We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent location and Outstanding service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for a group event this weekend. Location is awesome. Service from everyone at the location was great. I especially liked having cocktails outside by the water. The parking lot gets very full. Having k cups in the rooms is a nice perk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this shining review about your weekend business trip and our outstanding staff and awesome location. It is a pleasure to hear how elated you are with the property’s room amenities and the outside bar located at our restaurant, Pier 49. It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    400
    222
    92
    73
See reviews for
341
491
25
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Attended a 3 day business event here. Rooms were average but clean. What made the weekend special was the staff. Very helpful and friendly....went above and beyond!! Then the location was just so easy. We could walk to all the shops, bars and restaurants! The lawn area was a great place to find a quiet spot, sit in an Adirondack chair and take it the view.

Room Tip: Harbor view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for this shining review regarding our staffs service and downtown location. Even though you were here for three days on business, it is great to hear that you were able to find a quiet place on our marina lawn to relax in one of our Adirondack chairs while taking in the view. Whether for business or pleasure we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent 4 Days at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina it was an awesome experience. Weather was great with a spectacular few on the Water, The Hotel Staff from GM Kristine all the way down was amazing great people to work with such as Greg, Sue, Patty, Leo, Keith, Michael, Sharod, Chef Agnie, Sid, Jermaine, Ashley, Nicole, Mace, Brandon, Jen etc etc I highly suggest you check out this 5 Star resort on the weather in Newport RI, Best value and service hands down

Room Tip: Water View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review about your staff interaction and the spectacular views while staying at The Newport. Our staff is dedicated to providing excellent customer service to exceed your expectations and give you the best experience possible. We all hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved the location! Our room was great!! views of the water, docks and the wharf!! what more could you ask for. I booked on priceline and usually you get just an ok room! we had views! not just of the parking lot! king bed instead of doubles. The staff was very friendly!! We have stayed at the Marriott, Hyatt and the Viking, loved this location the best!! Cannot wait to return, if your planning a visit this is a good one for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chebby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We sincerely thank you for writing a shining review and allowing us to share in your birthday celebration! It’s a pleasure to hear about your experiences with our staff and your appreciation of your room accommodations. We look forward to your future visits to The Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just spent three days at the Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina. Great hotel. Rooms were very large and well appointed. Breakfast at the restaurant was very enjoyable. Our waiter was from India. He was on the J-1 program. It gives students from other countries a chance to come here and get experience in hotel management. The hotel is right on the harbor. Some rooms have views or partial views of the water. The hotel is located centrally and is a short trip to the Newport, Rhode Island historic mansions.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are privileged to have received your sparkling review. It was an honor having you as our guests for three days and for taking the opportunity to learn a little more about our staff. Our staff’s willingness to exceed your expectations and our central, waterfront location will hopefully present us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Newport and The City by the Sea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Within walking distance of shops and restaurants and just a short drive drive from the mansions, location is ultimately the biggest selling point of this hotel and it made for a perfect Easter Weekend getaway.

The front desk staff and concierge were extremely helpful and despite arriving a few hours early our rooms were ready and we were immediately checked in (and on Easter Weekend, no less). The restaurant on property is also very good and the restaurant staff reflected the same level of service as the front desk.

The rooms are a bit on the simple side though attractively decorated (think traditional vs modern) Parking is plentiful but it'll cost you $20 for each night of your stay (convenient and not terribly unreasonable for a couple of day but if you're planning on an extended stay it will start to add up). The pool was a hit with the kids and because it's enclosed adds an extra level of convenience.

Overall a nice stay from start to finish. Options are plentiful in Newport and the surrounding areas. The Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina should be on your short list of places to stay.

Room Tip: Nicer views facing the Marina but less expensive if facing the parking lot (which gives you a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisC_LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your Easter Weekend getaway. We are pleased that you enjoyed our great location and convenience to all that Newport has to offer in addition to the pool being a hit with the kids. We also appreciate you accenting on your experience with our front desk staff, concierge and restaurant staff. It would be our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests again the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

When in Newport, you can't go wrong with the Harbor Hotel. On the water with its own marina, own bar/restaurant on the docks, and smack in the middle of everything. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Only downside is the thin walls--you can hear everything your neighbor is doing at night. And no mini-fridge. But, there is complimentary bottles of water and coffee in the room. Very clean. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room. With a balcony is best. If you stay on the 1st floor, it'll be pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emesedahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We appreciate you writing a review regarding your stay with us. It is an absolute delight to hear that you are impressed with each of our property’s segments including the hotel, marina, and restaurant. We are flattered that you solely choose The Newport for your overnight accommodations when you visit “The City by the Sea!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,993 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
582 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing