We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Pay For Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

As far as location to downtown Newport, this is a terrific place to stay. Park your car and walk/bike to everything. It's next to fun restaurants/bars, shopping, docks, mansions and close enough to the beach. However, while it's a NICE place to stay, it's NOT worth what they charge per night. We stayed 2 nights for a wedding at the Regatta Place on Goat Island (beautiful) and while the stay was nice, the service, rooms and decor was not worth the high cost. For the money we spent, we expected more from the hotel. No Wow Factor. Really upset with the $15 a night parking fee on top of the high room rates. The hotel charges $20 for non guests to park and then keeps the parking lot gate up later in the evening, making parking free for all and not guaranteeing guests a spot - come on. Hotel food was OK, food service staff was awesome. Again, all around a nice place in a great location - but overpriced. FYI- Rooms on the dock side overlook the fun, but are loud. Light sleepers avoid these rooms - other rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, don't ask for a room over looking the dock (Pier 49 Restaurant). A very happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review your 2 night getaway. We are truly elated that you enjoyed our perfect location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport, with access to shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms and service, as we greatly value all guest observations and take it into consideration when making improvements to our property and service level. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Once again we had a great weekend at Pier 49! The staff of Jen, Brandon and Denval and Chris are AWESOME!!!!!!! Its a great place to unwind with a beautiful view!!! That's why we keep coming back! Love you guys!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We appreciate you sharing your awesome experience with our staff in your review. Jen, Brandon, Denval and Chris are an intricate part of our team at Pier 49 and continue to be shining examples to everyone on providing exceptional customer service. We appreciate your business and loyalty as we hope to continue to provide you with the same level of service you have become accustom to during your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff at this property are very focused on making sure their guests have an exceptional stay. We were part of a large group that utilized both rooms as well as the dining services during our stay. Every employee was friendly and courteous, especially Sanjay! We had a great time and would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Newport.

Room Tip: Perfect location for all downtown attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write this radiant review about your stay with us during your business trip and the level of service you received from Sanjay and his co-workers. Our staff is devoted to providing exceptional customer service to exceed your expectations and allow you the best experience we can deliver. We look forward to welcoming you and your entire group back to The Newport for your next event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When you pay over $300/night, you expect something more than just a harbor view. That's about the nicest thing thing I can say about the Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina. While the room was clean and the staff was friendly and competant, there were housekeeping carts, glass carts and towel carts left in the hallway all day, creating a maze-like effect that required guests to swerve around the housekeeping carts on the left and the glass and towel carts on the right. "Poor management," my husband said on day three of our stay as we weaved from side-to-side to avoid the trays full of towels set outside guest rooms that had yet to be cleaned. There was room in the stairwells to put some of these items but management apparently preferred the indoor obsticale course over obsticle-free hallways. I wonder what the Newport Fire Department would think if they saw it?

I would give this hotel points for the king-sized beds ..... if it wasn't for the paper thin walls that allowed us to be "part of the party" when guests in an upstairs room decided to hold a loud, noisy room party well into the wee-morning hours.

As if that wasn't bad enough, the food at this hotel was bland and tasteless....basically, the worst food we had anywhere in Newport. Even the breakfast was awful ... and believe me, it's hard to ruin eggs.

Bottom line --- save your money and stay (and eat) elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We thank you and appreciate you taking the time to provide a review regarding your recent stay. We value all guest feedback in an effort to assist us in bettering our property and would like to extend our sincere apologies for any areas you feel may need improvements. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is our hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for a group event this weekend. Location is awesome. Service from everyone at the location was great. I especially liked having cocktails outside by the water. The parking lot gets very full. Having k cups in the rooms is a nice perk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this shining review about your weekend business trip and our outstanding staff and awesome location. It is a pleasure to hear how elated you are with the property’s room amenities and the outside bar located at our restaurant, Pier 49. It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Attended a 3 day business event here. Rooms were average but clean. What made the weekend special was the staff. Very helpful and friendly....went above and beyond!! Then the location was just so easy. We could walk to all the shops, bars and restaurants! The lawn area was a great place to find a quiet spot, sit in an Adirondack chair and take it the view.

Room Tip: Harbor view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for this shining review regarding our staffs service and downtown location. Even though you were here for three days on business, it is great to hear that you were able to find a quiet place on our marina lawn to relax in one of our Adirondack chairs while taking in the view. Whether for business or pleasure we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent 4 Days at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina it was an awesome experience. Weather was great with a spectacular few on the Water, The Hotel Staff from GM Kristine all the way down was amazing great people to work with such as Greg, Sue, Patty, Leo, Keith, Michael, Sharod, Chef Agnie, Sid, Jermaine, Ashley, Nicole, Mace, Brandon, Jen etc etc I highly suggest you check out this 5 Star resort on the weather in Newport RI, Best value and service hands down

Room Tip: Water View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSoxCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful review about your staff interaction and the spectacular views while staying at The Newport. Our staff is dedicated to providing excellent customer service to exceed your expectations and give you the best experience possible. We all hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £83 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing