We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“wonderful staff and location”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family just returned from spending the 4th of July weekend at this location. We had 3 boats in the marina and 5 rooms at the hotel. The location is perfect for viewing the fireworks. The dock master and dock hands were very helpful. The hotel staff went above and beyond to be sure we were having a great time. Patty coordinated same day arrangements for renting a conference room to celebrate a birthday on a very rainy day. Her services and hospitality were outstanding. Everyone wanted to be sure we were enjoying our stay. We hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: harbor view, first floor rooms have sliding doors that open onto the grass
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are delighted that you have taken the time to write this fantastic review about your 4th of July weekend visit. Our stunning waterfront location in historic downtown makes us a great choice to enjoy the fireworks, shopping, dining, entertainment and local attractions. It is our goal to exceed your expectations and to ensure that your needs are met. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    375
    213
    90
    70
See reviews for
311
464
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 7/2-7/4 and wish we could have stayed longer. We added to our reservation because they were so accommodating that my siblings changed their originals plans and stayed here instead. Keith the GM set us up with an area to celebrate my Dad's Birthday and accommodate my huge family. Carissa was our server and was so patient and pleasant with everyone's order especially the kids. Sam our bartender was great as well. Cindy and the others at the front desk helped us figure out all the rooms even switched us to be closer together. We can't thank you enough for making our stay and special time so wonderful! Look forward to staying again and will spread the good word.

Room Tip: Marina side bottom level walk out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this radiant review and allowing us to be a small part of your Dad’s birthday celebration. We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate your family’s needs with our personal service and make your time with us so special. Whether it’s another family event or a weekend getaway, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the “City by the Sea”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the marina and Chris, in the dock office was very friendly and helpful!!! The amenities at the hotel are used by the marina guests and they are spectacular. The deck in front of the pool area is great for sunning. The activities in downtown Newport are varied and close to the hotel/marina.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you were able to take full advantage of our amenities and tremendous location – right in the heart of historic downtown and just steps away from the city’s best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was one of the few available for a wedding in June. The rates were exorbitant, but only slightly higher than the other hotels and I loved the location. The hotel staff was great, the in-room coffee and free water were quite good and the beds were fine.

HOWEVER, the bathrooms are atrocious. For nearly $500 a night, I expect something at least as nice as motel, but these were old, dirty, cracked, the tile and grout didn't line up with the molding. I opted not to shower they were so nasty.

So if you don't mind paying for a 5 star hotel and getting a motel-quality room, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the street - we could hear people partying late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBDmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and are pleased to let you know that we are currently in the process of upgrading our guestroom bathrooms. We are truly delighted that you loved our impeccable service and location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport, with access to shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We welcome the opportunity of having you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Starting summer 2014 with a weekend away in Newport. Great location. Walk to everything except beach. Ryan helped with our luggage and very knowledgeable about area. Made us immediately feel welcome. Sunset lawn party not so good. Cash bar only. We weren't prepared. No music. Music at outside restaurant great. Definitely get balcony room. Ask for a mini fridge ahead if you want one. They aren't in the rooms. Older hotel but it's alright. They are dog friendly as well. Love seeing puppies around.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amt1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend away with us as well as our great location. It is our goal to make every guest feel welcomed and comfortable by providing personable service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to “The City by the Sea”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepachet, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Past years we have always dined at the Pier 49 for lunch, the food was good and the service excellent and the view spectacular! This past weekend my family and I drove down there for lunch. We were very disappointed. The service was terrible and we had to wait a long time for our food. The food came out wrong but we ate it anyway because we did not want to wait another hour. The servers kept apologizing and they were very polite. the manager on duty came over and explained these are exchange students studying here. that's fine but maybe they need more training. I know the hotel is very pricey so I feel the service and food should be perfect! I was not pleased with the manager's attitude either! It seemed like he had a chip on his shoulder! We will be finding another restaurant on the water to enjoy seeing Newport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Pier 49. We are sorry to hear about your experience as it our goal to provide great service along with great food quality. It is our hope that you provide us the opportunity to reclaim your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our hotel room was booked through a third party. After the booking was made, a call was placed to confirm the reservation and was informed that a room with a view and 2 double beds has been booked under our name. As soon as we drove in, we were informed that there was another party with a similar name and our parking pass for this reason was unavailable. As we checked in we were informed that we have a queen size bed. We had decided last minute to make this trip and because the confirmation with the hotel confirmed that 2 double beds would be available 4 people made the treck out to Newport, only to learn that one queen bed was available. The manager, only then decided to chime in with his course humor about leaving our father behind on father’s day when really the trip was for father's day, but my father was parking the car. After that comment came the next one, stating that because we booked through a third party, the hotel has the right to do as they please and give our room away and change things as they please and that next time we should book directly. After feeling lower then dirt by such a comment, he quickly said we can get 2 roll aways and hid in the office. When we got to the room, we were placed in the middle of a sweet. The pull out couch was halfway made with no comforter and couch pillows randomly thrown on the floor. What the MANAGER said was a queen size bed was really a double bed. The guy does not know what he has in his hotel. When I called down to the front desk with disbelief, I was informed this was a very comfortable memory foam queen size mattress. Not sure if you had a chance to read the description of the rooms but it promises a pillow top mattress. This mattress was no thicker than my pointer finger in length. Both the pull out and roll-a-ways were so uncomfortable that no one in my party was able to get a decent night’s rest. It doesn't help that the airconditioners are so loud, as to tune out the exterior noise. This room didn't even have half the amenities that it promises. Nor is there any room advertised with one double bed. The hotel ran out of rooms and stuck us in the lounge/dining room of a suite. Every time we approached the front desk the manager hid into his office except for when we checked out so that he can repeat again that had we booked directly this would have never happened, but because we didn’t' we were stuck in a room that isn't even advertised. Talk about false advertising. It turns out after reading other reviews, even those that booked directly had their room switched. Customer service is not this hotel's forte, nor are they knowledgeable about their rooms. If you need a place to crash and don’t care please feel free to stay here, they will make sure to stick it to you. Otherwise, I highly advise against staying here. Poor customer service, lies, unfriendly, unhelpful, and not understanding staff. Highly do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank swiatowiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write review regarding your stay. We regret that your stay was less than satisfactory and fell short of your expectations. It is not our intent to ever be misleading. It is our goal to deliver excellent customer service and honor our requests for all our guests. We hope that we can regain your trust and have the chance to redeem ourselves the next time your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing