We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend Perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend Perfection!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We recently reserved rooms at the NHH for our wedding guests and could not have been happier with our decision. Yes, I will agree that the hotel could use a bit of TLC in terms of bathroom and furniture but that is very inconsequential in the grand scheme of things. This hotel is in THE perfect location, not sure there is a better one in all of Newport in terms of ideal location. While the hotel may be a bit dated, they more than make up for it with location and staff. The staff...from the event planners to the maintenance staff to the front desk to the bartenders...top notch quality customer service. The back lawn was perfect for hanging out all weekend, especially for the boys to play bocce while the girls got ready on the big day. No one cared if you had a glass of wine down on the Adirondack chairs and in fact the adjoining bar encouraged it! I cannot wait to get back and I would not change a thing if I had to do it all over again.

Room Tip: Ocean view or bust! Its soooo worth spending a little extra money to be on the water and have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Congratulations to you and your husband on the big day!! We are ecstatic to hear that the level of service we provided and our location was an ideal match for your expectations. We wish you both much success in your new lives together and hope to have you both back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    388
    218
    92
    71
See reviews for
325
479
22
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great time (3 nights) at this hotel recently. The location was just perfect and the accommodations were very nice. Can use a little update of bathrooms in king rooms other wise wonderful. Cleaning staff daily was very good. Nice fluffy towels and toiletries were supplied. Flat screen TV and free wifi was great and worked.
The Staff was so very helpful to my husband and I. Mrs. Patty O'Neill and Keith went out of their way to help us with handicap parking at the hotel and information on how to enjoy our visit. They could not do enough for us. Told us other staff can help us at any time. The restaurant was very nice we had breakfast there daily. I would recommend this hotel to others and say enjoy! Parking is a premium in Newport and expensive so you are charged by the hotel for their lot. It is worth it for convenience for sure. THANK YOU Newport Harbor Hotel!!!

Room Tip: The King room on the ground level is wonderful you can walk out onto a lawn in front of the dock and...
See more room tips
Green Features: Wonderful and the staff was outstanding in our book.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria and Charl... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are thrilled to have received this wonderful review regarding your 3 night stay. We appreciate you mentioning the personalized service you received, our central downtown location and breakfast at Pier 49. You will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of updating our bathrooms. Thank you for your business and we hope that you are pleased with our updates during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Normally we don't stay over night in Newport during the tourist season, but we did for two nights recently. I disagree that the hotel needs serious renovations or that the prices are as they are in Manhattan. My room never smelled, was always clean, smelled fresh and rarely a chipped paint anywhere. I've stayed in manhattan and that's much less a bargain than Newport
The staff was friendly and helpful at all times of the night. This hotel is in walking distance to just about anywhere in Newport that you are looking to go. Maybe I'm biased because I live in providence and grew up going here in the summer and yes, even in the winter. This is my favorite hotel in Newport and it's always a pleasure even with the typically high prices during the summer months.

Room Tip: Weekends are much more pricey and during festival times.
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm not big on environmentally friendly stuff as I don't care but this hotel is considered as such.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
It’s a pleasure to have earned your loyalty over the years as we know you do have many choices. It is our hope to continue to be your go to instate destination when you traveling to the ‘City by the Sea’. Our goal is to continue to provide the same level of service you have come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you back whether it’s tourist season or the off season! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Although the staff was nice and the food at the restaurant was decent, this hotel is definitely in need of a renovation. The finishes were probably last updated in 1985. Our room was comfortable, but had a faint smell of a gym locker room. Guess the rug needs to be replaced. I would have been fine with our stay, provided that we didn't have to pay Manhattan prices to stay there! I am assuming that because of the various festivals going on, they hiked up the prices. The prices certainly do not reflect the quality of the hotel as a whole. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, make sure your room is facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and are pleased to let you know that we are currently in the process of improving our guestroom bathrooms, including replacing all of the fixtures. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your staff interaction and dining experience at Pier 49. It is our hopes that you will provide us with the opportunity to have you stay with us in the near future to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I came into town for the Newport Folk Festival for the first time and Nasia at the front desk got me one of their last rooms after I messed up my reservation online. She saved my butt cuz I would have been sleeping in my car otherwise. So friendly and helpful. I travel a lot and it is rare to find someone as genuine and caring. On a side note, the pillows in these rooms are HARD and GIANT. So my neck is writing a different review right now. And it's a little pricey for what it is. The view, however, is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thistlepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your overnight stay during the Newport Folk Festival. We are thrilled to hear that throughout your extensive travels, the level of service we demonstrated is rare to find. We are dedicated to providing the best possible experience for all of our guests. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with wife and 2 teenagers. $20 charge for car park, also occupancy charge. Staff at reception very friendly. Room spacious, beds comfortable. Very central location. In the morning explored Newport on foot, left car at Hotel. Room was clean, no problems with the decor unlike other reviews. Shower excellent.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are delighted to have received this glowing review on your family’s overnight stay. Our central location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport is certainly ideal for access to all of the best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We look forward to having your family stay with us again the next time you return to our beautiful “City by the Sea!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I brought a team to the NHH for a Team Building & Meeting and we had a fabulous experience. We chose the "Meeting on Board" which included a sail with American Cup Charters (also fabulous), a meeting space and a dinner. The overall experience from initial reach-out through conclusion was outstanding. We worked with Greg Nawrocki to plan our day - he responded within moments of sending an email and helped work through the details quickly. They were accommodating to changes (having the included dinner at lunch) and made the process very easy.
On the day of the meeting, we had everything we could need. A secure space for our belongings while on the trip, an amazing "at sea" experience, a fabulous lunch and a well set up meeting space. Everyone was also pleasant and customer focused. Our server for the day Michael was attentive without being intrusive as was his support Moe. Julie helped get us ready for our sail and our hosts on the ship were amazing. We were on the American Eagle with Herb as our captain and his hands Garrett and Ben.
While it may be a bit pricey for a meeting - it was well worth every penny and I would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this outstanding review regarding your Team Building & Meeting. We are thrilled to hear that our level of service met your expectations while addressing all of your needs expeditiously. Our Sales team is dedicated to ensuring every aspect of your meeting runs smoothly and according to plan. We thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you and your team back to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing