We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great time, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Hopewell Junction, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views, great time, great hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our second stay at “The Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina”, in Newport, Rhode Island. We stayed for three nights July 7-10, 2014.
Upon arriving we checked-in with Nasia ( Asst. Mgr.). She was so welcoming and very helpful, I told her about our wonderful experience last year. Coincidentally, we were given the same room as we had the previous year. The view of the harbor was spectacular.
Next we were greeted by Debbie in Marketing, before breakfast the next day. We had a wonderful conversation. Her friendliness and eagerness to help was so appreciated. She had brochures pulled for us and left at the front desk.
The next day we had a problem at breakfast, perhaps due to the fact that they were unexpectedly, short-handed. I talked to Nasia about the situation. She immediately went above and beyond to remedy the problem and to make sure it didn't happen again. I can’t say enough about how helpful she was. Her concern about making the guests happy was very apparent. I believe she is an asset to this hotel. Her wonderful personality and concern were so very much appreciated, and I felt she went way beyond duty, because she truly cared.
And then there was Michael – the restaurant manager--- after hearing of the problem that I had, from Nasia, he too, went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect the next two days. He was truly concerned and very accommodating. He came back frequently to our table, to make sure that we were enjoying our meals and to make sure that everything was alright. I felt as though he was a friend, by the time we left.
Although we neither wanted nor expected any problems, life is such that sometimes mishaps occur. I believe, in the end, it is more about how the problem is addressed.
All in all, we had a great time and hope to visit again this year. If you go, you will be pleased to meet Nasia -- she will greet you with a big smile and open friendliness, as will Debbie and Michael.

Room Tip: ask for the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Mrs_K2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this radiant review regarding your 3 night stay and your awesome experience with our staff. We strive to ensure everything runs smoothly during our guests stay, but unforeseen incidents do occur and we do our best to correct them. We value your loyalty and we await your next visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    397
    221
    92
    73
See reviews for
336
491
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The staff at the hotel are some of the nicest that I have encountered in my travels. Our group was greeted by Courtney who was very welcoming. After randomly telling her we were on an annual girls weekend away Courtney graciously sent a bottle of wine to our room. We always look forward to seeing Jen and Chris at the bar. Although we only see them once a year, they always treat us like we are regulars. They are awesome. The location of the hotel is great with views of the harbor. I highly recommend this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieNeves, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
It is wonderful to see your weekend get-a-way was fabulous with superb service from Courtney and our associates here at The Newport! Seeing that your travel often we value your comments and were excited to see our service created the experience. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to having you back here with us at The Newport soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you love waking up each morning and going to sleep each night looking at the harbor this is the place for you! We just returned from a recent stay over July 4th weekend and could not have asked for a better location to watch the fireworks. The room was comfortable and well appointed. We were on the first floor and our sliding glass door opened up to the lawn and docks. The staff was amazing. A special shout out to Courtney and Nasia at the front desk for their excellent attention to detail but EVERYONE was nice and eager to please guests. The location of the hotel is perfect to access all areas of downtown. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a harbor view room on the first floor! Easy access to the bar open on the weekends on the doc...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel makes it easy for you to recycle by providing separate cans for discarded items. They also encourage guests to reuse towels and not change sheets each day to conserve water.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieNeves, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Yes! We also “love waking up each morning and going to sleep each night looking at the harbor" here at The Newport! We are very thankful that this was your choice in staying in Newport and ecstatic you had the opportunity to experience our wonderful location and above and beyond staff service. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience. Both Courtney and Nasia will be eagerly waiting to take care of you once more upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just came back from a bachelorette weekend in Newport and a great time. Hotel is right in the heart of downtown. Plenty of bars, shops and restaurant in walking distance. Views are amazing! Hotel is four floors and the rooms are clean but small. Tiny bathrooms but stocked with the usual amenities. There is parking on site, $20.00. If more than one car, additional cars can park in the visitors center for $25, within walking distance. We went on the sunset Madeline cruise which was right outside the hotel and highly recommend the cruise. You can bring your own drinks as long as they are in plastic cups. The Midtown Oyster Bar was a great restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We appreciate you choosing The Newport for your bachelorette weekend! Our property’s location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport is certainly ideal for access to all of the best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We are thrilled that you were also able to take advantage of a sunset cruise just minutes from our doors. For future planning, keep in mind that we do offer a sailing packages with the Madeleine, so be sure to reserve one for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I just came back from a weekend stay at this hotel with a group. The hotel itself is relatively small with just four floors but it is right in the heart of Newport. Our room was a good size and had a view of the harbor and its restaurants. The bathroom was a little small (I kept hitting the soap shelf and handle bar in the shower) but clean and did just fine. The hotel staff was wonderful as well and the restaurant had a good selection of food. There's an indoor pool and an outdoor deck that sits right up against the marina. The marina has a lawn area with Adirondack chairs and a tent bar that was a great spot for evening drinks with friends. Right across the street is a bunch of stores to shop in and restaurants to eat in. I would definitely return again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleone3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review of your weekend business trip. Our prime waterfront location in historic downtown allows our guests to enjoy breathtaking views of Newport Harbor while being steps away from some of the city’s best shopping, entertainment, attractions and dining. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities to include the Sunset Lawn Party on our marina lawn. Whether for business or pleasure we look forward to you next visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

this marina is very nice. needs some updates but the dockhands are amazing, especially Hannah. She knows what she's doing and obviously has sailing knowledge. Very polite and helpful. Overall the stay was great!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for writing this review regarding your stay and the amazing service Hannah provided during your dockage. We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next sail into Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here over the fourth of July weekend for a wedding and were so disappointed. Rooms are old and have few amenities. They need refrigerators, safes, shaving/make-up mirrors, better lighting, etc. The bathroom was very out of date and needs a complete renovation. There isn't even ample shelf space for your toiletries and make-up int he bathroom. Overall room lighting was poor. Harbor view doesn't mean what it sounds like. Very expensive hotel for what you get in return. Please renovate the entire rooms!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Green Features: They were Adequate - that is all I can say. They recycle towels and don't want to wash them with the sheets very often.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review you 4th of July weekend trip. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated regarding our guestrooms, as we greatly value all guest opinions and take them into consideration when making improvements to our property. It is our hope that you provide us the opportunity to recover your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing