We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2008

A four story hotel with knock-out views of the harbor and a location that puts you steps away from everything. Our hotel room was a standard hotel room, size wise, it was a normal sized hotel room and adequate. Bathrooms weren't big but big enough for a bathroom.
If you feel things are lacking size wise--the staff and their service certainly make up for it. Any request we made, no matter how big or small was handled gracefully and with a smile.
$15 a day to park...every place we passed charged for parking, and some were more expensive than $15 for the entire day. Once we arrived at the hotel, we never moved our car until we left. There is metered parking on the street, but it is only good for 3 hours.
Newport is glorious. Take advantage of it's beauty. Thames street has some lovely and unusual shops, the mansions, the restaurants, too much to do and see in a weekend!
The hotel itself does offer a pool, a great deck, a lawn facing the harbor--great for sunset viewings, and indoor and outdoor restaurant, a sauna. The outdoor noise level can get loud, but it doesn't last long. You pay a lot more for the harbor view than the view we had, which was the parking lot. Our view was just fine, and for the amount of time we spent in the room, I'm glad we didn't have the harbor view. If you do have a harbor view on the first floor, you have a patio that you can walk onto. Some harbor view rooms also have balconies, a nice touch!
I agree with the air-conditioner/heating units..they are noisy. We solved the problem by turning it off and just keeping a window open at night. Prices for the hotel do vary...it's a hotel that Priceline uses, which means you might be able to bid and get a great deal on the hotel.
Kudos to Paula the concierge --her excitement in giving us suggestions on where to go and what to see made us feel like this was her first day on the job and she couldn't wait to share her Newport secrets with us--her warmth and enthusiasm added to our enjoyable stay.
Can't thank her enough for recommending Lucia's, an Italian restaurant less than a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Not only was the food outstanding, but because it was a BYOB restaurant, we saved a lot of money!. We had the Chowda at the Black Pearl and found it soooo good, we went back the next day for more! Most restaurants do fill up quickly, so reservations would be helpful..and Paula certainly helped us!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 2toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2008

I booked this hotel for my girlfriend's 30th birthday weekend. The hotel was very expensive but I figured it would be worth it since it had a pool and was on the water. In addition to being expensive, they charge you $15 per day to park and they can only gurantee 1 parking spot. I think parking should be included in the high price of the hotel. The indoor pool was ok. No hottub though. There is an outside area that you can sit and watch the boats/people. That was very nice. Our room was ok - kinda small. We didnt really sleep all weekend because the air conditioning in the room kept going on and off to save energy. Very annoying. Also, when the bars broke out around 1am, the hotel got very loud. We also had a very noisy family with kids staying next to us. The walls appear to be very thin. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel that is nice. It has an outdoor bar. The best part of the hotel is the location. You are right in the heart of Newport. Even though the price was high, you probably arent going to get much better for that price. Oh one last thing, the locker room showers are disgusting. My friend found a pile of poop (seriously) in the shower stall. Not sure how long it was sitting there but...

Bottom line, I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NEJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

The hotel has a good location but for the price ($ 350 pr night) you get a fairly small room, and an even smaller bathroom. The bath room has no ventilation and gets very damp.
There is a coffee maker but no refrigerator.
The hotel offers a swimming pool, did not look good, but otherwise had nothing extra to offer, part from a beautiful location overlooking the harbor.
Newport is a very small town; you can easily walk everywhere, so there is no need to stay close to the marina in order to take advantage of dinning and evening life.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Booked this hotel for one night on a last minute whim to get out of town. Got a rate of $165 on Priceline which is not bad for the height of the season. When I was checking in, they were quoting $319 to a woman looking for a room for that evening. The best thing about the hotel is no doubt the location. The rest of the experience was just average. The best thing I can say about the room is that the linens and towels are new and very clean. The rooms are small, the walls are thin, the bathroom was recently re-done but the water temperature and pressure were not great. The ceiling fan did not work and paint on the ceiling was cracked and moldy in spots. I wound up with a room on the first floor with a view of the parking lot - not so bad but on the same floor as the kitchen so there were strong odors coming down the hall - smelled like a day old clambake - not very appetizing. Breakfast at the restaurant the next morning was a complete waste of time and money. The menu offered fresh-squeezed orange juice for $3 and I was served a 5 oz glass of frozen or worse. The toast was burned and the service was just not good. I would not recommend that anyone pay full price at this establishment - while Priceline considered it to be a 3 star hotel, I would give it 2 stars at best.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

I use this site alot and felt it was time to add something to it. My wife and I recently stayed at the Newport Harbor Hotel in Newport for a Friday and Saturday night in May. We were able to secure a great rate through a contact and really had no idea about the hotel or where it was.

First off, the hotel is perfectly located in the downtown area. It is on America's Cup Avenue and just across from the popular Thames Street. You could not ask for a better location.

The staff was helpful and there were no real issues. Upon arrival I noticed two double beds in the room and immediately called the front desk. After a few minutes of "discussion" the front desk staff said they would attempt to find us a room with a king size bed. They called right back and told us they found a room for us with a king bed. They were very helpful.

The room was clean and had everything we needed minus a mini fridge. Bathroom was nice. A bit small but had a nice pedestal sink and again, everything you would need.
As far as the value of the hotel, I can't comment because we received a discount on the rate and this was our first trip to Newport. I can say that Newport is rather expensive and this is coming from someone who lives in Boston.
Newport is a great place for a weekend trip with lots to do and lots of great restaurants - especially the Brick Alley Pub, a must for anyone going.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DonkeyPunch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

The Newport Harbor Hotel is a great home base from which to explore Newport. Staff are helpful and friendly and the bed and room are comfortable. It is an easy place to launch a walking tour of the city, particularly the Cliff Walk and the mansions on Bellevue, as well as other sites such as the Redwood Library, Trinity Church, and St. Mary's church. It had free parking while we were there (we were there off season, so this might change), which was fantastic.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank alphaoh45301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My wife and I stayed here on 3/12 for one night and will never return. We booked our stay on Priceline for a great deal of $48.00 oer night. We checked in at approx 11:30 pm and when we did the Front Desk clerk was on her way out for a smoke break and saw us and almost acted as though we were interupting her. We checked into the room and went to take showers and noticed the soap dishes had not been cleaned from the previous guests, there was hair and caked on soap, the shower squeeled when you turned it on (when you could get it to work), when we unfolded a couple of the towels we found them to be dirty and just refolded, and worst of all we noticed that under the seat and inside the toilet bowl had feces on them. Our comlaints were reported to the Front Desk Manager who offered no soulution other than he would alert housekeeping so this did not happen again, Horrible expierience, not recommeded for anyone. If traveling to Newport I would highly suggest the Hotel Viking, some rooms are small but the Spa, Hot Tub and Indoor Pool are great!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Northeast82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £70 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing