We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay & Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I had a business trip where we spent 2 days and 1 overnight. From the time checked in up until I left, I experienced nothing but excellent customer service. Patty O'Neil's personal touch along with the rest of the catering staff and management made for one of the most pleasant travel experiences in my life and I travel often. If you are looking for a decent spot to stay for a weekend or have a business meeting, I recommend Newport Harbor Hotel.

I look forward to the next time my company has a business trip here. Also, I will be scheduling a personal stay because I was pleasantly surprised at every turn.

This place can teach the hotel chains a thing or two about customer service.

Thanks so much Newport Harbor Hotel for treating like a king!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in the suite area. Mine was nice for the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your daytime meeting and overnight accommodations with us! It is a pleasure knowing that our staff, specifically our Banquet Manager, Patty and her team, provided you with a memorable experience that was refreshing and hospitable. We appreciate you writing a wonderful review and look forward to having you as our guest again for both your personal and business trips to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Recently held our corporate holiday party here and I can't say enough about how wonderful everything was. The ballroom is beautiful, our dinner was great and I can't begin to find the words for the fabulous cocktail hour we had with some of the best appetizers ever. I asked if the hotel could supply centerpieces and they created the most beautiful pieces. The party was extremely easy to plan because the staff at the Newport Harbor Hotel is at the top of their game and had everything under control. We were offered special pricing for rooms and many of the guests stayed the night. The rooms are very nice, the views of Newport are beautiful. I would recommend the Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina for all parties and/or weddings, or just a great overnight stay in Newport.

Room Tip: Room 411 has a small balcony and a beautiful view of the Newport bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j20328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for writing a glowing review about the experience you had hosting a corporate holiday party with us! Our staff strives to provide all of our guests’ with their undivided attention and we are flattered that you found the service to be exemplary. We are thrilled that your event was such a success and your guests’ enjoyed their evening – everything from the personalized centerpieces, to fabulous cocktail hour, and overnight accommodations. We would love to welcome your company back again for another event in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent a weekend the hotel during January 2014. The hotel's location is great - right on the water with plenty of shops and sights within walking distance (although the mansions are a long 20+ minute walk away). Our room was clean and comfortable, with a flat screen TV and free WiFi. The bathroom was a little small, but still functional. The only drawback with the room was that the walls are a little thin - we were able to hear the guests speaking loudly in the room next door after they got back from the nearby bars after the 1AM last call. The beds were comfortable and there was an iron and ironing board in the room, along with a coffee maker and free bottles of water.

We didn't use the hotel restaurant, since Starbucks and a bunch of restaurants are within a 5-minute walk. We did, however, use the indoor swimming pool, which was very nice.

The staff was friendly and we enjoyed our stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MikeLisaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed review and highlighting the amenities offered at our property. We take pride in providing the best location, service, and value and are glad that you found all three of these attributes to be of your satisfaction. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is our first winter living on our sailboat, but our fifth winter in Newport, and Mark the Dockmaster has made the transition a smooth and safe experience for us. He is professional and accessible, and cultivates a spirit of community throughout the marina. The location of the marina can't be beat for living and working in Newport. Next door to all that Bowen's Wharf has to offer, and right across the street from the Maya Lin designed Queen Anne's Square, it's a 5 or 10 minute walk to some of the best that the city by the sea has to offer -- in all seasons! It's January and our current favorites are The Wharf Pub and Perro Salado. We can't wait to try the skating rink! Back in the marina, I have access to laundry facilities and a heated pool and sauna. We are really pleased with our experience at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, and plan to be back next winter.

Room Tip: Ask for Harborview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyeLoveTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your marina experience this winter. We appreciate you highlighting our property’s location, amenities, and most importantly, service. We are extremely fortunate to have Mark as our Dockmaster and are delighted that he has aided in making your transition a smooth and safe experience. We look forward to having you as our marina guest for the remainder of the season and back again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I have spent three winters docked at the Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina and can't say enough about how well we were treated, This is in large part due to the efforts of the Dock Master, Mark Holden and what's become our "Winter Family". Friendships have developed that will last a lifetime and it almost seems sad when spring arrives and time to depart is upon us. As we go our separate ways and head off for new adventures we all take with us the feeling that this is our base community. The staff was great along with the location in downtown Newport. Big thanks Mark!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THISSIDEUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review regarding your experiences staying at our marina. We appreciate the kind words about how well you are treated and the service you receive from our staff, especially our Dockmaster, Mark. It has been an absolute pleasure having you dock your boat with us the past three winters and we look forward to many more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at the Newport Harbor Hotel on New Years eve to celebrate in Newport. When we arrived at 5pm our room was not ready yet and was not rear until about 7pm. We didn't mind too much as we went down to the bar for a drink however this would have been extremely inconvenient if we had children or a larger number of people traveling with us. Jen at the bar really took care of us. She is super friendly and fun to talk to so the time went by quickly. Denval was also very friendly and was easy to talk to. Overall we had a great night but would have been better without the rooms delay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing your experience at our property on New Year’s Eve. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered when you arrived regarding your guestroom not being available until after 4:00pm. We understand your concerns about a delayed check-in time and would like to assure you that this has been addressed with the appropriate managers to avoid having this happen again. Throughout the duration of each guest’s stay, we continuously strive to deliver the best customer service. We are regretful that we were unable to achieve this because of the late check-in time, however are pleased that our Bartenders, Jen and Denval were able to exceed your expectations in Pier 49. We all look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve and the location cannot be beat in Newport! The hotel itself is clean, tidy, and rooms are quiet, although the rooms are somewhat out of date. It was so nice to step out of the hotel and immediately be on Bowen's Wharf - especially considering how cold it was. Parking was easy and well priced. The only issue was that our room was not ready for check-in until 6:30pm. Check-in was 4:00pm and we arrived at 4:30pm to a long line of people in the same position. It seemed as though NO rooms were ready. Although they waived our parking fee for the inconvenience, we were a little galled that our room wasn't ready until 2.5 hours after check-in and would have appreciated a drink ticket at the bar or something to occupy us while we waited. We brought our own bubbly to start the evening right but when we asked where we could drink it since our room wasn't ready, the front desk staff said, "you can only drink in your room" and told us to buy drinks at the bar. Not impressed. In any case, I would return to the hotel in the future given the exceptional location and tidiness of the room, regardless of the rooms being a little out of date!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etty305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay on New Year’s Eve. We appreciate you sharing your experience and bringing the noted concerns to our attention. By you doing so, we are able to appropriately address each one so that our service may be better improved. Respectively, we would like to sincerely apologize for your guestroom not being available for check-in at 4:00pm and the inconveniences that this caused. Once you were able to access your guestroom, we are glad that you found your overnight accommodations to be of your satisfaction and the hotel location exceptional. We warmly welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £83 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing