with Patricia O'Neal, Lyea, and the restaurant waitress we plan to return to the hotel the very next time we have a break from chemo. Thank you Groupon for recommending this outstanding establishment! Sincerely, Cathi Campbell

Room Tip: we stayed in 203 which faced the town. It was quiet, clean, and well appointed
See more room tips
Green Features: We applauded these practices and were pleased to comply with them.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PistolbPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review on your recent stay! We strive to deliver exceptional customer service to each and every one of our guests and are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. It is staff members like Lea, Patty, and Maricel who help to create memorable guest experiences in such a hospitable environment. We are proud to have them on our team and we all look forward to your return visit to our property in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Dont use debit card to pay for room. Beautiful view but definite attitude at check in. Not welcoming. Policy is to charge for two nights if using debit card and then crediting a few days later . Lounge had entertainment on weekend. Didn't see anyone using hotel restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdrehoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us last weekend. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our magnificent harbor view and live entertainment at Pier 49. As a hotel policy, when using a debit card for payment, we authorize funds for each room, plus $50 per night for anticipated incidental charges. We then release any unused funds at the time of check out. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived to find that the lobby is quite nice. I asked where the restaurant was and was told it was at the end of the hall on the other end of the hotel. For what it is worth you can hardly see the harbor. The food was terrible. We had the Breakfast Package but all the food was cold as it was a buffet. I asked for fried eggs and was told that they were not available and that what was there is what you get. The coffee was served in clear glass mugs and you could look right thru the mug and see the boats on the other side! We paid extra for a full breakfast not a stinking cold buffet.
Now on to the room. What a dump. The shower handle was falling off and it turned back and forth doing nothing. The sink and tub did not drain as they were plugged. When I tried to open the window it almost fell out on the floor. As for the hot air heat under the window you ether died of dry heat or froze to death. The next morning I had nose bleeds from the hot air. There also was mold all over the sink fixtures. We left the room at 11:50 Am for the day. When we got back at 6:00 PM to change for dinner we found the room was not made up. We called the front seat and were told that it was our fault because we had a " Do not disturb tag" in the door lock. We were told that they started making up rooms at 9:00 Am in the morning. Believe me, There was no one making up rooms at this time of day. I was told I would have to reuse the wet towels and they could do nothing. The second night they had made up the room when we arrived back after dinner. Upon making a cup of coffee I found that there was no sugar or cream in the room. If you can not get the simple things right how can one expect a good stay in this dump. DO NOT STAY HERE AND DO NOT EAT HERE.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We would like to extend our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We are dedicated to providing the best accommodations and service. We take all of our guest’s feedback wholeheartedly and into consideration when making improvements to our property. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again during a future visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing