We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Starting summer 2014 with a weekend away in Newport. Great location. Walk to everything except beach. Ryan helped with our luggage and very knowledgeable about area. Made us immediately feel welcome. Sunset lawn party not so good. Cash bar only. We weren't prepared. No music. Music at outside restaurant great. Definitely get balcony room. Ask for a mini fridge ahead if you want one. They aren't in the rooms. Older hotel but it's alright. They are dog friendly as well. Love seeing puppies around.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are a must
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amt1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend away with us as well as our great location. It is our goal to make every guest feel welcomed and comfortable by providing personable service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to “The City by the Sea”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
There are newer reviews for Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Past years we have always dined at the Pier 49 for lunch, the food was good and the service excellent and the view spectacular! This past weekend my family and I drove down there for lunch. We were very disappointed. The service was terrible and we had to wait a long time for our food. The food came out wrong but we ate it anyway because we did not want to wait another hour. The servers kept apologizing and they were very polite. the manager on duty came over and explained these are exchange students studying here. that's fine but maybe they need more training. I know the hotel is very pricey so I feel the service and food should be perfect! I was not pleased with the manager's attitude either! It seemed like he had a chip on his shoulder! We will be finding another restaurant on the water to enjoy seeing Newport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KatieM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Pier 49. We are sorry to hear about your experience as it our goal to provide great service along with great food quality. It is our hope that you provide us the opportunity to reclaim your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our hotel room was booked through a third party. After the booking was made, a call was placed to confirm the reservation and was informed that a room with a view and 2 double beds has been booked under our name. As soon as we drove in, we were informed that there was another party with a similar name and our parking pass for this reason was unavailable. As we checked in we were informed that we have a queen size bed. We had decided last minute to make this trip and because the confirmation with the hotel confirmed that 2 double beds would be available 4 people made the treck out to Newport, only to learn that one queen bed was available. The manager, only then decided to chime in with his course humor about leaving our father behind on father’s day when really the trip was for father's day, but my father was parking the car. After that comment came the next one, stating that because we booked through a third party, the hotel has the right to do as they please and give our room away and change things as they please and that next time we should book directly. After feeling lower then dirt by such a comment, he quickly said we can get 2 roll aways and hid in the office. When we got to the room, we were placed in the middle of a sweet. The pull out couch was halfway made with no comforter and couch pillows randomly thrown on the floor. What the MANAGER said was a queen size bed was really a double bed. The guy does not know what he has in his hotel. When I called down to the front desk with disbelief, I was informed this was a very comfortable memory foam queen size mattress. Not sure if you had a chance to read the description of the rooms but it promises a pillow top mattress. This mattress was no thicker than my pointer finger in length. Both the pull out and roll-a-ways were so uncomfortable that no one in my party was able to get a decent night’s rest. It doesn't help that the airconditioners are so loud, as to tune out the exterior noise. This room didn't even have half the amenities that it promises. Nor is there any room advertised with one double bed. The hotel ran out of rooms and stuck us in the lounge/dining room of a suite. Every time we approached the front desk the manager hid into his office except for when we checked out so that he can repeat again that had we booked directly this would have never happened, but because we didn’t' we were stuck in a room that isn't even advertised. Talk about false advertising. It turns out after reading other reviews, even those that booked directly had their room switched. Customer service is not this hotel's forte, nor are they knowledgeable about their rooms. If you need a place to crash and don’t care please feel free to stay here, they will make sure to stick it to you. Otherwise, I highly advise against staying here. Poor customer service, lies, unfriendly, unhelpful, and not understanding staff. Highly do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank swiatowiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write review regarding your stay. We regret that your stay was less than satisfactory and fell short of your expectations. It is not our intent to ever be misleading. It is our goal to deliver excellent customer service and honor our requests for all our guests. We hope that we can regain your trust and have the chance to redeem ourselves the next time your travels bring you to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed @ the hotel w/ a friend for a "Girls Night Out"
Check in was quick & easy - Room was on the harbor - beautiful view, great location. I've been to this hotel many times and was impressed to see a new bar on the back lawn. We didn't have great deal of time before dinner to stop in & get a drink at the new bar, but made a point to get to Pier 49 & see Jen @ the bar. Was greeted politely by the host Brandon & was directed to seats @ the bar. The other two bartenders Chris & Denval were quick to offer service. We ordered a quick chowder (a little disappointed to see that it had been changed from the normal outstanding one we had this past winter!) and a glass of wine. Came back after dinner & caught the end of their live entertainment. Despite the party in the room next door, it was a great night away from the kids. Can't wait for the next visit!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for writing this stellar review and for your continued business. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great visit at Pier 49, as it is our goal to continue to provide the exceptional service you have come to expect from us. We hope on your next visit you will have more time to visit our new bar on the back lawn during our Sunset Lawn Party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a good 3 star hotel. The room was spacious enough and very clean. We usually would pick a fancier hotel but the location of this hotel is fabulous if you chose a harbour view room. The view is truly magnificient ! The sun set was spetacular over the harbour filled with beautiful yatchs and saling boats. The hotel is right in the heart of Newport with easy walking access to a large number of restaurants. The staff were pleasant enough but cannot really comment too much as we only stayed one night. There is a large secured car free park right by the front door. They had a nice swimming pool but we did not have time to use it.

Room Tip: Absolutely a harboutr view room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmdUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent overnight stay with us. We are thrilled that you were able to take full advantage of our magnificent views and tremendous location – right in the heart of historic downtown and just steps away from the city’s best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions! We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you’re in Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

As far as location to downtown Newport, this is a terrific place to stay. Park your car and walk/bike to everything. It's next to fun restaurants/bars, shopping, docks, mansions and close enough to the beach. However, while it's a NICE place to stay, it's NOT worth what they charge per night. We stayed 2 nights for a wedding at the Regatta Place on Goat Island (beautiful) and while the stay was nice, the service, rooms and decor was not worth the high cost. For the money we spent, we expected more from the hotel. No Wow Factor. Really upset with the $15 a night parking fee on top of the high room rates. The hotel charges $20 for non guests to park and then keeps the parking lot gate up later in the evening, making parking free for all and not guaranteeing guests a spot - come on. Hotel food was OK, food service staff was awesome. Again, all around a nice place in a great location - but overpriced. FYI- Rooms on the dock side overlook the fun, but are loud. Light sleepers avoid these rooms - other rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, don't ask for a room over looking the dock (Pier 49 Restaurant). A very happ...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review your 2 night getaway. We are truly elated that you enjoyed our perfect location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport, with access to shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms and service, as we greatly value all guest observations and take it into consideration when making improvements to our property and service level. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Once again we had a great weekend at Pier 49! The staff of Jen, Brandon and Denval and Chris are AWESOME!!!!!!! Its a great place to unwind with a beautiful view!!! That's why we keep coming back! Love you guys!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We appreciate you sharing your awesome experience with our staff in your review. Jen, Brandon, Denval and Chris are an intricate part of our team at Pier 49 and continue to be shining examples to everyone on providing exceptional customer service. We appreciate your business and loyalty as we hope to continue to provide you with the same level of service you have become accustom to during your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £82 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing