We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Wolcott, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Newport Hotel and Marina for a weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday. The hotel was an average rating with a great location. I was able to take nice pictures of the sunset from our room. The restaurant Pier 49 was excellent. We were treated to excellent service by Cris and the chef Aga. The meals were delicious, we loved the fried calamari. It was cooked in a butter/lemon sauce with just the right amount of breading. We would travel the 2 hours to have it again...

Jeff and Michele

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for writing a review regarding your guestroom accommodations and Pier 49 dining experience. We are glad that you were able to capture the picturesque views of Newport Harbor right from your guestroom! Your kind words are greatly appreciated, especially the commentary highlighting the excellent customer service you received in our restaurant from Cris and Chef Aga. We look forward to welcoming you both back the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    375
    213
    90
    70
See reviews for
311
464
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Recently in Newport and stayed at the Newport Harbor Hotel (3/29/14) to celebrate a 50th birthday. I worked with Sr. Sales Manager Greg Nawrocki to book the room block and he was able to secure harbor view for all guests (6 rooms). Greg was a pleasure to deal with as he seemed to be genuinely happy to assist me and to have us stay at the Newport Harbor Hotel. Couple of especially nice touches were early check-in and a dessert plate and bottle of wine in the room of the birthday boy. We also had a drink in the bar (and breakfast the following morning) in the hotel and I must say everyone we dealt with was the same as Greg. Eager to assist and wanting to be sure we had a great visit. NHH is so centrally located, it made it easy to walk to anywhere we wanted to go, even though it rained most of the trip. I have seen the complaints about $8 for parking and if that upsets you, stay somewhere else and then see how much you pay for parking each time you drive into the heart of Newport. I would recommend the NHH to anyone looking to be treated very nicely in a comfortable setting in a superb location. Nice work Greg and team.

Room Tip: Harbor view is worth the extra dollars in my view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We are truly overjoyed with your glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our superb location and staff’s attentiveness. Thank you for highlighting the exceptional service you received, specifically from our Senior Sales Manager, Greg. It was a pleasure having all of you as our guests to celebrate a 50th birthday and our team looks forward to hosting your group again for a future event or overnight getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The room views on the marina side are great, the lounge with a fireplace was nice and the location is excellent. All hotel staff contact was as it should be, but the building is in need of serious soundproofing between rooms. On Friday night we were awoken to the sounds of some energetic lovemaking to the east whereas Saturday night a vile high volume argument broke out to our wild wild west. Needless to say we used our wisper voices and ducked out of this O.K. corral early Sunday with our heads down!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed the breathtaking views of Newport Harbor and Pier 49’s fireside lounge. However, it is concerning to learn of the distractions you encountered during your stay from surrounding guestrooms as we have a “zero tolerance” policy in place regarding excessive noise levels. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. In the future, we would like to recommend to immediately contact a Manager on Duty should there be anything that we can do to improve your stay. It is our hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great location. The rooms themselves are okay. Shower didn't drain, shower head was moldy, desk light didn't work, mattress was worn and uncomfortable, streamers from a previous person stay were still tape in the corner with a web around it. Charge for parking $8 per day off season and $20 during the season. This was new starting this December. We explained our issues to the manager. She thanked us, was sorry to hear about the problems indicated above and told us they will address the room. They didn't offer any compensation for us being unhappy and didn't seem to care. They made no effort to make this right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We continuously strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and sincerely apologize for falling short during your recent stay. All of your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and has been forwarded along to the appropriate mangers so that these areas of concern may be addressed immediately. It is our hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property during a future visit to Newport to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Went to Newport last weekend to check on our boat which is tied up at The Newport Harbor Hotel Marina. Stopped in to say hi to our favorite bartenders Jen and Chris! We are lucky enough to spend all summer in Newport and have for the last 25 years and Bartenders Jen and Chris at Pier 49 are the reason we keep coming back!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for choosing our marina to dock your boat. It is a pleasure having you spend every summer in Newport and always a seeing your familiar faces around our property. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful team members, such as Jen and Chris, who keep our guests coming back year after year. We look forward to you stopping in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Visited for a much-needed 1-night getaway the first weekend of spring. Not sure how the prices are in summer, but we got a great deal in March, and this is the perfect location from which to explore Newport. You can walk to everything, and it's right on the water. The rooms themselves are OK - not much different from your typical Holiday Inn, Hampton Inn, etc. Not a ton of character (at least in the standard room we stayed in). But everything was clean and comfortable! We loved the indoor, heated pool, which was very clean and has a view of the harbor (although frustratingly the pool house doesn't have floor to ceiling windows on that side, so from IN the pool you can't see a whole lot, seemed like a missed opportunity to me). Towels were provided and there are bathrobes in the rooms, so that made swimming easy, and it was lovely to go into the warm, humid poolhouse in cold weather. We only had appetizers at the hotel's restaurant, but enjoyed them and the view from the restaurant. I found it a bit tacky to charge guests extra for parking (especially in the off season), but maybe this is the norm in town? Overall, the location is what really makes this a good choice... we loved being in the middle of it all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanhou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you choosing our property for your recent weekend getaway! We are pleased that you enjoyed taking a dip in our indoor heated pool as well as dining in Pier 49 with our lovely views of Newport Harbor. Our downtown location truly makes our guests feel fully immersed in the “City by the Sea” and we are glad that you were able to take advantage during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel was staff was excellent and accommodating. Very friendly and helpful with surprise plans for guests to access our room for a surprise. The room was pleasant with a very nice view. We were disappointed that there wasn't a fridge, but it was March so we used the balcony. The maid service, I feel, could have been better. They never replaced cups or coffee pods for our second morning. Or the small bottle of hair conditioner. Just left the empty one in the shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We appreciate you writing a review regarding your recent stay at The Newport! Thank you for your kind words commending our staff’s friendliness and helpfulness! We strive to always exceed our guest’s expectations and accommodate each and every need. Please keep in mind for your future stay that we do offer refrigerators for an additional fee and based upon availability. Also, if there is anything that our staff can provide to better your stay, such as a housekeeping request, please do not hesitate to immediately contact us. It is a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to you staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing